MorphOS 3.8, First Impressions, pros, cons, bugs
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Cool_amigaN
    Posts: 550 from 2011/11/30
    Is tinygl binded on the Radeon drivers (mos/devs/monitors) or it is located somewhere else? If yes, where?
    Amiga gaming Tribute: Watch, rate, comment :)
  • »16.05.15 - 09:27
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10839 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >> the screen update on window dragging is seriously slow - and I mean slow.
    >> I have a Radeon HD RV730 PCI-e card installed.

    > Just screen dragging?

    Isn't it supposed to be slow with his Radeon HD46x0 because of missing 2D acceleration on Radeon HD cards?
  • »16.05.15 - 09:31
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10839 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Is tinygl binded on the Radeon drivers (mos/devs/monitors) or it is located
    > somewhere else? If yes, where?

    MOSSYS:Libs/TinyGL/
  • »16.05.15 - 09:33
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    bigfoot
    Posts: 326 from 2003/4/11
    Quote:

    Epsilon wrote:
    Hi All,

    I am trying to install Morphos 3.8 on my sam460cr, alongside amigos4.1 final edition.


    It's currently not possible to dual boot unless you use two different hard disks. This is partially due to the way the firmware on the Sam460 is designed.
    I rarely log in to MorphZone which means that I often miss private messages sent on here. If you wish to contact me, please email me at [username]@asgaard.morphos-team.net, where [username] is my username here on MorphZone.
  • »16.05.15 - 09:35
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    bigfoot
    Posts: 326 from 2003/4/11
    Quote:

    Epsilon wrote:
    As an update - I also took a new hd and installed MorphOS 3.8 on the sam460 without amigos4.1 hard disk installed. This worked ok, however after booting into MorphOS the screen update on window dragging is seriously slow - and I mean slow.

    I have a Radeon HD RV730 PCI-e card installed.


    As mentioned in the readme, those cards are only supported as a framebuffer for the time being. This means no acceleration of any kind. You'll need a (properly) supported graphics card if you want 2D, 3D, overlay, etc. On the Sam460 this currently means a Radeon in the X1000 series.

    Quote:

    Also, there is no sound support for the envy24 ht pci-e sound card installed on the sam460cr (Acube sells this with the system along with the SATA 3114 PCI card).


    I believe there is a third party driver for such cards that might work for you. However, no one has tested that yet as far as I know, so please report back if it works. You'll probably also need to install OpenPCI.
    I rarely log in to MorphZone which means that I often miss private messages sent on here. If you wish to contact me, please email me at [username]@asgaard.morphos-team.net, where [username] is my username here on MorphZone.
  • »16.05.15 - 09:44
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    itix
    Posts: 1516 from 2003/2/24
    From: Finland
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    >> the screen update on window dragging is seriously slow - and I mean slow.
    >> I have a Radeon HD RV730 PCI-e card installed.

    > Just screen dragging?

    Isn't it supposed to be slow with his Radeon HD46x0 because of missing 2D acceleration on Radeon HD cards?


    Right. I did not read carefully enough.
    1 + 1 = 3 with very large values of 1
  • »16.05.15 - 09:56
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    emeck
    Posts: 104 from 2014/7/15
    Thanks guys, great job!

    Keys for volume and brightness work now with my PowerBook 5.2.

    Only problem I've found so far is with Nowined, which gives the following error with MOS version:

    ----
    Cannot open muimaster.library of version 20 or better.
    Please install MUI4..
    ----


    OS3 version works fine though. Sent a report to the authorr also.
    PowerBook 5.2 MorphOS 3.12
    PowerBook 5.8 MorphOS 3.12
    Amiga 1200 BPPC/BVision AOS4.1 FE
  • »16.05.15 - 10:41
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    diezi7
    Posts: 167 from 2005/7/26
    From: Madrid
    Quote:


    ----
    Cannot open muimaster.library of version 20 or better.
    Please install MUI4..
    ----


    OS3 version works fine though. Sent a report to the authorr also.


