joystick adapter on powerbook
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    amiga4001
    Posts: 432 from 2006/11/16
    From: The Netherlands
    Goodday,

    I have 2 of these adapters from retro donald.de to connect my old commodore 9 pins joysticks with a usb connection to my powerbook and pegasos2.
    Now I experienced a problem on the powerbook,jumping(upwards) didn't work out as it should.
    Sometimes it works but then it just jumps a bit and you are stuck in the game..
    I opened up usb settings and noticed the data received from the usb adapter wasn't steady.
    It goes very fast from 0 (no action) to 128 (jump).
    So I thought my joystick was bad,tried another same thing.
    I also tried the other usb adapter same..
    I then took a look on the pegasos2 and here it works perfect.
    Could this be a powerproblem with the powerbook?
    Maybe start looking for a powered usb hub?
  • »26.12.16 - 12:53
    Profile
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1584 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Quote:

    amiga4001 wrote:
    I opened up usb settings and noticed the data received from the usb adapter wasn't steady.
    It goes very fast from 0 (no action) to 128 (jump).



    Do you mean that if you keep joystick up without releasing it, the value changes between 0 and 128 itself and doesn't stay steady in 128? Do other directions or buttons work better or do they change too?
  • »27.12.16 - 07:55
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    amiga4001
    Posts: 432 from 2006/11/16
    From: The Netherlands
    Yes indeed the value keeps going from 0 to 128 when joystick is in up.
    But I did a test again and offcourse now it is doing ok.
    Still I think it is a power issue.
    Kind off hard to play turrican if you dont't have a consistent jump!
    How is the quality off that newly build joystick,that big expensive thing?
  • »28.12.16 - 05:19
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    amigadave
    Posts: 2646 from 2006/3/21
    From: Lake Arrowhead...
    Quote:

    amiga4001 wrote:
    Yes indeed the value keeps going from 0 to 128 when joystick is in up.
    But I did a test again and offcourse now it is doing ok.
    Still I think it is a power issue.
    Kind off hard to play turrican if you dont't have a consistent jump!
    How is the quality off that newly build joystick,that big expensive thing?



    I don't own one myself, but have seen them at the AmiWest Shows, and the build quality of the big new joysticks that AmigaKit designed and had built is very good (I think it was Matthew's design, but maybe someone else did it and he is just selling them).

    You may be right about it being a power problem since the PowerBook's have notoriously weak USB ports, but I have not done any gaming on my PowerBook that requires a joystick, so I can't confirm or deny your problem with joysticks, or joystick adapters.
    MorphOS - The best Next Gen Amiga choice.
  • »28.12.16 - 20:07
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 1880 from 2003/3/5
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    amiga4001 wrote:
    Could this be a powerproblem with the powerbook?
    Maybe start looking for a powered usb hub?


    It's either an issue with PB USB not being able to provide the required power (they don't rally do 500mA) or it's some configuration issue on PB that you've fixed on the Pegasos and forgot :)

    One solution for the former problem would be to use a USB cable with a splitter to take more power from another slot. It's a pita the slots are on opposite sides of the laptop though.
  • »29.12.16 - 04:01
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 305 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Was anyone successful in utilizing both joystick ports? What setting should I use in Poseidon? Seems both ports are detected as different devices, but each one is used as (port 1).

    See screenshots:
    3AhuMyEYdMll.png
    3AhupNlg8gRV.png

    No 2-player-sessions with BattleSuqadron or 1941Deluxe for me. :-(
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 7,3. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.12; Gentoo/Void/Adelie Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [AmigaOS 3.2]
  • »30.01.17 - 20:16
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    amiga4001
    Posts: 432 from 2006/11/16
    From: The Netherlands
    Sorry never tried both joyports.
    Now powering extra with a poweradapter is much better now.
  • »31.01.17 - 05:05
    Profile
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1584 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Quote:

    ernsteiswuerfel wrote:
    Was anyone successful in utilizing both joystick ports? What setting should I use in Poseidon? Seems both ports are detected as different devices, but each one is used as (port 1).



    If they show up as separate devices in the main devices list in Poseidon, you probably should get them configured. You just have to configure them to use different ports in both lowlevel library emulation and action settings.

    Maybe this guide helps? http://library.morph.zone/How_to_Use_Game_Controllers

    Edit:
    If they just show up as separate interfaces under a single device, then go to Settings via that Interfaces list under device information, I guess that should work too, although I haven't tried with such devices.

    [ Edited by jPV 31.01.2017 - 08:13 ]
  • »31.01.17 - 05:16
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 305 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Thanks for the hint JPV! Reminds me that I should take time to read the MorphOS Library more thorougly...

    I followed the guide to set the 1st adapter to Port 0 - Merge with USB, Port 1 - Don't touch and the 2nd adapter to Port 0 - Don't touch, Port 1 - Merge with USB. Next I set up the port numbers in the Action Window accordingly. At my first attemp I failed, because I did not realize I had to set the port numbers for X and Y axis separately. ;-) But now it works as supposed with 2 ports.
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 7,3. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.12; Gentoo/Void/Adelie Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [AmigaOS 3.2]
  • »01.02.17 - 22:11
    Profile