Xorg on G5
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10096 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >> Its tough finding a distro for my G5 that works and is modern.

    > Have you tried CentOS 7? https://wiki.centos.org/Download

    Their PPC64(BE) offering is tailored to POWER7. I doubt it will run on POWER4-derived PPC970 as is.
  • »09.12.18 - 18:09
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    TheMagicM
    Posts: 1153 from 2003/6/17
    anyone know how to get Debian 9.6 to boot off of cd? I've tried a few commands in OF, none work.

    boot cd:,\install\yaboot

    basically "cant open device or file".

    the file yaboot doesnt exist.


    Edit:

    nevermind. Looks like ppc64el doesnt run on the G5.

    [ Edited by TheMagicM 09.12.2018 - 14:13 ]
  • »09.12.18 - 20:05
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10096 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Looks like ppc64el doesnt run on the G5.

    Indeed, ppc64le (or ppc64el in Debian parlance) requires at least POWER8. For Debian to run on the G5, see 2nd link in comment #18.
  • »09.12.18 - 21:24
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    TheMagicM
    Posts: 1153 from 2003/6/17
    Yea..saw that Andreas. Thanks.

    Downloaded Debian 8.11 and Lubuntu 16.10(?). Also downloaded openSUSE Tumbleweed. Looks like openSUSE is a current distro compared to Debian 8.11. Lubuntu is LTS so its current for a little bit longer.
  • »09.12.18 - 22:15
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    Chicago-Joe
    Posts: 5 from 2018/7/25
    From: Chicago, IL USA
    Quote:

    TheMagicM wrote:
    Yea..saw that Andreas. Thanks.

    Downloaded Debian 8.11 and Lubuntu 16.10(?). Also downloaded openSUSE Tumbleweed. Looks like openSUSE is a current distro compared to Debian 8.11. Lubuntu is LTS so its current for a little bit longer.


    I have a dual 2GHz G5 with a Radeon 9800 and 4G of memory and it loaded, runs and updates Lubuntu 16.1 PPC without any problems.
    I loaded onto a new 240G SanDisk SSD.
    This is also my G5 Morph OS machine.

    Joe
  • »10.12.18 - 23:23
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    TheMagicM
    Posts: 1153 from 2003/6/17
    Quote:

    Chicago-Joe wrote:

    I have a dual 2GHz G5 with a Radeon 9800 and 4G of memory and it loaded, runs and updates Lubuntu 16.1 PPC without any problems.

    Joe



    I have problems booting... stops at Loading Stage 2...

    I'm assuming it has something to do with a newworld partition or something. Just dont know what goes in that partition after I create it.
  • »11.12.18 - 12:04
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 241 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Quote:

    TheMagicM schrieb:
    I have problems booting... stops at Loading Stage 2...

    I'm assuming it has something to do with a newworld partition or something. Just dont know what goes in that partition after I create it.

    You don't need to to someething with the newworld partition yourself, yaboot does that. ;-) You just need a proper /etc/yaboot.conf. Be sure to read man yaboot.conf and man ybin. After editing the yaboot.conf it gets written into the newworld partition via ybin -v. The OF will be updated to boot from this partition.

    The "newworld" partition needs to be HFS-formatted and (probably) the boot-flag needs to be set (gparted or parted can do that). The Linux root-filesystem needs to be ext2/ext3/ext4. Though I had problems with ext4 at some point, so I used a seperate ext2-partition with the kernel on it.
    Talos II Secure Workstation. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 7,3. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.11 / Gentoo Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [Amiga OS 3.1.4]
  • »11.12.18 - 21:34
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    TheMagicM
    Posts: 1153 from 2003/6/17
    @ernsteiswuerfel:

    What I did was boot Lubuntu and install it. I assumed it took care of partitioning, yaboot etc. So after it reboots it doesnt work. Looks like I need to do some things manually.
  • »12.12.18 - 16:32
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    Chicago-Joe
    Posts: 5 from 2018/7/25
    From: Chicago, IL USA
    Quote:

    TheMagicM wrote:
    @ernsteiswuerfel:

    What I did was boot Lubuntu and install it. I assumed it took care of partitioning, yaboot etc. So after it reboots it doesnt work. Looks like I need to do some things manually.


    I need to correct my earlier post:

    "I loaded onto a new 240G SanDisk SSD."

    I went back and looked at the drive I used, this was a new SanDisk SSD I had loaded OSX 10.4 on. I put the disk back in the G5, loaded the Lubuntu 16.1 install DVD disk and installed over the OSX installation without any formatting on my part. I assume OSX formatted the disk in a way Lubuntu could use.

    Sorry for the mistake.