    Same occurs on my setup.

    "bumped to V21, muimaster.library is not compatible to any pre MorphOS 3.8 boot.img files anymore !"

    Thanks for this new version to MorphOS Development Team.
    PowerMac G4 MDD 1,25 dual (Registered)
    Pegasos II G4 (not working)
    Powerbook G4 1.0 15"
    -=_=_=_=_=_=_=_=_=_=_=_=_=_=_=_=_=_=_=
    http://amigalandia.blogspot.com.es/
  • »16.05.15 - 13:06
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    boot_wb
    Posts: 874 from 2007/4/9
    From: Kingston upon ...
    First impressions:

    Impressed to see Synergy Server, so tried that first. Loved the UI, a nice surprise to be able to drag the 'server' monitor around, but the interface invited trying it.

    Disappointed to find that SMBFS still didn't support my NAS... until I realised it was using NFS (doh!).

    So far so good, although I do find that the Powerbook 5,8 fails to boot quite often compared to the 5,6 (unrelated to MorphOS version, the same frequency with 3.7 and 3.8 from a small sample of testing over the last week or so). Memtest extensive reports all is well, and once its running the PB is rock steady.

    Impressive changelist, I feel I've barely scratched the surface yet.

    @Fab

    Congratulations! :-)

    [ Edited by boot_wb 16.05.2015 - 13:27 ]
    www.hullchimneyservices.co.uk

    UI: Powerbook 5,6 (1.67GHz, 128MB VRam): OS3.1, OSX 10.5.8
    HTPC: Mac Mini G4 (1,5GHz, 64MB VRam): OS3.1 (ZVNC)
    Audiophile: Efika 5200b (SB Audigy): OS3.1 (VNC + Virtual Monitor)

    Windows free since 2011!
  • »16.05.15 - 14:26
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    TheMagicM
    Posts: 1164 from 2003/6/17
    I havent tested much..but on my 2.0 G5, it installed fine, OWB is the correct version. Fixing to test out Samba.
  • »16.05.15 - 14:54
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Raf_MegaByte
    Posts: 430 from 2004/10/10
    From: Nella grande r...
    OHHH! I never saw Password and Multiple Users preferences active...This a real new feature for me... :-)
    Bill Gates "Think!", Steve Jobs: "Think different!" So... Let these guy continue blabbering thinking and enjoy computing! We are on Amiga!
  • »16.05.15 - 18:01
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    boot_wb
    Posts: 874 from 2007/4/9
    From: Kingston upon ...
    Hmmm... Odd function key bug?

    Powerbook 5,8 running MorphOS 3,8. set to British keyboard.

    Fx keys (F1, F2, etc) operate as if the Fn key was held, toggling to normal use when the Fn key is actually held.

    Symptoms: F5 doesn't refresh page on Odyssey, but does adjust volume slider*. Fn + F5 refreshes page on Odyssey.
    (* F5 doubles as 'increase volume' key on Powerbook.)

    Other Fx keys are similarly transposed, reverting to normal when Fn is held.

    Numerical keypad keys (u,i,o,j,k,l) operate as normal, (ie they return numbers when Fn is held, and operate as normal letters when the Fn key is not held) so it's not as simple as 'Fn is toggled to on.'

    Can anyone else confirm this?

    This has survived rebooting.
    www.hullchimneyservices.co.uk

    UI: Powerbook 5,6 (1.67GHz, 128MB VRam): OS3.1, OSX 10.5.8
    HTPC: Mac Mini G4 (1,5GHz, 64MB VRam): OS3.1 (ZVNC)
    Audiophile: Efika 5200b (SB Audigy): OS3.1 (VNC + Virtual Monitor)

    Windows free since 2011!
  • »16.05.15 - 18:12
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    boot_wb
    Posts: 874 from 2007/4/9
    From: Kingston upon ...
    Quote:

    stephen_robinson wrote:
    Not tested this extensively, but on the powerbook (1.67Ghz 15") dropping the temperature that the active cooling starts at to 30C, then watching the CPU title bar going above this and the fan dosn't kick in, As I say, I've not fully tested that one.(


    If you drop both sliders down to 30, you'll hear it. :-)

    Presumably teh left slider is the temperature at which the fan kicks in at its lowest speed, and the right hand slider the temperature at which the fan reaches maximum speed.

