X800XT dual display
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Intuition
    Posts: 871 from 2013/5/24
    From: Englistan
    I've got one on the way that has DVI and ADC output.

    Anyone know if it's an either/or thing or can I hook up a monitor to both at the same time using an ADC to VGA adapter?

    If not can someone recommend a PCI video card that'll work in Linux and MorphOS, not too bothered about dual display under OSX as I don't use it that much.

    Thanks.
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »24.04.17 - 08:52
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    koszer
    Posts: 603 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    I've read on some Mac forum that it's doable (i.e. hooking up one monitor to DVI and another one to ADC, either directly or through an ADC to DVI adapter).
  • »24.04.17 - 10:16
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Intuition
    Posts: 871 from 2013/5/24
    From: Englistan
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    I've read on some Mac forum that it's doable (i.e. hooking up one monitor to DVI and another one to ADC, either directly or through an ADC to DVI adapter).




    ADC adapters aren't cheap and have to but from abroad, so I'm thinking a PCI Radeon might be the best solution.
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »24.04.17 - 11:08
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    koszer
    Posts: 603 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:


    ADC adapters aren't cheap and have to but from abroad, so I'm thinking a PCI Radeon might be the best solution.


    Well, if you happen to find an acrylic Cinema Display laying around you can always cut the ADC wire and prepare one yourself, all the signals are already there (plus a few that we don't really need). That could be much cheaper.
  • »24.04.17 - 11:30
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Intuition
    Posts: 871 from 2013/5/24
    From: Englistan
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    Quote:


    ADC adapters aren't cheap and have to but from abroad, so I'm thinking a PCI Radeon might be the best solution.


    Well, if you happen to find an acrylic Cinema Display laying around you can always cut the ADC wire and prepare one yourself, all the signals are already there (plus a few that we don't really need). That could be much cheaper.




    No chance of me finding one for free lol

    I just recently sold a Voodoo 3000 PCI card too. Should have kept it :/
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »24.04.17 - 14:07
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4026 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    If you guys think you can find the instructions on how to create an adapter, I have a 17" Cinema Display I'm willing to sacrifice for the connector, I'm not using it.

    I'd offer to ship the whole monitor to Nik, but as heavy as it is, by the time you combine the shipping with whatever duties he'd have to pay to receive it...

    A second (PCI) video card isn't a great solution. You can only run one Radeon card at a time, so your stuck with solutions like the Voodoo3 or Rage128. And I haven't been able to get a Voodoo3 to work correctly in a dual G5 video card setup. Maybe someone else has.

    Anyway, I have a Voodoo3 2000 around here somewhere as well.

    And, to close, yeah ADC adapters are a bit pricey, but not nearly as bad as the the adapter needed to drive an ADC monitor from a standard DVI connector.

    [ Edited by Jim 24.04.2017 - 16:18 ]
    "Fiery the angels rose, and as they rose deep thunder roll'd / Around their shores: indignant burning with the fires of Orc."

    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »24.04.17 - 21:17
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 9047 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > your stuck with solutions like the Voodoo3 or Rage128.

    Yes, and for anyone who's satisfied with support similar to the one for Rage128, there are also 3DLabs Permedia2 and several XGI Volari and SiS cards.
  • »24.04.17 - 22:02
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4026 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    I wonder why Warp3D support was never added for the Permedia 2?
    It is available under AmigaOS3.X and OS4.

    And are any of the drivers that don't have 3D support accelerated for 2D applications?
    I know the latter Radeon drivers have no hardware acceleration what so ever, but I'm unsure about the earlier cards.
    "Fiery the angels rose, and as they rose deep thunder roll'd / Around their shores: indignant burning with the fires of Orc."

    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »24.04.17 - 23:01
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 9047 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I wonder why Warp3D support was never added for the Permedia 2?

    In MorphOS, Warp3D/Goa support requires a Rave3D driver. I guess the MorphOS team simply didn't see the benefit to justify the effort of writing this driver for the Permedia 2.
    Btw, in general, Warp3D support can also be achieved by the TinyGL-based rendering of Wazp3D, but there's no TinyGL driver for Permedia 2 either.