    Joe
  • »13.12.18 - 01:49
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    TheMagicM
    Posts: 1153 from 2003/6/17
    Anyone have instructions on how to install Fenix on a G5?
  • »13.12.18 - 15:55
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    marmotta
    Posts: 26 from 2012/6/11
    I have tried some distributions, no way to get pcie x1900 to work with linux :-(
  • »15.12.18 - 17:38
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    TheMagicM
    Posts: 1153 from 2003/6/17
    Quote:

    TheMagicM wrote:
    Anyone have instructions on how to install Fenix on a G5?


    ^^^^ anyone...anyone... Bueller...Bueller... lmao
  • »16.12.18 - 02:03
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 241 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Quote:

    marmotta schrieb:
    I have tried some distributions, no way to get pcie x1900 to work with linux :-(

    What problems did you have, eg. not booting at all, freezing as soon as drm loads, freezing as soon as X starts? Most part of the problem is which version of the kernel and mesa the distro does run.

    On the PCIe G5 (11,2) I had problems with kernel versions 4.10.x - 4.17.x. Since 4.18.x (or on 4.9.x) the PCIe Radeon HD 5450 and the Geforce 6600 run just fine in my G5 11,2.

    [ Editiert durch ernsteiswuerfel 16.12.2018 - 15:57 ]
    Talos II Secure Workstation. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 7,3. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.11 / Gentoo Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [Amiga OS 3.1.4]
  • »16.12.18 - 14:54
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    marmotta
    Posts: 26 from 2012/6/11
    Quote:

    ernsteiswuerfel wrote:
    Quote:

    marmotta schrieb:
    I have tried some distributions, no way to get pcie x1900 to work with linux :-(

    What problems did you have, eg. not booting at all, freezing as soon as drm loads, freezing as soon as X starts? Most part of the problem is which version of the kernel and mesa the distro does run.

    On the PCIe G5 (11,2) I had problems with kernel versions 4.10.x - 4.17.x. Since 4.18.x (or on 4.9.x) the PCIe Radeon HD 5450 and the Geforce 6600 run just fine in my G5 11,2.

    [ Editiert durch ernsteiswuerfel 16.12.2018 - 15:57 ]


    The problem is the openfirmware rom on the video board. I not found any linux distro if the bug is fixed! All distribution assume you have a x86 bios on the board. But the x1900 mac edition not have a x86 bios....

    In practice if you use a frame buffer you have the colors corrupted (little endian vs big endian), if you use the radeon driver the screen remain black.

    The only option is: "radeon.modeset=0" and text console.
  • »16.12.18 - 18:17
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 241 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Quote:

    marmotta schrieb:
    The problem is the openfirmware rom on the video board. I not found any linux distro if the bug is fixed! All distribution assume you have a x86 bios on the board. But the x1900 mac edition not have a x86 bios....

    In practice if you use a frame buffer you have the colors corrupted (little endian vs big endian), if you use the radeon driver the screen remain black.

    The only option is: "radeon.modeset=0" and text console.

    Ok, so it's the kernels drm driver which is not working. I suggest you download a recent 4.19.x kernel and build from source. And it would be a good thing if your distribution uses gcc 6.4/6.5.

    I don't think the problem is the card having a Mac-BIOS. All my AGP-Cards and the NVIDIA in the G5 11,2 run just fine with Mac-BIOS.
    Talos II Secure Workstation. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 7,3. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.11 / Gentoo Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [Amiga OS 3.1.4]
  • »17.12.18 - 10:40
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    marmotta
    Posts: 26 from 2012/6/11
    Quote:

    ernsteiswuerfel wrote:
    Quote:

    marmotta schrieb:
    The problem is the openfirmware rom on the video board. I not found any linux distro if the bug is fixed! All distribution assume you have a x86 bios on the board. But the x1900 mac edition not have a x86 bios....

    In practice if you use a frame buffer you have the colors corrupted (little endian vs big endian), if you use the radeon driver the screen remain black.

    The only option is: "radeon.modeset=0" and text console.

    Ok, so it's the kernels drm driver which is not working. I suggest you download a recent 4.19.x kernel and build from source. And it would be a good thing if your distribution uses gcc 6.4/6.5.

    I don't think the problem is the card having a Mac-BIOS. All my AGP-Cards and the NVIDIA in the G5 11,2 run just fine with Mac-BIOS.


    Yes, the nvidia work good. The problem is the Radeon x1900....

