MOS 3.10 Sam460 Radeon HD 6570 ?
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 14 from 2013/9/27
    Hi

    Has anyone tried MOS 3.10 with Sam460 + RadeonHD 6570 ?

    Sam460 is able to boot MOS3.10 installation CD, however screen doesn't change to MOS output and stays at UBoot screen.

    I can hear the CD-Rom working, that means system has not crashed.

    I tried DVI and HDMI ports..

    Any ideas ?
  • »26.03.18 - 11:04
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10018 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > screen doesn't change to MOS output and stays at UBoot screen.
    > I can hear the CD-Rom working, that means system has not crashed.
    > I tried DVI and HDMI ports.. Any ideas ?

    If this is on a Sam460ex and not on a Sam460cr, maybe MorphOS defaults to the VGA output of the on-board SM502 and must be switched to the PCIe graphics card after boot? Just a guess.
  • »26.03.18 - 11:32
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Spectre660
    Posts: 217 from 2015/6/30
    I had a problem with a Sam460ex + RadeonHD 6570 when I tried MorphOS 3.9.
    Possibly DDC not working properly. Had to use a DVI to VGA adapter to get a display.
    I did attempt to report the issue.
  • »26.03.18 - 11:53
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    bigfoot
    Posts: 304 from 2003/4/11
    That graphics card should definitely work. If the display indeed stays with the U-Boot screen active, rather than going blank, then it's most likely a question of the card not being detected right for whatever reason. Is there any chance you can obtain a serial log from your boot attempt?
    I rarely log in to MorphZone which means that I often miss private messages sent on here. If you wish to contact me, please email me at [username]@asgaard.morphos-team.net, where [username] is my username here on MorphZone.
  • »26.03.18 - 12:02
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Mozzerfan
    Posts: 39 from 2016/10/5
    From: Leiden, The Ne...
    I have the same problem with my sam460ex and a radeon x1550.

    After loading the boot img, it says "booting..." and it stays there forever.
    I used the same CD to update my other systems (ibook, macmini) and with that systems all went well.
  • »26.03.18 - 12:10
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    bigfoot
    Posts: 304 from 2003/4/11
    Well, then same question for you :) Any chance you could capture a serial log?
    I rarely log in to MorphZone which means that I often miss private messages sent on here. If you wish to contact me, please email me at [username]@asgaard.morphos-team.net, where [username] is my username here on MorphZone.
  • »26.03.18 - 12:29
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Mozzerfan
    Posts: 39 from 2016/10/5
    From: Leiden, The Ne...
    How can I capture a serial log? (I know: dumb question)
  • »26.03.18 - 12:40
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    bigfoot
    Posts: 304 from 2003/4/11
    You'll need a serial cable and a second machine, and then some serial terminal software for whatever OS the second machine runs, and the serial terminal software needs to be configured for 115200 bps 8N1 mode.
    I rarely log in to MorphZone which means that I often miss private messages sent on here. If you wish to contact me, please email me at [username]@asgaard.morphos-team.net, where [username] is my username here on MorphZone.
  • »26.03.18 - 12:49
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 14 from 2013/9/27
    Quote:

    bigfoot wrote:
    That graphics card should definitely work. If the display indeed stays with the U-Boot screen active, rather than going blank, then it's most likely a question of the card not being detected right for whatever reason. Is there any chance you can obtain a serial log from your boot attempt?


    I will send a serial log tonight or latest tomorrow morning.
  • »26.03.18 - 12:55
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Mozzerfan
    Posts: 39 from 2016/10/5
    From: Leiden, The Ne...
    Hmmmmm... bummer. I don't have a serial cable.
  • »26.03.18 - 12:55
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 14 from 2013/9/27
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > screen doesn't change to MOS output and stays at UBoot screen.
    > I can hear the CD-Rom working, that means system has not crashed.
    > I tried DVI and HDMI ports.. Any ideas ?

    If this is on a Sam460ex and not on a Sam460cr, maybe MorphOS defaults to the VGA output of the on-board SM502 and must be switched to the PCIe graphics card after boot? Just a guess.


    Yes this is a Sam460ex...I will check if VGA has any output..

    But anyway it would be better if it switches to 6570.
  • »26.03.18 - 12:57
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Spectre660
    Posts: 217 from 2015/6/30
    Serial Log link below. HD6570 No display for me too.

    http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/9fjnl1ei7zo9muy/HD6570-Sam460ex_Morphos.log?dl=0


    Quote:

    bigfoot wrote:
    Well, then same question for you :) Any chance you could capture a serial log?




    [ Edited by Spectre660 26.03.2018 - 10:16 ]
  • »26.03.18 - 13:04
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Spectre660
    Posts: 217 from 2015/6/30
    No problems with HD6450
  • »26.03.18 - 13:15
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    bigfoot
    Posts: 304 from 2003/4/11
    Thanks for the log. And just to confirm, do you get a blank screen or does the firmware screen stick like earlier described by eightwonder?
    I rarely log in to MorphZone which means that I often miss private messages sent on here. If you wish to contact me, please email me at [username]@asgaard.morphos-team.net, where [username] is my username here on MorphZone.
  • »26.03.18 - 19:04
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Spectre660
    Posts: 217 from 2015/6/30
    It was a blank screen .
  • »26.03.18 - 19:27
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Mozzerfan
    Posts: 39 from 2016/10/5
    From: Leiden, The Ne...
    @bigfoot

    I just checked again.

    The bootloader gives some errors:
    - Failed to load cache block 0 from device 2
    - Failed to load partitions on device 2

    device 2 is my DVD/CDROM device.