    > are any of the drivers that don't have 3D support accelerated for 2D applications?

    AFAIK, all drivers except the ones for Radeon HD provide 2D acceleration (but probably to different degrees).
  • »25.04.17 - 00:34
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4026 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    >AFAIK, all drivers except the ones for Radeon HD provide 2D acceleration (but probably to different degrees).

    Well, for a lot of what I do, that would be adequate.
    It also makes me curious to see if I could get a Permedia 2 card working (I'm sure I have one around here somewhere), if possible, in a G4.

    I haven't tried to run a Rage128 card in a G5.
    That might clock it too high.
    Voodoo3's have no problem running at 66MHz, and even then, while I've gotten them to initialize correctly under MorphOS in a G5, they always eventually lock up the system.

    Anyway, building an ADC to DVI adapter seems to be the most practical solution.
    "Fiery the angels rose, and as they rose deep thunder roll'd / Around their shores: indignant burning with the fires of Orc."

    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »25.04.17 - 00:44
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    amigadave
    Posts: 2392 from 2006/3/21
    From: Lake Shastina,...
    Quote:

    Intuition wrote:
    I've got one on the way that has DVI and ADC output.

    Anyone know if it's an either/or thing or can I hook up a monitor to both at the same time using an ADC to VGA adapter?

    If not can someone recommend a PCI video card that'll work in Linux and MorphOS, not too bothered about dual display under OSX as I don't use it that much.

    Thanks.


    I don't know about getting two displays to work from PPC Linux, but didn't a few people here on the forums already confirm that we can't run dual displays from a single video card from within MorphOS?

    My memory ain't what it used to be, but I am fairly certain that I read something like that within the last year or so.

    Edit: After further thought about this, I might be confusing this with the ability, or inability to run two displays from the G4 PowerBook, with one being the built-in LCD, and the other display being hooked up to the DVI output.

    [ Edited by amigadave 24.04.2017 - 16:56 ]
    MorphOS - The best Next Gen Amiga choice.
  • »25.04.17 - 00:54
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4026 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    Intuition wrote:
    I've got one on the way that has DVI and ADC output...


    There is this.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/adc-To-dvi-Male-TO-female-Monitor-Adapter-Cable-For-Apple-G4-G5-Working-/162367406850?hash=item25cdda0302:g:XDkAAOSw241YhGxA
    "Fiery the angels rose, and as they rose deep thunder roll'd / Around their shores: indignant burning with the fires of Orc."

    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »25.04.17 - 01:37
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 9047 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I haven't tried to run a Rage128 card in a G5. That might clock it too high.

    A 66 MHz PCI card like the Rage128 should work in a 100 MHz or 133 MHz PCI-X slot. It's just that the PCI-X bus (including all other cards and controllers connected to this bus) will be degraded to 66 MHz then.

    > Voodoo3's have no problem running at 66MHz

    Yes, the PCI Voodoo3 is a 66 MHz card. (Note that there's no 66 MHz PCI slot in a PowerMac G5. They have either 33 MHz PCI slots or 100/133 MHz PCI-X slots.)
  • »25.04.17 - 02:19
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4026 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    OK, so I would probably want to install in a PCI-X slot to maximize bus transfers.
    "Fiery the angels rose, and as they rose deep thunder roll'd / Around their shores: indignant burning with the fires of Orc."

    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »25.04.17 - 02:58
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    koszer
    Posts: 603 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    Jim wrote:
    If you guys think you can find the instructions on how to create an adapter, I have a 17" Cinema Display I'm willing to sacrifice for the connector, I'm not using it.


    You meant "17" Studio Display" (damn, Andreas should have said that!) :)

    There's another way - I've found a blog where some guy hacked the DVI plug to fit into ADC port. If you're brave enough - take a look.
  • »25.04.17 - 06:24
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 1641 from 2003/2/24
    As amigadave ponted out, one can't really use 2 outputs on the same card with MorphOS, so the whole point of getting an ADC to DVI adapter is mute.