    Good to see user feedback being taken on board and fulfilled so quickly.
    www.hullchimneyservices.co.uk

    UI: Powerbook 5,6 (1.67GHz, 128MB VRam): OS3.1, OSX 10.5.8
    HTPC: Mac Mini G4 (1,5GHz, 64MB VRam): OS3.1 (ZVNC)
    Audiophile: Efika 5200b (SB Audigy): OS3.1 (VNC + Virtual Monitor)

    Windows free since 2011!
  • »16.05.15 - 18:21
    Profile Visit Website
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1621 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Quote:

    boot_wb wrote:

    Fx keys (F1, F2, etc) operate as if the Fn key was held, toggling to normal use when the Fn key is actually held.



    Did this change in the upgrade or first time trying? What do you have in the Laptop preferences in "Settings -> Press and hold the fn key to modify screen brightness, audio volume, etc."?

    On the fresh installation that setting is disabled, IIRC. It imitates how OSX works on the same hardware. So, if that is disabled, enable it and you get the "normal" (non-macish) behaviour :)
  • »16.05.15 - 18:31
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    boot_wb
    Posts: 874 from 2007/4/9
    From: Kingston upon ...
    Quote:

    jPV wrote:
    Quote:

    boot_wb wrote:

    Fx keys (F1, F2, etc) operate as if the Fn key was held, toggling to normal use when the Fn key is actually held.



    Did this change in the upgrade or first time trying? What do you have in the Laptop preferences in "Settings -> Press and hold the fn key to modify screen brightness, audio volume, etc."?

    On the fresh installation that setting is disabled, IIRC. It imitates how OSX works on the same hardware. So, if that is disabled, enable it and you get the "normal" (non-macish) behaviour :)



    Thanks for that: new Powerbook, fresh installation, totally forgot about that setting. :-)
    www.hullchimneyservices.co.uk

    UI: Powerbook 5,6 (1.67GHz, 128MB VRam): OS3.1, OSX 10.5.8
    HTPC: Mac Mini G4 (1,5GHz, 64MB VRam): OS3.1 (ZVNC)
    Audiophile: Efika 5200b (SB Audigy): OS3.1 (VNC + Virtual Monitor)

    Windows free since 2011!
  • »16.05.15 - 18:40
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    webba
    Posts: 3 from 2014/9/26
    Hi all,

    thank you for all involved personel for the update :)

    Just downloaded my copy of the 3.8 ISO. Burned in MorphOs with G5 internal drive, did it quickly but that CD did not really work in any drive. So reloaded image and burned the iso with Nero in my trusty old XP box as slow (16x) as possible now this one works on all machines.

    But my G5 gets into infinite reboot loop with the CD. Ambient screen comes up then reboots. Does that again and again untill remove the cd or turn of the machine.
    Tried a few times from the beginning, no luck. It runs the 3.7 just fine.
    So dug up the old Powerpook G4 that booted and installed the same Cd just fine, now working 3.8 on that machine.

    Any ideas what to try with the G5 machine to get to installation, as all the earlier versions have worked so well.
  • »16.05.15 - 19:14
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    webba
    Posts: 3 from 2014/9/26
    Well,

    I solved my problem. Just copied the boot.img to the boot partition from the iso rebooted (hoped for the best) and it worked. It loaded 3.8 image and old 3.7 from hd. Then just mounted the 3.8 and ran installer wizard and that installed quickly.

