MOS 3.10 X5000 Networks prefs+RTL8168+Pciex1 Graphics
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Spectre660
    Posts: 135 from 2015/6/30
    I spoke too soon.

    While it worked ok the first time that I tested, I am now getting a crash with the network prefs and the pciex1 RTL 8168 card on my X5000.
    Crash Log

    X5000/020 configuration

    PCIEx16 = Radeon Graphics Card . (Used Radeon HD6450 for MorphOS 3.10 test)
    PCIEX4 = Empty (usually blocked by video Card)
    PCIEX1 = SATA 3 Controller (Marvel 88SE9215 chipset) for Linux Hard Drive
    PCIEX1 = TP-Link Gigabit Ethernet PCI-Express Network Adapter (TG-3468)
    PCIEX1 = ATI FirePro 2260 Graphics Card . Linux 3D card (Does not function under AmigaOS 4.1FE or MorphOS 3.10)
    PCI = Empty
    PCI = SoundBlaster LIve! Works under all 3 OSes (Memory Needs to be set to max 3.5GB in Linux using boot args)

    ESATA for DVD drive (Used externally) with SATA to ESATA connector. allows optimal use of second onboard SATA connector,





    [ Edited by Spectre660 10.04.2018 - 10:35 ]
  • »09.04.18 - 10:05
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Spectre660
    Posts: 135 from 2015/6/30
    Problem appears to be caused by the presence of the ATI FirePro 2260 Graphics Card .

    [ Edited by Spectre660 10.04.2018 - 10:37 ]
  • »09.04.18 - 15:36
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4466 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    Spectre660 wrote:
    Problem appears to be caused by the presence of the ATI FirePro 2260 Graphics Card .


    Funny, I was just going to ask about that, because MorphOS really acts up with two AMD video cards installed simultaneously.

    Try an Nvidia card for Linux, that usually works better. Although now that I think about it X1 Nvidia solutions are kind of limited.

    You had me worried that we were see a bridging issue like the SAM460.

    [ Edited by Jim 09.04.2018 - 15:55 ]
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »09.04.18 - 20:54
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Spectre660
    Posts: 135 from 2015/6/30
    It is something that needs to be fixed at some point though .



    [ Edited by Spectre660 10.04.2018 - 10:37 ]
  • »09.04.18 - 21:20
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4466 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    Spectre660 wrote:
    It is something that needs to be fixed at some point though .




    It's something OS4 has that we don't have. But it's related to the fact that the Radeon driver is actually basically one driver across a rediculously broad range of cards.
    It initiates the first AMD card it finds and doesn't have any provision for a second.
    I discussed this year's ago with Frank and fairly recently with Mark.
    At some point, yeah, it needs to be addressed.
    Along with multiple outputs that aren't clones.

    Just another thing for "the list".
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »09.04.18 - 21:29
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Spectre660
    Posts: 135 from 2015/6/30
    Adjusted the Thread title.
  • »10.04.18 - 14:36
    Profile