A look at the new MorphOS
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Debaser
    Posts: 149 from 2005/7/12
    From: Syracuse, NY, USA
    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote:
    As promised, a sneak peak at the new email client:

    Iris


    Fantastic! I am really looking forward to this.
  • »03.11.17 - 22:27
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 9838 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I'd just prefer MorphOS not to offer just that one option of "simplified design",
    > as I quite like the [...] look and feel of 3.9 so if that 'look' can be retained after
    > the update to 3.10 then I'd be happier

    I see no reason to believe that the skins that have been offered up to and including MorphOS 3.9 will be missing in MorphOS 3.10. Or was any of them created by tokai?
  • »03.11.17 - 22:53
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Acill
    Posts: 1878 from 2003/10/19
    From: Oxnard, Ca.
    Cant wait for this to be released! The beta on my X5000 was fantastic to use during Amiwest. I will be keeping my G5 as well for it I think, just much easier to boot into a single machine and not worry about corruption from the other OS reading the drives.
    Powerbook 1.67GHZ (Currently Main MorphOS Machine)
    Powermac Dual 2.0 GHZ G5 (Registration #1894)
    A4000T CSPPC, Mediator
    AmigaOne X5000
    Need Amiga recap or other services in the USA? Visit my website at http://www.acill.com
  • »05.11.17 - 15:23
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    WeiXing3D
    Posts: 325 from 2012/6/13
    From: Pacifica, CA
    Quick question: are new PPC computers (Macs & others), other than the X5000, being added to the list of supported PC's that can run MorphOS 3.10? Is still the PowerMac G5 the highest spec PC for MorphOS
    MacMini G4 1.5GHz with MorphOS 3.9 FPGA MiST w/AmigaOS 3.9 (PFS3), FPGA Replay w/AmigaOS3.9, Amiga 3000 with sidecar with SCSI CD-RW, Dual card reader (CF, SD/microSD), X-SURF 100 w/Rapidroad US, External FDD with Chinon and Gotek units and Acer Aspire On
  • »06.11.17 - 17:03
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    koszer
    Posts: 813 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    WeiXing3D wrote:
    Quick question: are new PPC computers (Macs & others), other than the X5000, being added to the list of supported PC's that can run MorphOS 3.10? Is still the PowerMac G5 the highest spec PC for MorphOS


    Most probably - none, so yes, G5 DP 2,7 will still be the highest spec PC (although I suppose X5000 would beat it in gfx card comparisons).
  • »06.11.17 - 17:37
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4629 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    WeiXing3D wrote:
    Quick question: are new PPC computers (Macs & others), other than the X5000, being added to the list of supported PC's that can run MorphOS 3.10? Is still the PowerMac G5 the highest spec PC for MorphOS


    Right now, the only new support that has been announced is the X5000.
    Apparently there isn't sufficient support for a port to the 11,2 PCI-E G5s, so the most powerful CPUs would still be the 2.3, 2.5, and 2.7 GHz dual G5 AGP systems.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »06.11.17 - 17:38
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4629 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > the most powerful CPUs would still be the 2.3, 2.5, and 2.7 GHz dual G5 AGP systems.

    The X5000/20 beats my 2.3 GHz PowerMac G5 in non-SIMD integer operations.

    http://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?forum=11&topic_id=11137&start=603


    Looks like we are down to the water cooled models then.
    And a probable superiority in SIMD and FPU instruction performance. ;-)
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »07.11.17 - 12:44
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    SoundSquare
    Posts: 1188 from 2004/12/1
    From: Paris, France
    not a fan of the new design/skin, looks too much like older Android design
  • »07.11.17 - 17:16
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 77 from 2017/9/10
    Quote:

    And a probable superiority in SIMD and FPU instruction performanc

    in smp fpu my 1x970MP is like the 4x5040
    blender bench 42 second on 4T 5040, 23 on 4T 970MP ... plus no altivec


    [ Edited by tlosmx 07.11.2017 - 18:14 ]
  • »07.11.17 - 19:14
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4629 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    tlosmx wrote:
    Quote:

    And a probable superiority in SIMD and FPU instruction performanc

    in smp fpu my 1x970MP is like the 4x5040
    blender bench 42 second on 4T 5040, 23 on 4T 970MP ... plus no altivec




    That doesn't surprise me. Even without using those instructions that part of the 970MP is fairly powerful.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »07.11.17 - 21:24
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    takemehomegrandma
    Posts: 2508 from 2003/2/24
    Quote:

    tlosmx wrote:
    Quote:

    And a probable superiority in SIMD and FPU instruction performanc

    in smp fpu my 1x970MP is like the 4x5040
    blender bench 42 second on 4T 5040, 23 on 4T 970MP ... plus no altivec



    One 970MP chip has two cores, each core has 2x FPU’s, so a total of 4 FPU’s per chip. Same number of FPU’s as in your 5040. In a quad configuration, the 970MP system has 8 FPU’s, twice the numbers of the 5040 system.