    Code:
    [drm] initializing kernel modesetting (R580 0x1002:0x724B 0x1002:0x7240).
    Mar 19 14:21:57 powermac-g5 kernel: [ 13.375958] radeon 0000:0a:00.0: Using 64-bit DMA iommu bypass
    Mar 19 14:21:57 powermac-g5 kernel: [ 13.375972] [drm] register mmio base: 0x90000000
    Mar 19 14:21:57 powermac-g5 kernel: [ 13.375978] [drm] register mmio size: 65536
    Mar 19 14:21:57 powermac-g5 kernel: [ 13.376018] radeon 0000:0a:00.0: Invalid PCI ROM header signature: expecting 0xaa55, got 0x0000
    Mar 19 14:21:57 powermac-g5 kernel: [ 13.396127] [drm] Not an x86 BIOS ROM, not using.
    Mar 19 14:21:57 powermac-g5 kernel: [ 13.396138] radeon 0000:0a:00.0: Fatal error during GPU init
    Mar 19 14:21:57 powermac-g5 kernel: [ 13.396146] [drm] radeon: finishing device.
    Mar 19 14:21:57 powermac-g5 kernel: [ 13.396154] [TTM] Memory type 2 has not been initialized
    Mar 19 14:21:57 powermac-g5 kernel: [ 13.396165] [drm] radeon: cp finalized
    Mar 19 14:21:57 powermac-g5 kernel: [ 13.396466] radeon: probe of 0000:0a:00.0 failed with error -22
  • »17.12.18 - 21:04
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 241 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Interesting!

    Though only the musl little/big-endian variant would be of interest to the G5 and the majority of 'our' PPC machines. ppc64le is >=POWER8.
    Talos II Secure Workstation. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 7,3. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.11 / Gentoo Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [Amiga OS 3.1.4]
  • »30.12.18 - 19:22
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 241 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Quote:

    marmotta schrieb:
    Yes, the nvidia work good. The problem is the Radeon x1900....

    Code:
    [drm] initializing kernel modesetting (R580 0x1002:0x724B 0x1002:0x7240).
    Mar 19 14:21:57 powermac-g5 kernel: [ 13.375958] radeon 0000:0a:00.0: Using 64-bit DMA iommu bypass
    Mar 19 14:21:57 powermac-g5 kernel: [ 13.375972] [drm] register mmio base: 0x90000000
    Mar 19 14:21:57 powermac-g5 kernel: [ 13.375978] [drm] register mmio size: 65536
    Mar 19 14:21:57 powermac-g5 kernel: [ 13.376018] radeon 0000:0a:00.0: Invalid PCI ROM header signature: expecting 0xaa55, got 0x0000
    Mar 19 14:21:57 powermac-g5 kernel: [ 13.396127] [drm] Not an x86 BIOS ROM, not using.
    Mar 19 14:21:57 powermac-g5 kernel: [ 13.396138] radeon 0000:0a:00.0: Fatal error during GPU init
    Mar 19 14:21:57 powermac-g5 kernel: [ 13.396146] [drm] radeon: finishing device.
    Mar 19 14:21:57 powermac-g5 kernel: [ 13.396154] [TTM] Memory type 2 has not been initialized
    Mar 19 14:21:57 powermac-g5 kernel: [ 13.396165] [drm] radeon: cp finalized
    Mar 19 14:21:57 powermac-g5 kernel: [ 13.396466] radeon: probe of 0000:0a:00.0 failed with error -22


    Ok, you were right! It looks like the r400 driver really does not like a non-x86 BIOS. :-( What kernel is this distro running? uname -a from a shell tells you that.

    Only chance would be to run/build a more recent kernel. If that does not work out you can file a bug at that xorg bug tracker for "Driver/Radeon" (klick). Sometimes even PPC bugs get some care. ;-)
    Talos II Secure Workstation. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 7,3. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.11 / Gentoo Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [Amiga OS 3.1.4]
  • »30.12.18 - 19:37
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10096 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > only the musl little/big-endian variant would be of interest to the G5
    > and the majority of 'our' PPC machines. ppc64le is >=POWER8.

    Little-endian musl is also ppc64le and thus requires POWER8 or later. The only variant running on 'our' machines is the big-endian musl one, and requiring 64-bit it only runs on PowerMac G5 (and would run on Cyrus / AmigaOne X5000 if its packages weren't compiled for AltiVec/VMX). The majority of 'our' machines is 32-bit so Void Linux for PPC64 is void for them ;-)
  • »31.12.18 - 06:56
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 241 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf schrieb:
    The majority of 'our' machines is 32-bit so Void Linux for PPC64 is void for them ;-)

    True. ;-) AFAIK only Adelie, Gentoo and Debian Ports remain then.

    Lately I've grown quite fond of Adelie. Installing packages is easy and very fast, the software stack is modern, several desktop options available (Xfce4. lxqt, KDE). Downsides: not very well documented besides basic installation (packages necessary to reach the desktop), no properly working display manager available yet. Also yaboot is not available - and GRUB is not able to boot the MorphOS kernel (I would be gladly proven wrong here). :-( But you can work around these glitches and installing it is a lot faster than Gentoo/Debian. ;-)
    Talos II Secure Workstation. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 7,3. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.11 / Gentoo Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [Amiga OS 3.1.4]
  • »01.01.19 - 17:59
    Profile