Any recent statements on PCIe based G5 support?
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4700 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    amigadave wrote:
    Quote:

    Jim wrote:
    OK, I can understand the argument in placing priority on the Radeon HD video card drivers.
    We already have a very good R500 driver, but why limit us to the X1950XTX as our best performing video card?


    Is that a "rhetorical" question? Not sure I understand your meaning, in the question posed in that last sentence.


    Sorry, poorly worded, and yes rhetorical.
    Although, I would probably be satisfied with PCIe G5 support, rather than worry about better video cards.
    The majority of prospective X5000 customers probably don't share that view.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »28.02.16 - 20:11
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    marmotta
    Posts: 23 from 2012/6/11
    No any news for G5 PCIE support in the next mos release? (with radeon card)
  • »10.04.16 - 23:44
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4700 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    marmotta wrote:
    No any news for G5 PCIE support in the next mos release? (with radeon card)


    Probably not going to be announced until introduced.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »11.04.16 - 19:45
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1261 from 2003/4/13
    Bump!

    I had the opportunity to buy a sweet G5 Quad 2.5 for a very reasonable price today. I have no interest in the X5000, but I am interested PCIe G5. Every-time I upgrade my MOS machine, I sell one of my registered older ones locally, creating a brand new MOS user.
  • »27.08.18 - 01:09
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    stephen_robinson
    Posts: 742 from 2007/4/22
    I've finally decided I no longer have the space to keep my boxed Quad G5, time has marched on and web browsers for Snow (d'oh!) Leopard are getting more progressively outdated,

    So I'll be selling my Radeon equiped, maxed out Quad 2.5, so knowing my luck, 40 seconds after I sell it they'll be a release of MorphOS for it.

    I'll take one for the team!

    Actually, I can't get over how much the price has collapsed on these things, still I'll still have my dual 2 which does run MorphOS

    [ Edited by stephen_robinson 27.08.2018 - 09:53 ]
  • »27.08.18 - 06:18
    Profile
  • ASiegel
    Posts: 1098 from 2003/2/15
    From: Central Europe
    Quote:

    stephen_robinson wrote:
    I've finally decided I no longer have the space to keep my boxed Quad G5, time has marched on and web browsers for Snow Leopard are getting more progressively outdated,

    In what way? Both leopard-webkit and TenFourFox use fairly recent browser versions.

    (Snow Leopard is for Intel systems only, by the way.)

    Quote:

    Actually, I can't get over how much the price has collapsed on these things, still I'll still have my dual 2 which does run MorphOS

    A quad G5 is a bit of a waste when you only use one core running MorphOS anyway.
  • »27.08.18 - 07:06
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    stephen_robinson
    Posts: 742 from 2007/4/22
    Yeah, but it's DDR2, not DDR1, and it's 2.5 cf 2! that's .5 betters!

    Also I've got a dual 2 and a Quad 2.5 these things are huge and heavy, if MorphOS was available for the Quad 2.5 it would be a non-brainer to get rid of the 2, but it isn't. Unless anyone else knows better?
  • »27.08.18 - 09:07
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 80 from 2017/9/10
    i have a quad g5 and a radeonhd on it ... waiting for mos on the quad here from much much time.
    I hope it will be releasede before Qemu will be more faster than my real quad....
  • »27.08.18 - 11:32
    Profile
  • ASiegel
    Posts: 1098 from 2003/2/15
    From: Central Europe
    Source: morphos-team.net/faq

    Quote:

    We strongly urge you to not buy or otherwise finance any hardware for the purpose of running MorphOS until you have read an announcement on this website that clearly states MorphOS will support it.
  • »27.08.18 - 13:10
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10018 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > A quad G5 is a bit of a waste when you only use one core running MorphOS anyway.

    As MorphOS can disable the 2nd CPU of a PowerMac7,3, I guess this capability could also be implemented for the 2nd CPU of a quad-core PowerMac11,2 (and maybe even for the 2nd core).
  • »27.08.18 - 19:30
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1261 from 2003/4/13
    Quote:

    stephen_robinson wrote:
    Yeah, but it's DDR2, not DDR1, and it's 2.5 cf 2! that's .5 betters!



    It's also PCIe and not AGP.

    I didn't buy the Quad because it doesn't seem like it will ever get supported. It's a shame, I don't care if I have to slap a network card in it and possibly change the video card. I appreciate they are probably worried about the least technical people out there, but stated AS-IS support with no nic driver would seem to be low hanging fruit.
  • »28.08.18 - 04:30
    Profile
  • vox
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    vox
    Posts: 419 from 2003/11/24
    From: Belgrade
    Quote:

    redrumloa wrote:
    I didn't buy the Quad because it doesn't seem like it will ever get supported. It's a shame, I don't care if I have to slap a network card in it and possibly change the video card. I appreciate they are probably worried about the least technical people out there, but stated AS-IS support with no nic driver would seem to be low hanging fruit.


