Any recent statements on PCIe based G5 support?
  • MorphOS Developer
    bigfoot
    Posts: 304 from 2003/4/11
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:

    What about display of OpenFirmware prompt and graphical boot menu?


    Obviously you don't get that.
    I rarely log in to MorphZone which means that I often miss private messages sent on here. If you wish to contact me, please email me at [username]@asgaard.morphos-team.net, where [username] is my username here on MorphZone.
  • »21.01.16 - 07:14
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10018 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >> What about display of OpenFirmware prompt and graphical boot menu?

    > Obviously you don't get that.

    Thanks. I was just puzzled by your notion about it being "completely pointless" :-)
  • »21.01.16 - 07:39
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    bigfoot
    Posts: 304 from 2003/4/11
    Well then, to make it clear to anyone who might be wondering about the boot menu question... You don't need a boot menu to run MorphOS on a PCIE G5 machine with an R500 graphics card with its original (x86) flash. Thus modifying the flash on an R500 graphics card would be pointless for running MorphOS.
    I rarely log in to MorphZone which means that I often miss private messages sent on here. If you wish to contact me, please email me at [username]@asgaard.morphos-team.net, where [username] is my username here on MorphZone.
  • »21.01.16 - 08:59
    Profile Visit Website
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4700 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    bigfoot wrote:
    Well then, to make it clear to anyone who might be wondering about the boot menu question... You don't need a boot menu to run MorphOS on a PCIE G5 machine with an R500 graphics card with its original (x86) flash. Thus modifying the flash on an R500 graphics card would be pointless for running MorphOS.


    AND the Apple X1900GT is available which gives us an R500 based card capable of displaying Open firmware prompts.
    I have one, but would probably use a PC X1950XTX instead.

    If you want more power than the X1900GT you have to give up easy access to Open firmware, so I'll keep the X1900GT as a backup if I need to do that, and move up the ladder as our remarkable developers improve the drivers for the HD Radeon cards.

    [ Edited by Jim 21.01.2016 - 10:08 ]
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »21.01.16 - 12:24
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4700 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Oh, and a quick note, I have not found Mac Radeons to be hard to find at all.
    9600 cards are everywhere at really low prices, 9800 cards are over priced but available, X800XT cards can often be had at better prices than the 9800s, and X1900GT cards can be had for about $100.

    [ Edited by Jim 29.01.2016 - 13:25 ]
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »21.01.16 - 14:17
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    marmotta
    Posts: 23 from 2012/6/11
    The simples solution is not dual video card? Original Apple card for OpenFirmware and Osx, and another card (normal RadeonHD pc card) for Morphos. With two monitors or switch.

    P.s. second video card is also good for linux ;-)

    [ Edited by marmotta 02.02.2016 - 10:32 ]
  • »02.02.16 - 08:30
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4700 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    marmotta wrote:
    The simples solution is not dual video card? Original Apple card for OpenFirmware and Osx, and another card (normal RadeonHD pc card) for Morphos. With two monitors or switch.

    P.s. second video card is also good for linux ;-)


    That would depend on how MorphOS initiates video cards, as MorphOS can only use one Radeon card.
    If the card you want to run OSX or Linux with initializes before the card you want to run MorphOS on, your solution won't work.

    I have a PCIe riser with a molex power plug that I may modify for this use.
    Add a switch to turn off the power, no card is seen and the OS will boot off the PC card.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »02.02.16 - 15:48
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    marmotta
    Posts: 23 from 2012/6/11
    Quote:

    Jim wrote:
    Quote:

    marmotta wrote:
    The simples solution is not dual video card? Original Apple card for OpenFirmware and Osx, and another card (normal RadeonHD pc card) for Morphos. With two monitors or switch.

    P.s. second video card is also good for linux ;-)


    That would depend on how MorphOS initiates video cards, as MorphOS can only use one Radeon card.
    If the card you want to run OSX or Linux with initializes before the card you want to run MorphOS on, your solution won't work.

    I have a PCIe riser with a molex power plug that I may modify for this use.
    Add a switch to turn off the power, no card is seen and the OS will boot off the PC card.




    You can swap the radeonhd on pcie 16x and original Apple Nvidia on 8x, linux go without problems with RadeonHD.

    Look this tread:

    Ubuntu Forum

    Edit: the best for compatibility is use RadeonHd on 8x pcie

    [ Edited by marmotta 02.02.2016 - 18:36 ]
  • »02.02.16 - 16:24
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    zukow
    Posts: 484 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    Photo of PowerMac G5 PCie from the AmiParty in Chelm/Poland :)

    Photos from meeting

    (pmac g5 with blue competition pro joystick)

    [ Edited by zukow 25.02.2016 - 09:49 ]
  • »24.02.16 - 17:59
    Profile Visit Website
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4700 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    marmotta wrote:
    Quote:

    Jim wrote:
    Quote:

    marmotta wrote:
    The simples solution is not dual video card? Original Apple card for OpenFirmware and Osx, and another card (normal RadeonHD pc card) for Morphos. With two monitors or switch.

    P.s. second video card is also good for linux ;-)


    That would depend on how MorphOS initiates video cards, as MorphOS can only use one Radeon card.
    If the card you want to run OSX or Linux with initializes before the card you want to run MorphOS on, your solution won't work.