    So now I seem to have 3.8 succesfully installed.
    Have to do some testing. Seems to run ok.
  • »16.05.15 - 21:24
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Zylesea
    Posts: 1944 from 2003/6/4
    Albeit I don't see according changes at the readme it seems to that WLAN (Atheros) connection is more stable now.
    --
    http://www.via-altera.de

    Whenever you're sad just remember the world is 4.543 billion years old and you somehow managed to exist at the same time as David Bowie.
    ...and Matthias , my friend - RIP
  • »16.05.15 - 21:57
    Profile Visit Website
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Lord76
    Posts: 56 from 2014/8/31
    From: A1k.org -=Lord=-
    Quote:

    webba schrieb:
    Well,

    I solved my problem. Just copied the boot.img to the boot partition from the iso rebooted (hoped for the best) and it worked. It loaded 3.8 image and old 3.7 from hd. Then just mounted the 3.8 and ran installer wizard and that installed quickly.

    So now I seem to have 3.8 succesfully installed.
    Have to do some testing. Seems to run ok.



    I have the same Problem on my Powerbook G4 A1138 and on G5 -A1047, Bootloop every Time!
    Copy boot.img to Boot Partition solves this Problem. Thank You
    A4D-CSPPC-Mediator OS4.1FE
    Peg2 OS41FE
    PowerMac G5 7.3 - 2.3ghz A1047 MorphOS
  • »17.05.15 - 01:18
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    ShInKurO
    Posts: 36 from 2008/5/30
    Hi all!
    Question: my latest update on pb 17" is mos 3.1, can I update from 3.1 to 3.8 without update first from 3.1->3.2....->3.8?

    Thanks in advance!

    ShInKurO

    [ Edited by ShInKurO 17.05.2015 - 09:16 ]
  • »17.05.15 - 09:16
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Drako^lM
    Posts: 132 from 2005/8/10
    From: Poland , Chelm
    Yes
    Hardware :
    Power Mac G5 2.3 Ghz & MorphOS 3.x & OSX 10.5
    Mini G4 1.5 Ghz & MorphOS 3.x
    BlaBla Team Member -> http://blabla.ppa.pl
    AmiParty Team Member - http://www.chal.pl/
  • »17.05.15 - 09:40
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    pegasos-sigi2
    Posts: 264 from 2006/8/31
    Conts: VPDF

    Why include Michal Wozniak no Links in VPDF ? PDF's are interactive.
    Why can't VPDF encrypted PDF's open ?

    I take a look into the source of VPDF and there these things are existing.
    Why did't take Michal Wozniak these tings into the GUI ?
    Spreedy - The spreedsheet editor of MorphOS
    Calimero - Do you know about the new DTP Program for MorphOS ?
  • »17.05.15 - 11:40
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Crumb
    Posts: 703 from 2003/2/24
    From: aGaS & CUAZ Al...
    Quote:

    Fab wrote:
    My time got rather limited in the last months, since my son is born :)



    Congratulations Fab, mine was born on march the 7th and together with work and studying makes hard to have time for anything. It's impressive you can contribute to MorphOS and OWB, so thank you a lot :-)
  • »17.05.15 - 11:58
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Raf_MegaByte
    Posts: 430 from 2004/10/10
    From: Nella grande r...
    Ohooo! Congratulations to you Crumb too... ^_^ :-)
    Bill Gates "Think!", Steve Jobs: "Think different!" So... Let these guy continue blabbering thinking and enjoy computing! We are on Amiga!
  • »17.05.15 - 12:06
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    takemehomegrandma
    Posts: 2627 from 2003/2/24
    After reading about all kinds of weird problems and troubles with this release, I think I'm going to wait for the 3.9 bugfix release...
    MorphOS is Amiga done right! :-)
    MorphOS NG will be AROS done right! :-)
  • »17.05.15 - 12:58
    Profile