    Since there is a limited G5 class support, and there is a PCI-E gfx support, there is not much PREVETING MOS AGAINST IT (maybe some nVIDIA video driver G5 quad support).

    Full MOS4 support (all 4 cores) would make this "PPC giants" as high end MOS PPC machines. I am sure future MOS4 if ever existed in PPC(PPC64) mode, could be a suitable thing for those big box beasts.

    In fact, there are only PA semi, Full dual/quad G5 and future Tabor to be supported (all dualcores +). It would be a real shame for future MOS4 PPC not to. If butterfly is really to Morph all machines to blue :-)

    I highly doubt x5000/040 will ever see light of the day, and even then that MOS4 will utilize it fully before mythical OS 4.2 from my x1000 manual, ever comes to be in Hyperion download section.

    [ Edited by vox 28.08.2018 - 12:00 ]
    ------------------------------------------
    x1000 user, ASAP Vampire Standalone user, future MOS user
  • »28.08.18 - 09:15
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 1814 from 2003/2/24
    Performance gains outside of FPS wankfests would be marginal, maybe even negative when comparing the 2x2.7Ghz to the 2.5 Quad and AGP G5 aren't that hard to come by.

    If MorphOS goes SMP on PPC before going x64 those G5s and the X5000 (and even some G4) would be more then enough for testing. Once that move has been made (and binary compatibility gone for good) there is no point in sticking with the sinking ship that is PPC.

    -> waste of resources for little to no gain
    --------------------- May the 4th be with you ------------------
    Mother Russia dance of the Zar, don't you know how lucky you are
  • »28.08.18 - 10:34
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10018 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > there are only PA semi, Full dual/quad G5 and future Tabor to be supported
    > (all dualcores +).

    At least in theory, there're also the Talos II and the future PPC notebook (both at least quad-core).
  • »28.08.18 - 11:36
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 80 from 2017/9/10
    I dont know guys but my fps perfromaces on g5 quad is on pubblic domain if i run quake, quake2 and quake 3 in comparison with some other new macs



    Video
  • »29.08.18 - 13:19
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    KennyR
    Posts: 421 from 2003/3/4
    From: #AmigaZeux, Gu...
    The endless cycle.

    1) Demand ports of x to y.

    2) Believe it's not going to happen after months waiting and buy z in the meantime.

    3) Port of x to y is finally completed.

    4) Ignore x on y and demand port of x to z instead.
  • »29.08.18 - 13:50
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    zukow
    Posts: 484 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    Good thing that except Powermac g5 PCIe, there is no decent machines to make a port (*).


    (*) except Sonnet and others in Mediator :D

    [ Edited by zukow 29.08.2018 - 16:21 ]
  • »29.08.18 - 14:21
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10018 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > except Powermac g5 PCIe, there is no decent machines to make a port

    See comment #64 ;-)
  • »29.08.18 - 16:27
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1261 from 2003/4/13
    Quote:

    KennyR wrote:
    The endless cycle.

    1) Demand ports of x to y.

    2) Believe it's not going to happen after months waiting and buy z in the meantime.

    3) Port of x to y is finally completed.

    4) Ignore x on y and demand port of x to z instead.


    Bzzt! Wrong! Speak for yourself with a Pesgasos I!

    I bought a Peg1 when it came out, eventually selling.
    I bought G4 machines when support was added, eventually selling.
    I bought G5 AGP machines when support was added.

    See a pattern? I currently have TWO registered G5 AGP machines. If G5 PCIe support was added, I'd buy at least one and register it, then sell one of my AGP G5 creating a new user.

    I'm not a developer, I'm a user. I can only vote with my wallet.
  • »29.08.18 - 18:26
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4700 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    redrumloa wrote:
    Quote:

    KennyR wrote:
    The endless cycle.

    1) Demand ports of x to y.

    2) Believe it's not going to happen after months waiting and buy z in the meantime.

    3) Port of x to y is finally completed.

    4) Ignore x on y and demand port of x to z instead.


    Bzzt! Wrong! Speak for yourself with a Pesgasos I!

    I bought a Peg1 when it came out, eventually selling.
    I bought G4 machines when support was added, eventually selling.
    I bought G5 AGP machines when support was added.

    See a pattern? I currently have TWO registered G5 AGP machines. If G5 PCIe support was added, I'd buy at least one and register it, then sell one of my AGP G5 creating a new user.

    I'm not a developer, I'm a user. I can only vote with my wallet.


    +1 Damned skippy, Jim.

    I'd register mine immediately.

    And Andreas, quote #64, also spot on.

    The fact that there IS somewhere to go is a nice surprise.

    [ Edited by Jim 07.09.2018 - 13:26 ]
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »07.09.18 - 17:24
    Profile