Powerbook screen not working
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Posts: 56 from 2016/3/9
    Hi all,

    I recently bought a Powerbook to use for MorphOS. It seems to have worked before shipping but arrived with the screen not working. I don't think the screen is getting power, not that the display card isn't working, the pixels don't seem to be displaying black, I don't think they're getting power if that makes any sense.

    I don't know anything about Apple hardware so I thought I'd ask the geniuses here if you have any suggestions about what I should check. I'm comfortable working with PCs and Amigas but never even looked inside a Powerbook so have no idea where to start.

    Thanks for any help!
  • »24.03.16 - 01:31
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    NewSense
    Posts: 888 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    Which model of Powerbook is it?
    MacMini 1.5GHz,10,2,64MB VRAM,1GB,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x, USB2, MorphOS 3.12, Mac OSX 10.4/10.5, A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.12,Model 5,8/5,9, & PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP)
  • »24.03.16 - 03:59
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Ingo
    Posts: 103 from 2004/3/20
    From: #AmigaZeux
    check out I Fix It if you need to disassemble the PB.
    If you reset the pb a few times, chances are it might work. Fingers crossed :)
  • »24.03.16 - 04:45
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    pan1k
    Posts: 147 from 2009/1/20
    Try to reset SMC. Does it chime when powered on?
    MacMini 1.5Ghz / Amiga 4000T Cyberstorm 060, 132MB RAM, Cybervision 64/3D, XSurf-III, MP3@64, Buddha Flash / Amiga 1200 GVP 030, Subway USB, 32MB RAM
  • »24.03.16 - 04:50
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Posts: 56 from 2016/3/9
    It's Apple Powerbook G4 Aluminum A1138 15" Hi-Res 1.67Ghz 2.0GB 100GB

    Quote:

    NewSense wrote:
    Which model of Powerbook is it?
  • »24.03.16 - 09:39
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1724 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    If it got MacOS installed you can try to plug in an external monitor via DVI and see if that works. If it's MorphOS that function isn't activated by default sadly.
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »24.03.16 - 10:41
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Norbi
    Posts: 92 from 2004/6/19
    Why my iBook with MorphOS works only on an external monitor?
    This function works in the same way as in OSX.

    In bootmenu, key V change resolution to standard VGA 640x480
  • »24.03.16 - 12:07
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    NewSense
    Posts: 888 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    I have used the PowerBookMedic site a few times for parts, and for their PDF repair manuals, and videos to help me understand the insides of my A1138 (well I have a few of this model actually) but I have found the A1138 quite easy to open/and replace parts where necessary, from time to time.

    Here's a link to their site, which I hope is of some use: powerbookmedic in USA

    You'll need a small torx screwdriver and a small Philips screwdriver - sizes explained in the guides/videos - if they are of any use to you. However, you need to be careful, obviously, opening the keyboard/palmrest as that requires all the screws to be removed, and there are 2 in the Memory compartment, and 2 in the battery compartment to remember to remove, as well as all the others that are visible on the outside on the edges, and underneath, and 2 small torx screws on top of the keyboard near the screen hinges.

    It could be that the screen cable has come adrift, if it's been knocked as it only is pushed into the connector slot, and if someone has taken it apart before they may not have slid/pushed the cable in correctly - if you are seeing some screen 'activity' that indicated it was working when you got it. I hope so anyway, as a logic board replacement can cost quite a bit if it's not the screen that's failed.

    Try the suggestion of Yasu as using the 2nd video output may indicate if it's likely to be the screen rather than the logic board. ;-)

    Good luck anyway, in fixing it.
    MacMini 1.5GHz,10,2,64MB VRAM,1GB,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x, USB2, MorphOS 3.12, Mac OSX 10.4/10.5, A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.12,Model 5,8/5,9, & PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP)
  • »26.03.16 - 03:39
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Posts: 56 from 2016/3/9
    Thanks for all of the information!

    MorphOS isn't installed on it yet, just MacOS. I will try the external monitor to try and narrow it down to either the video card or just the cable.

    The Powerbookmedic site looks like it will be very helpful!

    What is the SMC and how do I reset it? Remember that I'm a Mac newbie :)
  • »27.03.16 - 07:05
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    pan1k
    Posts: 147 from 2009/1/20
    Reset SMC:

    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT1431
    MacMini 1.5Ghz / Amiga 4000T Cyberstorm 060, 132MB RAM, Cybervision 64/3D, XSurf-III, MP3@64, Buddha Flash / Amiga 1200 GVP 030, Subway USB, 32MB RAM
  • »27.03.16 - 14:41
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    pan1k
    Posts: 147 from 2009/1/20
    Reset SMC:

    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT1431
    MacMini 1.5Ghz / Amiga 4000T Cyberstorm 060, 132MB RAM, Cybervision 64/3D, XSurf-III, MP3@64, Buddha Flash / Amiga 1200 GVP 030, Subway USB, 32MB RAM
  • »27.03.16 - 14:43
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    NewSense
    Posts: 888 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    SMC (System Management Controller) is really what the Intel based Macs now call what was the . .

    PMU (Power Management Unit) which is what the PPC Apple hardware is called - which is what it was called when the hardware was released.

    All these acronyms will be the D.E.A.T.H. of me (Definitely Eliminating All The Humour) 8-D
    MacMini 1.5GHz,10,2,64MB VRAM,1GB,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x, USB2, MorphOS 3.12, Mac OSX 10.4/10.5, A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.12,Model 5,8/5,9, & PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP)
  • »28.03.16 - 03:12
    Profile