New to me Powermac G5
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Acill
    Posts: 1892 from 2003/10/19
    From: Port Hueneme, Ca.
    I picked up a 2GHZ model G5 for $25 at a yard sale last weekend and finally got everything installed. This thing smokes my Powerbook and my older MDD 1GHZ machines. LOVE IT!

    Just got my keyfile for it and am good to go! Anything I should know about running MorphOS on these?
    AmigaOne X5000 with MorphOS Installed
    Powerbook 1.67GHZ
    Powermac Dual 2.0 GHZ G5 (Registration #1894)
    A4000T CSPPC, Mediator
    AmigaOne X5000
    Need Repairs, upgrades or a recap in the USA? Visit my website at http://www.acill.com
  • »15.09.16 - 17:56
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2008 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Nice buy. Give it some SSD love for an even nicer kick.
  • »15.09.16 - 18:07
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Acill
    Posts: 1892 from 2003/10/19
    From: Port Hueneme, Ca.
    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote:
    Nice buy. Give it some SSD love for an even nicer kick.


    I happen to have a 60GB SSD doing nothing that I cant get working in my A4000T with an Acard. Dang good idea! Glad all I have done is setup the base install.
    AmigaOne X5000 with MorphOS Installed
    Powerbook 1.67GHZ
    Powermac Dual 2.0 GHZ G5 (Registration #1894)
    A4000T CSPPC, Mediator
    AmigaOne X5000
    Need Repairs, upgrades or a recap in the USA? Visit my website at http://www.acill.com
  • »15.09.16 - 18:31
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    TheMagicM
    Posts: 1164 from 2003/6/17
    Geez...how much faster can a G5 with MorphOS get? Is it that much more noticeable with a SSD?
  • »15.09.16 - 21:12
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    koszer
    Posts: 986 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    Acill wrote:
    I happen to have a 60GB SSD doing nothing that I cant get working in my A4000T with an Acard. Dang good idea! Glad all I have done is setup the base install.


    Just to warn you - some (theoreticaly compatibile) newer SATA disks won't work.
  • »15.09.16 - 21:13
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2008 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Quote:

    TheMagicM wrote:
    Geez...how much faster can a G5 with MorphOS get? Is it that much more noticeable with a SSD?


    It helps a lot when I'm compiling the SDK :)
  • »15.09.16 - 21:21
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1724 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    Quote:

    TheMagicM wrote:
    Geez...how much faster can a G5 with MorphOS get? Is it that much more noticeable with a SSD?


    Yes :-)
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »15.09.16 - 22:03
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    Boingmax
    Posts: 13 from 2014/10/3
    SATA3 SSD wont run in the G5... older ones run.
    http://boingsworld.de Podcast "roundabout" Amiga
  • »15.09.16 - 22:37
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1724 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    SATA1 compatible SATA2 SSD's will most probably run.
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »16.09.16 - 11:59
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    amigadave
    Posts: 2702 from 2006/3/21
    From: Lake Arrowhead...
    Quote:

    Acill wrote:
    I picked up a 2GHZ model G5 for $25 at a yard sale last weekend and finally got everything installed. This thing smokes my Powerbook and my older MDD 1GHZ machines. LOVE IT!

    Just got my keyfile for it and am good to go! Anything I should know about running MorphOS on these?


    That is a great buy Paul!

    I assume this is the G5 you were referring to, when you said you would be bringing your G5 PowerMac to AmiWest this year?

    I'm trying to pin down dates for family business today, to confirm that I can attend AmiWest 2016, or if I will be forced to cancel my attendance for this year's show. It is not often that my sister, who lives in New Zealand for the past 20 or so years, comes back home for a visit, so when she does, I cancel all other plans, so I can spend time with her during her visit to the USA.

    I am hoping that I can still do everything I want, without having to give up any events, but traveling to Southern Calif. to see my sister, with my other 3 brothers and sisters, plus driving from Southern Calif. to New Mexico, to visit my father, at the same time my 2 sisters will be there, then driving from New Mexico to Utah to visit my aunt and mother, while still making time to attend AmiWest 2016, all in the month of October, is going to be a tough thing to schedule, without any of them over lapping each other. Taking my 2 dogs with me and finding places where I can stay having them with me, adds another layer of complexity to the long trip, but I don't want to leave them with strangers for that long in a kennel.
    MorphOS - The best Next Gen Amiga choice.
  • »17.09.16 - 00:06
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Acill
    Posts: 1892 from 2003/10/19
    From: Port Hueneme, Ca.
    WOW!!!! I just put in a 60GB SATA III Blaze SSD and it works. Cloned my internal drive and an now up again on this SSD. Its near instant on when you power up. Incredible speed! Love this G5.
    AmigaOne X5000 with MorphOS Installed
    Powerbook 1.67GHZ
    Powermac Dual 2.0 GHZ G5 (Registration #1894)
    A4000T CSPPC, Mediator
    AmigaOne X5000
    Need Repairs, upgrades or a recap in the USA? Visit my website at http://www.acill.com
  • »19.09.16 - 01:24
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1724 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    One thing I really like about MorphOS is that the easiest way to move a system partition to another hard drive is to copy clone it, fix some settings like screen size and then it's done. Try doing that on Windows :-)
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »19.09.16 - 09:45
    Profile Visit Website
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4883 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    Yasu wrote:
    One thing I really like about MorphOS is that the easiest way to move a system partition to another hard drive is to copy clone it, fix some settings like screen size and then it's done. Try doing that on Windows :-)


    That can get a little weird when using Windows.
    But I recently moved a 2.5" hard drive I had in a Lenovo SFF PC into a Lenovo X201 tablet/laptop and Windows 10 managed to find all the drivers it needed to adapt to the change.
    I'd never recommend trying that to anyone else though.

    And with MorphOS, that is such an easier process.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »20.09.16 - 21:15
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 359 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    SSD-wise, is the TRIM command supported in MorphOS? Should be on Linux - but I don't have an SSD in my PM 7,3 to test it out.
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.13 / Void Linux / Gentoo Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [Amiga OS 3.2]
  • »25.09.16 - 06:58
    Profile