    Edit: BTW, IMHO there is little practical point in comparing non-SIMD performance, since the 970 *does* have Altivec. The quad 970MP has four of them. Blender would love to use them... ;-)
    MorphOS is Amiga done right! :-)
    MorphOS NG will be AROS done right! :-)
  • »07.11.17 - 22:07
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 9838 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > IMHO there is little practical point in comparing non-SIMD performance,
    > since the 970 *does* have Altivec.

    Most tasks can‘t be vectorized, so comparing CPUs by their non-SIMD performance does make sense.
  • »07.11.17 - 23:41
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Furvert
    Posts: 66 from 2004/4/20
    Am I the only one that can't see the link in OWB?
  • »13.11.17 - 01:04
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    koszer
    Posts: 813 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    Furvert wrote:

    Am I the only one that can't see the link in OWB?


    Yes.

    But, to be certain, could you specify which link and what OWB are you talking about?
  • »14.11.17 - 13:37
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 96 from 2008/7/2
    Love to see this running on my G5, the new skin looks cool.
  • »14.11.17 - 16:20
    Profile
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1404 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    Quote:

    Furvert wrote:

    Am I the only one that can't see the link in OWB?


    Yes.

    But, to be certain, could you specify which link and what OWB are you talking about?


    No, the link in the first post of this thread doesn't work here either with OWB.. or to be more precise, it doesn't work with the default settings, but it does work if I spoof OWB as some other browser. If I don't spoof, Google+ page tells me that my browser isn't supported. Spoofing as Safari or any other browser makes it work and the image can be displayed then.
  • »14.11.17 - 16:37
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Furvert
    Posts: 66 from 2004/4/20
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    Quote:

    Furvert wrote:

    Am I the only one that can't see the link in OWB?


    Yes.

    But, to be certain, could you specify which link and what OWB are you talking about?


    Oops The link that started this entire post:

    https://plus.google.com/photos/115515624056477014971/album/6481995654173315025/6481995654218114802?authkey=CLe83ZTZh_vgfw

    Odyssey Web Browser 1.23

    The error I get is:

    "Your browser is not supported by Google+. You may have an outdated browser version or an unsupported browser type."
  • »15.11.17 - 05:03
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    Chefsessel
    Posts: 8 from 2018/1/5
    Is there any planned support for iMac G5 computers? I have one here on my desk (I'm actually writing this post on it) and they're great and stylish computers that can be picked up for little to no money. And I think many of them came with Radeon 9600 cards.

    Would be awesome to have MorphOS running on it. Stylish computer, stylish OS :)
    PowerMac G4 ("Quicksilver"), 733 Mhz, 1234 MB RAM, 64 MB Radeon 9000
  • »05.01.18 - 13:19
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 9838 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Is there any planned support for iMac G5 computers?

    See this thread for reference.
  • »05.01.18 - 14:24
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Chefsessel
    Posts: 8 from 2018/1/5
    Thanks for the link, Andreas Wolf. After reading the thread I'm not much smarter though. Except the fact that people are aware of the demand there might or might not be support. Well, let's see what the future brings. Still the iMac G5s have lots of power for every day use. Would make a great desk computer for the family to use.

    [ Edited by Chefsessel 05.01.2018 - 14:20 ]
    PowerMac G4 ("Quicksilver"), 733 Mhz, 1234 MB RAM, 64 MB Radeon 9000
  • »05.01.18 - 15:20
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 1766 from 2003/2/24
    The only model ever shown working is the PowerMac12.1 aka "iSight" running at 2.1GHz.
    These all come with Radeon600XT while Radeon9600 would suggest the 2.0GHz "Ambient Light Sensor" 8.2.

    The iSight shares a lot of HW with the PCIe tower G5s, so there is still a small chance of getting supported at some time.

    The main issue I have (at least with my iSight-iMac) is that the screen just isn't that good, so I'm not sure I'd bother registering it if that ever is an option.
    --------------------- May the 4th be with you ------------------
    Mother Russia dance of the Zar, don't you know how lucky you are
  • »05.01.18 - 15:28
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    zukow
    Posts: 466 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    The question is on which hemisphere? :)
  • »19.03.18 - 08:42
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    koszer
    Posts: 813 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    zukow wrote:
    The question is on which hemisphere? :)


    Not much time left if we're talking about the southern one then, eh?
  • »19.03.18 - 09:29
    Profile