I'm bidding for an A1103
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    dethknave
    Posts: 31 from 2015/11/28
    Let us hope I know what I'm getting myself into.
    I've already qued up the repair site just in case.

    https://www.ifixit.com/Device/Mac_mini_(PowerPC)
    Sadly it only has 32Meg of vram on a radeon9200
    which looks like it's built into the mainboard
    Windows 10? Think again!
    http://youtu.be/u1kGMCfb2xw
  • »13.05.17 - 01:33
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 1641 from 2003/2/24
    Unless it's really cheap or your planning on useing a rather small monitor I would advice waiting for a "silent upgrade" 1.5GHz Mini with 64MB to come up.
    --------------------- May the 4th be with you ------------------
    Mother Russia dance of the Zar, don't you know how lucky you are
  • »13.05.17 - 06:01
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Posts: 51 from 2016/3/9
    Check the link in the thread I posted below this one. I think they still have a few. They're buy it now at $39.99 including free shipping but are taking offers. I got mine for $30 and got power supply and DVI to VGA adapter for each one.
  • »13.05.17 - 17:38
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 1641 from 2003/2/24
    *shrug*

    The 2nd 1.5GHz Mini that I bought around 2012 was 40Euro.
    --------------------- May the 4th be with you ------------------
    Mother Russia dance of the Zar, don't you know how lucky you are
  • »13.05.17 - 17:43
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    igracki
    Posts: 253 from 2003/2/25
    From: Berlin
    Yesterday I bought a PowerMac G5 2.3GHz with Radeon 9600/128MB and 5GB RAM for 31.50€!
  • »13.05.17 - 18:09
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Intuition
    Posts: 871 from 2013/5/24
    From: Englistan
    Quote:

    igracki wrote:
    Yesterday I bought a PowerMac G5 2.3GHz with Radeon 9600/128MB and 5GB RAM for 31.50€!




    Blimey. My 2.7GHz G5 was 250 in 2013 lol

    [ Edited by Intuition 13.05.2017 - 18:55 ]
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »13.05.17 - 18:54
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    amigadave
    Posts: 2392 from 2006/3/21
    From: Lake Shastina,...
    Quote:

    Intuition wrote:
    Quote:

    igracki wrote:
    Yesterday I bought a PowerMac G5 2.3GHz with Radeon 9600/128MB and 5GB RAM for 31.50€!




    Blimey. My 2.7GHz G5 was 250 in 2013 lol


    Yeah, I paid $400 for my dual 2.7GHz G5 around the same time and could probably find one today for less than 1/2 that price. As for the 1.5GHz silent upgrade MacMini's on eBay, I offered the guy the same $30 and asked about the power supply, and they countered back with an offer of $34.95 and told me all the power supplies were gone. I didn't accept the counter offer yet, but might, if he still has any left. It's a great price for a 1.5GHz G4 MacMini.

    I always wished that the last version of the previous version Mac's would be supported, as I liked the look and convenience of the attached monitor (the Mac that looked like a lamp base with a monitor connected to the top of it), but I like bigger monitors now, so probably would tire of the novelty of it and end up using something like a G4 or G5 PowerMac with a 20-inch or larger monitor instead, for running MorphOS, like I do today.

    To the original poster of this thread: Don't buy the 32mb VRAM MacMini, as it will most likely end up disappointing you after a while, and you will wish you had waited for something better.
    MorphOS - The best Next Gen Amiga choice.
  • »13.05.17 - 20:01
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    dethknave
    Posts: 31 from 2015/11/28
    Well, I got it for 30usd with power brick and dvi adapter. If I can make it run deluxpaint and aladdn4d that would likely complete my use case scenario.
    But I may test it with an old Linux distribution for a while.
    Windows 10? Think again!
    http://youtu.be/u1kGMCfb2xw
  • »13.05.17 - 21:54
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 9047 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I always wished that the last version of the previous version Mac's would be supported
    > [...] (the Mac that looked like a lamp base with a monitor connected to the top of it)

    The problem with all models of iMac G4 is the onboard Nvidia GPU.

    > I [...] probably would [...] end up using something like a G4 or G5 PowerMac with
    > a 20-inch or larger monitor instead

    The last iMac G4 model came with a 20 inch screen.
  • »13.05.17 - 23:52
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4026 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    dethknave wrote:
    Well, I got it for 30usd with power brick and dvi adapter. If I can make it run deluxpaint and aladdn4d that would likely complete my use case scenario.
    But I may test it with an old Linux distribution for a while.


    If its a 1.5 GHz with 64 mb of vram, cool.
    "Fiery the angels rose, and as they rose deep thunder roll'd / Around their shores: indignant burning with the fires of Orc."

    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »14.05.17 - 00:21
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    dethknave
    Posts: 31 from 2015/11/28
    Quote:

    Jim wrote:
    If its a 1.5 GHz with 64 mb of vram, cool.


    nah its a 1.42
    I will see how it compares to my A3K and my A1200 with
    deluxepaint and A4D
    Tis machine will be used to just doodle with mostly.
    Think Ill run the video out into a capture device on my
    A1289 -2314
    or maybe on my I7-4790 machine.
    Windows 10? Think again!
    http://youtu.be/u1kGMCfb2xw
  • »14.05.17 - 02:15
    Profile
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1273 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Quote:

    dethknave wrote:
    Well, I got it for 30usd with power brick and dvi adapter. If I can make it run deluxpaint and aladdn4d that would likely complete my use case scenario.
    But I may test it with an old Linux distribution for a while.


    You can also test with MorphOS without registering first, but with 30mins periods...

    You probably can't get Deluxe Paint work without E-UAE, but try Personal Paint, it works quite fine and is in many ways better than DPaint too.
  • »14.05.17 - 08:24
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    dethknave
    Posts: 31 from 2015/11/28
    So during the Lubuntu 16.04 (ppc) liveCD boot process, I get a message about invalid ROM contents in Radeon. Then a lockup a few minutes into desktop navigation.

    However, this does NOT happen under MorphOS(demo). Only glitch I had under morphOS(demo) was the Work: icon had a garbled backdrop for a while. A few reboots and it's been fine.

    Lubuntu and MorphOS(demo) are like a thousand times faster than 10.5.8 lol
    Windows 10? Think again!
    http://youtu.be/u1kGMCfb2xw
  • »20.05.17 - 21:49
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 150 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Quote:

    dethknave schrieb:
    So during the Lubuntu 16.04 (ppc) liveCD boot process, I get a message about invalid ROM contents in Radeon. Then a lockup a few minutes into desktop navigation.

    The invalid ROM contents message only tells you that it's no x86 bios I suppose. The problem is that the Radeon r300 driver (which is for all r300-r500 cards) got some serious bugs on Big Endian Hardware.
    See Bug #101038 and #94877.

    Quote:

    Lubuntu and MorphOS(demo) are like a thousand times faster than 10.5.8 lol

    Yep, even Linux without an GPU-accelerated desktop feels faster that 10.5.8. :-D
    MorphOS hardware support is the best!

    [ Editiert durch ernsteiswuerfel 21.05.2017 - 15:16 ]
    PMac G5 11,2. PMac G5 7,3. PBook G4 5,8. PBook G4 5,6. [MorphOS 3.9 / Gentoo Linux / Ubuntu MATE 16.10] 2 x A1200. ACA-1233/55, ACA1232/40, Indivision AGA Mk2, 4 GiB CF. [Amiga OS 3.9]
  • »21.05.17 - 14:13
    Profile