    It DOES load the boot img though

    EDIT: I've tried with 2 different CDs and I also tried 3 different programs to burn the ISO to CD.
    (Jalapeno, UltraISO and Burnaware).
    But bootloader always gives the same errors.



    [ Edited by Mozzerfan 01.04.2018 - 12:50 ]
  • »27.03.18 - 06:10
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 14 from 2013/9/27
    Quote:

    bigfoot wrote:
    Thanks for the log. And just to confirm, do you get a blank screen or does the firmware screen stick like earlier described by eightwonder?


    Hello bigfoot

    Here is my serial output (now it is a blank screen like Spectre)

    U-Boot 2015.a (May 16 2015 - 14:17:51)

    CPU: AMCC PowerPC 460EX Rev. B at 1150 MHz (PLB=230 OPB=115 EBC=115)
    No Security/Kasumi support
    Bootstrap Option H - Boot ROM Location I2C (Addr 0x52)
    Internal PCI arbiter enabled
    32 kB I-Cache 32 kB D-Cache
    Board: Sam460ex/cr, PCIe 4x + PCIe 1x
    I2C: ready
    DRAM: 2 GiB (ECC not enabled, 460 MHz, CL4)
    PCI: Bus Dev VenId DevId Class Int
    00 04 1095 3114 0104 00
    00 06 126f 0501 0380 00
    PCIE0: successfully set as root-complex
    02 00 1095 3132 0104 00
    PCIE1: successfully set as root-complex
    04 00 1002 6759 0300 ff
    Net: ppc_4xx_eth0
    FPGA: Revision 03 (2010-10-07)
    SM502: found
    PERMD2:not found
    VGA: 1
    VESA: OK


    ABox 1.29 (26.6.2016) © 1999-2016 by Ralph Schmidt, Emmanuel Lesueur, Teemu Suikki, Harry Sintonen

    Driver_InitBoard: Channels = 4 UnitsPerChannel = 1
    PCI (S)ATA/ATAPI Driver@0: PIO Mode 4
    PCI (S)ATA/ATAPI Driver@0: UDMA Mode 5
    PCI (S)ATA/ATAPI Driver@1: PIO Mode 4
    PCI (S)ATA/ATAPI Driver@1: UDMA Mode 5
    sata.device@0: PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-221L <CDROM>
    sata.device@0: CDRom <CD001>,<MORPHOS > found, bootable
    sata.device@0: Mount <CD0>
    sata.device@0: Partition <CD0> DosType 0x43444653 BootPri 127
    sata.device@1: ATA-HD ST9160821AS <DIRECT_ACCESS>
    Driver_InitBoard: Channels = 2 UnitsPerChannel = 1
    SiI3132_Init:
    SiI3132_Init: Taking port 0 out of reset
    SiI3132_Init: Taking port 1 out of reset
    SiI3132_Init: Port resets done
    SiI3132_Init: Port 0 SStatus 00000000
    SiI3132_Init: Port 0: Drive not present
    SiI3132_Init: Port 1 SStatus 00000000
    SiI3132_Init: Port 1: Drive not present
    usbscsi.device@0: Mount <DH0>
    usbscsi.device@0: Partition <DH0> DosType 0x444f5307
    Radeon: Read BIOS ROM @0x16415054
  • »27.03.18 - 07:04
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 14 from 2013/9/27
    I enabled SM502 VGA output as default at Sam460 UBoot.

    There is no MOS screen after UBoot screen in this configuration too..

    Serial log is the same..
  • »27.03.18 - 07:19
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Mozzerfan
    Posts: 39 from 2016/10/5
    From: Leiden, The Ne...
    @bigfoot

    tried to install from sd-card.

    same problem, bootloader gives the same error msg (this time for the sdcard device of course)
  • »27.03.18 - 09:15
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Spectre660
    Posts: 217 from 2015/6/30
    @bigfoot

    Using a a DVI to VGA adapter allows the Sam460ex to boot with the Radeon HD6570.
    Screen resolution limited to 800x600x24 .
    DDC issue ?
  • »27.03.18 - 10:28
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 14 from 2013/9/27
    Quote:

    Spectre660 wrote:
    @bigfoot

    Using a a DVI to VGA adapter allows the Sam460ex to boot with the Radeon HD6570.
    Screen resolution limited to 800x600x24 .
    DDC issue ?



    Direct VGA or DVI to VGA adapter doesn't work here...

    Maybe I should go out and buy Radeon R5 230
  • »27.03.18 - 10:51
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4700 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    eightwonder wrote:
    Quote:

    Spectre660 wrote:
    @bigfoot

    Using a a DVI to VGA adapter allows the Sam460ex to boot with the Radeon HD6570.
    Screen resolution limited to 800x600x24 .
    DDC issue ?



    Direct VGA or DVI to VGA adapter doesn't work here...

    Maybe I should go out and buy Radeon R5 230


    That was the card Bigfoot recommended to Acill before last Fall's Amiwest demo.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »27.03.18 - 14:15
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10018 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >> Maybe I should go out and buy Radeon R5 230

    > That was the card Bigfoot recommended to Acill before last Fall's Amiwest demo.

    ...and it is the card he's just recommended in the MorphOS 3.10 news article thread, as well as the HD6450.
  • »27.03.18 - 16:31
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Spectre660
    Posts: 217 from 2015/6/30
    Comments on the Sam460ex + Radeon HD6570 from 2015 .

    Link
  • »27.03.18 - 17:30
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4700 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    Spectre660 wrote:

    Comments on the Sam460ex + Radeon HD6570 from 2015 .

    Link


    So why didn't you install the HD 6670?
    And no one has mentioned the 6750 or the 6870, both of which should work.

    [ Edited by Jim 27.03.2018 - 20:03 ]
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »27.03.18 - 21:21
    Profile