Worth the money? And is it lifetime licensed?
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    CraigE
    Hey guys, I'm a proper beginner - haven't actually even started yet.

I've been on a bit of an Amiga binge, and I've been playing with Amikit (bought the new Amikit X) and Amiga Forever. But I feel like I want to use dedicated hardware to get my fix :)

Looking around, Morphos looks to be the best solution to get up and running with an Amiga like experience, with support for Amiga software on relatively cheaply available hardware.

So I've bit the bullet and ordered a G4 Mac Mini to play with.

I wasn't surprised to see that Morphos was proprietary, but my immediate gut reaction to 79 Euros was that it seemed a bit steep.

What's the story, is it worth the 79 Euros? Is the license lifetime with upgrades covered? How many people just use the demo and reboot every 30 minutes? It's not that it's unnafordable, and if it's worth it, I'll cough up, I just wanted to get some thoughts before I pay up. It'll be a few days till the G4 turns up, and likely a day or two of playing with demo to see what I think... then plunge
  • »28.05.17 - 18:51
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    The truth is... Nobody can tell for you is it worth your money or not. Go, tinker a bit, play with your new hardware ant decide. 79 EUR may seem steep, but well, back in 2008 I've payed 100 EUR for a license for Efika 5200B (call that a bargain!). So far every update since 2.0 was free of charge for all registered users. And thats nearly 10 years now.

P.S. I hope your Mini is a 'silent upgrade' 64 MB VRAM one. It will give you a much better experience than the 32 MB version.
  • »28.05.17 - 18:58
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    CraigE
    Thanks! Yeh, I'll just have a play.

And I've no idea on the VRAM..
  • »28.05.17 - 19:02
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    defender