    Unless you want drunkvision ( 2 monitors showing the same picture).
    --------------------- May the 4th be with you ------------------
    Mother Russia dance of the Zar, don't you know how lucky you are
  • »25.04.17 - 08:46
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Intuition
    Posts: 871 from 2013/5/24
    From: Englistan
    It's a shame there's no MorphOS support for the Matrox PCI-X video cards.

    ADC adapter looks pointless due to no dual head in MorphOS, thanks anyway Jim.

    Think I might have a Rage 128 PCI knocking about somewhere, but I mighty be misremembering the S3 Trio64 from my old Mediator.
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »25.04.17 - 09:06
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4026 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    Intuition wrote:
    It's a shame there's no MorphOS support for the Matrox PCI-X video cards.

    ADC adapter looks pointless due to no dual head in MorphOS, thanks anyway Jim.

    Think I might have a Rage 128 PCI knocking about somewhere, but I mighty be misremembering the S3 Trio64 from my old Mediator.



    OK, since dual displays are out, if you can't find a Rage128, let me know Nik and I'll see what I can do. I do have a Voodoo3 2000, but like I said, I haven't been able to get that to work properly as a second display card...yet.
    If anyone else wants to chime in on that...
    "Fiery the angels rose, and as they rose deep thunder roll'd / Around their shores: indignant burning with the fires of Orc."

    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »25.04.17 - 13:31
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Cool_amigaN
    Posts: 432 from 2011/11/30
    IDK if that's relevant information but I do have dual output on the Radeon 9800 Pro 256MB flashed under MorphOS 3.9. However, one output is through VGA and the other is via DVI. Problem is that I cannot have 2 different resolutions displayed at the same time and I can only duplicate the display output, not use different programs in each one.
    Amiga gaming Tribute: Watch, rate, comment :)
  • »25.04.17 - 13:41
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    koszer
    Posts: 603 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Dual display from DVI and ADC is definitely doable on OSX - see for yourself.

    @Cool_amigaN: How did you achieve mirrored display on MorphOS? Did you define a new monitor/screen for that?
  • »25.04.17 - 18:23
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Intuition
    Posts: 871 from 2013/5/24
    From: Englistan
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    Dual display from DVI and ADC is definitely doable on OSX - see for yourself.

    @Cool_amigaN: How did you achieve mirrored display on MorphOS? Did you define a new monitor/screen for that?


    Are you able to try it with a Linux distro?
    Mine's been dispatched, hopefully will arrive tomorrow.
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »25.04.17 - 18:47
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    koszer
    Posts: 603 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    Intuition wrote:
    Are you able to try it with a Linux distro?


    I don't have one at hand, and I doubt there's a live-CD/DVD for PowerMac G5...
  • »25.04.17 - 20:37
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4026 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    Kronos wrote:
    As amigadave ponted out, one can't really use 2 outputs on the same card with MorphOS, so the whole point of getting an ADC to DVI adapter is mute.

    Unless you want drunkvision ( 2 monitors showing the same picture).


    So the display out the ADC port DOES work then (I wasn't sure)?
    "Fiery the angels rose, and as they rose deep thunder roll'd / Around their shores: indignant burning with the fires of Orc."

    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »25.04.17 - 22:19
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Intuition
    Posts: 871 from 2013/5/24
    From: Englistan
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    Quote:

    Intuition wrote:
    Are you able to try it with a Linux distro?


    I don't have one at hand, and I doubt there's a live-CD/DVD for PowerMac G5...




    http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-mate/releases/16.10/release/ubuntu-mate-16.10-desktop-powerpc.iso :)
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »25.04.17 - 23:29
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 1641 from 2003/2/24
    @Jim

    Sure it works, my current setup on the G4 is a 22" Apple ADC on the 9000 and a FullHD on the Voodoo.
    --------------------- May the 4th be with you ------------------
    Mother Russia dance of the Zar, don't you know how lucky you are
  • »26.04.17 - 08:36
    Profile