bsdsocket support for any uae version?
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    jalla
    Posts: 57 from 2004/10/4
    From: Norway
    I never got the bsdsocket.library feature to work in any versions of MOS-executable uae/e-uae/-sdl/uae4all.
    Is it really supported or just a missing feature? If lacking... is it hard to implement? That would be so cool!!
    It would improve the usability of the emulator and would really include a whole range of networking utilities/apps/programs to make useful once again :)

    -------------------------------------------------------------------
    Pegasos II/7457PPC/1000MHz/ 512MB RAM/Radeon 9200S
    -------------------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------
    Pegasos II/G4/512MB/Radeon9200
    ------------------------------------------------------
  • »30.11.16 - 00:00
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 9963 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Pegasos II/7457PPC

    This should be 7447 :-) Sorry for being no help regarding your question.
  • »30.11.16 - 01:24
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    jalla
    Posts: 57 from 2004/10/4
    From: Norway
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > Pegasos II/7457PPC

    This should be 7447 :-) Sorry for being no help regarding your question.


    --
    Really? But It reads 7457 in my bootscreen too...
    ------------------------------------------------------
    Pegasos II/G4/512MB/Radeon9200
    ------------------------------------------------------
  • »09.03.18 - 22:13
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4695 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Firmware issues?
    Possibly an early revision that may have been used with a 7457 as well?
    Those are very closely related processors.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »10.03.18 - 16:11
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 9963 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Possibly an early revision that may have been used with a 7457 as well?
    > Those are very closely related processors.

    ...but pin-incompatible, so not very likely.
  • »10.03.18 - 18:12
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4695 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Sorry Andreas, again I wasn't specific enough. I meant an early revision of the firmware (not the processor board) that misidentified the processor because it could work with either.
    I'm fairly certain, like you, that all the Peg2 G4 boards were all 7447 based.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »10.03.18 - 20:21
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 9963 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I meant an early revision of the firmware (not the processor board)
    > that misidentified the processor because it could work with either.

    Firmware and OS identify the CPU by reading and interpreting the content of the PVR register. Unfortunately, 744x and 745x (with same value for x), which only differ regarding the (in)ability to connect external L3 cache, have identical PVR register content so can‘t be distinguished this way. That‘s why normally, such CPU is reported as "744x/745x" (with same value for x) by firmware and OS. Theoretically, 744x and 745x could be distinguished by additionally detecting L3 cache, but this wouldn‘t be completely safe because a 745x without connected L3 cache would be misreported as 744x then.
    So I‘m not sure what‘s happening with jalla‘s Pegasos II here, but maybe he is simply misreading "7447/7457" as "7457". Just a guess, as an indication of only "7447" or "7457" would be strange considering the explanation above. Maybe other Pegasos II G4 users can report what their MorphOS bootscreen says.

    > I'm fairly certain, like you, that all the Peg2 G4 boards were all 7447 based.

    ...except the few 7447A-based ones :-)
  • »12.03.18 - 00:17
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Jeckel
    Posts: 120 from 2007/3/11
    We are a bit off-topic I guess :)
    And well... and I don't know either about the topic, never tried to use bsdsocket inside uae...

    CPU command on a Pegasos 2 rev 2B:

    Ram Disk:> cpu
    System: bplan,Pegasos2
    Machine: 0x1
    PageSize: 4096 Bytes
    CPUCount: 1
    CPU0: 7447/7457 (G4) Version 32770 Revision 257
    CPU0: CPUClock 999999990 BusClock 133333333
    [...]
  • »12.03.18 - 09:27
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 9963 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >> such CPU is reported as "744x/745x" (with same value for x) by firmware and OS.
    >> So [...] maybe he is simply misreading "7447/7457" as "7457". Just a guess [...]

    > CPU command on a Pegasos 2 rev 2B: [...]
    > CPU0: 7447/7457 [...]

    Thanks for confirmation.
  • »12.03.18 - 10:51
    Profile