    I have a PCIe riser with a molex power plug that I may modify for this use.
    Add a switch to turn off the power, no card is seen and the OS will boot off the PC card.




    You can swap the radeonhd on pcie 16x and original Apple Nvidia on 8x, linux go without problems with RadeonHD.

    Look this tread:

    Ubuntu Forum

    Edit: the best for compatibility is use RadeonHd on 8x pcie


    That would work, Radeon PC card for MorphOS and Nvidia Apple card for OSX.
    If you connected both to the same monitor you could probably limit your system to one display without using a VGA or DVI switch.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »24.02.16 - 18:54
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10018 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Photo of PowerMac G5 PCie from the AmiParty in Chelm/Poland :)
    > [...]

    Splendid :-)

    (original resolution)
  • »24.02.16 - 19:24
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4700 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > Photo of PowerMac G5 PCie from the AmiParty in Chelm/Poland :)
    > [...]

    Splendid :-)

    (original resolution)


    Now that is a good photo (at least the resolution is pretty damned good).
    But I can't pinpoint anything that would ID the system the OS is running on.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »24.02.16 - 21:33
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    connor
    Posts: 502 from 2007/7/29
    TRy right mouse key and download picture as file.
  • »25.02.16 - 14:55
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Drako^lM
    Posts: 132 from 2005/8/10
    From: Poland , Chelm
    Quote:

    Jim wrote:
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > Photo of PowerMac G5 PCie from the AmiParty in Chelm/Poland :)
    > [...]

    Splendid :-)

    (original resolution)


    Now that is a good photo (at least the resolution is pretty damned good).
    But I can't pinpoint anything that would ID the system the OS is running on.


    Yes I can confirm that we have it on AmiParty.
    Rzookol show it . And system run nice and very fast .
    Hardware :
    Power Mac G5 2.3 Ghz & MorphOS 3.x & OSX 10.5
    Mini G4 1.5 Ghz & MorphOS 3.x
    BlaBla Team Member -> http://blabla.ppa.pl
    AmiParty Team Member - http://www.chal.pl/
  • »25.02.16 - 18:09
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    zukow
    Posts: 484 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    ok, it seems that there was only one lame photo of my pmac g5 on this meeting so:

    g5pcie.png

    BTW. G5 PCIe port is highly experimental and for 99% won't be available in MorphOS 3.10 (3.11, 3.12, ...) because more important things have higher priority.
  • »25.02.16 - 18:55
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    marmotta
    Posts: 23 from 2012/6/11
    Quote:

    zukow wrote:
    ok, it seems that there was only one lame photo of my pmac g5 on this meeting so:

    g5pcie.png

    BTW. G5 PCIe port is highly experimental and for 99% won't be available in MorphOS 3.10 (3.11, 3.12, ...) because more important things have higher priority.


    It is a shame :-(
  • »26.02.16 - 07:52
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4700 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    zukow wrote:
    ok, it seems that there was only one lame photo of my pmac g5 on this meeting so:

    g5pcie.png

    BTW. G5 PCIe port is highly experimental and for 99% won't be available in MorphOS 3.10 (3.11, 3.12, ...) because more important things have higher priority.


    OK, that definitely IS a PCIe G5.
    But what things would have higher priority?
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »26.02.16 - 23:47
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    amigadave
    Posts: 2515 from 2006/3/21
    From: Lake Arrowhead...
    Quote:

    Jim wrote:
    OK, that definitely IS a PCIe G5.
    But what things would have higher priority?


    Probably polishing up the work done to make MorphOS boot on the X5000 and/or 3D support for some of the RadeonHD video cards.

    If not those two reasons, then perhaps they are closer to having an x64 release and want to complete a first version of that, instead of spending more time on the last unsupported G5 PowerMac models.

    Unless I missed some news recently, the video card support for RadeonHD to be used in the X5000 is/was not up to the usual release standards of the MorphOS Dev. Team, so it would make sense to me that they improve that area with a higher priority than supporting the PCIe G5 PowerMac models.
    MorphOS - The best Next Gen Amiga choice.
  • »27.02.16 - 00:32
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4700 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    OK, I can understand the argument in placing priority on the Radeon HD video card drivers.
    We already have a very good R500 driver, but why limit us to the X1950XTX as our best performing video card?
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »28.02.16 - 15:49
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    marmotta
    Posts: 23 from 2012/6/11
    I think the projects is related, x5000 (pcie) and radeonhd is the same goal for G5 pcie work.
  • »28.02.16 - 18:24
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1723 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    Well, it can be like with the iMac G5 port not happening: some crucial parts are not working properly and thus the port is on ice. Until the Team says that a PowerMac 11.2 port is on it's way it might as well not exist at all for all we care.
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »28.02.16 - 19:38
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    amigadave
    Posts: 2515 from 2006/3/21
    From: Lake Arrowhead...
    Quote:

    Jim wrote:
    OK, I can understand the argument in placing priority on the Radeon HD video card drivers.
    We already have a very good R500 driver, but why limit us to the X1950XTX as our best performing video card?


    Is that a "rhetorical" question? Not sure I understand your meaning, in the question posed in that last sentence.
    MorphOS - The best Next Gen Amiga choice.
  • »28.02.16 - 20:01
    Profile