PPCJITBETA04 Relased
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1423 from 2003/4/13
    See here

    Quote:

    G5 again
    Thanks to Tobias Netzel, the flag extraction on G5 is fixed, this will resolve a number of problems with various programs.

    The compiling for G5 is still not resolved for MorphOS, no G5-optimized binary again, sorry guys. If you could tell me how can I (easily) compile the files for G5 on my iBook then I give it a go, I promise.


    My G5 weeps a little. Can anyone help the man?
  • »24.07.14 - 17:20
    Profile
  • Fab
  • MorphOS Developer
    Fab
    Posts: 1331 from 2003/6/16
    Quote:

    redrumloa wrote:
    See here

    Quote:

    G5 again
    Thanks to Tobias Netzel, the flag extraction on G5 is fixed, this will resolve a number of problems with various programs.

    The compiling for G5 is still not resolved for MorphOS, no G5-optimized binary again, sorry guys. If you could tell me how can I (easily) compile the files for G5 on my iBook then I give it a go, I promise.


    My G5 weeps a little. Can anyone help the man?


    There's no easy way to compile for G5, but it's not that hard either: one just have to assemble with ppc-elf-as on linux for the files containing G5 instructions. I've done it for the 3 previous betas. The previous beta3 with G5 support is available here: http://fabportnawak.free.fr/uae/E-UAE_0.8.29-PPCJITBETA03_MorphOS.lha
    And even if you don't have a G5, i strongly suggest you use this build instead, since it gives a better performance in all cases.

    I'll give a try on beta4 ASAP, and i'll release in the same place.





    [ Edited by Fab 24.07.2014 - 14:47 ]
  • »24.07.14 - 17:45
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11551 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I'll give a try on beta4 ASAP, and i'll release in the same place.

    Preserving continuity:

    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=10174&forum=9
  • »04.08.14 - 08:07
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    magnetic
    Posts: 2129 from 2003/3/1
    From: Los Angeles
    Fab
    Are there any plans for a built in UAE into ambient like OS4 with RuninUAE?
    Pegasos 2 Rev 2B3 w/ Freescale 7447 "G4" @ 1ghz / 1gb Nanya Ram
    Quad Boot: MorphOS 2.7 | Amiga OS4.1 U4 | Ubuntu PPC GNU/Linux | OS X 10.4
  • »04.08.14 - 20:25
    Profile Visit Website
  • Fab
  • MorphOS Developer
    Fab
    Posts: 1331 from 2003/6/16
    Quote:

    magnetic wrote:
    Fab
    Are there any plans for a built in UAE into ambient like OS4 with RuninUAE?


    It already exists with the supplied scripts/mimetypes for many years. You can either start adf games with a simple double click or run a given 68k binary inside a UAE instance (reusing already running UAE instance).
  • »04.08.14 - 21:43
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    magnetic
    Posts: 2129 from 2003/3/1
    From: Los Angeles
    Fab

    Ok cool. I'll try the latest release. The only thing that would make the os4 version better in my case is built in support for my Catweasel board.
    Pegasos 2 Rev 2B3 w/ Freescale 7447 "G4" @ 1ghz / 1gb Nanya Ram
    Quad Boot: MorphOS 2.7 | Amiga OS4.1 U4 | Ubuntu PPC GNU/Linux | OS X 10.4
  • »05.08.14 - 02:25
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    klesterjr
    Posts: 196 from 2005/4/1
    Quote:

    magnetic wrote:
    Fab
    Are there any plans for a built in UAE into ambient like OS4 with RuninUAE?


    RuninUAE is not part of OS4 -- it's a third party contribution (same as Fab's scripts).
  • »05.08.14 - 04:27
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11551 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > RuninUAE is not part of OS4 -- it's a third party contribution (same as Fab's scripts).

    RunInUAE is distributed with OS4. Fab's scripts for E-UAE (as well as E-UAE itself) are not distributed with MorphOS.
  • »05.08.14 - 16:25
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    klesterjr
    Posts: 196 from 2005/4/1
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > RuninUAE is not part of OS4 -- it's a third party contribution (same as Fab's scripts).

    RunInUAE is distributed with OS4. Fab's scripts for E-UAE (as well as E-UAE itself) are not distributed with MorphOS.


    I'm aware of that. It doesn't invalidate what I said. RuninUAE is not part of OS4 -- it's a third party contribution. Lots of things are included on the OS4 CD.

    To be clear, I think RuninUAE is a very cool script and is much simpler to set up than Fab's scripts -- it's just not "built-in".
  • »05.08.14 - 18:44
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11551 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >>> RuninUAE is not part of OS4 -- it's a third party contribution (same as Fab's scripts).

    >> RunInUAE is distributed with OS4. Fab's scripts for E-UAE (as well as E-UAE itself)
    >> are not distributed with MorphOS.

    > It doesn't invalidate what I said.

    I think it does invalidate what you said in the brackets, because Fab's scripts don't count as contribution to MorphOS the way RunInUAE does to OS4. The contributions directory on the MorphOS ISO contains no more than IceFS and r.

    > I think RuninUAE is a very cool script

    It's no script at all. RunInUAE is written in PortableE, which is a compiled language based on AmigaE using GCC as the compiler by translating AmigaE code into C++.
  • »05.08.14 - 21:51
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    klesterjr
    Posts: 196 from 2005/4/1
    @Andreas_Wolf

    Apparently, I offended you, which was not my intention (sorry about that). I didn't mean to denegrate ChrisH or OS4 in general.

    Whatever RuninUAE is, it's very cool. I didn't choose to install it, because I'm into emulating "complete systems" rather than individual games, etc. -- but for those that want to run old games, demos, etc. it is very useful (and probably SHOULD be part of the system).

    I also haven't used Fab's scripts either (or whatever they are). Again, not where my interests reside.
  • »05.08.14 - 22:31
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    magnetic
    Posts: 2129 from 2003/3/1
    From: Los Angeles
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > RuninUAE is not part of OS4 -- it's a third party contribution (same as Fab's scripts).

    RunInUAE is distributed with OS4. Fab's scripts for E-UAE (as well as E-UAE itself) are not distributed with MorphOS.


    Im pretty confused here. So do i have to hunt down Fab's script, is it included in the latest uae archive or is it somewhere on morphos cd?
    Pegasos 2 Rev 2B3 w/ Freescale 7447 "G4" @ 1ghz / 1gb Nanya Ram
    Quad Boot: MorphOS 2.7 | Amiga OS4.1 U4 | Ubuntu PPC GNU/Linux | OS X 10.4
  • »06.08.14 - 02:02
    Profile Visit Website
  • Moderator
    Develin
    Posts: 100 from 2003/4/19
    From: Karlstad, Sweden
    Quote:

    magnetic wrote:

    Im pretty confused here. So do i have to hunt down Fab's script, is it included in the latest uae archive or is it somewhere on morphos cd?


    It's in the archive as it always been :)
  • »06.08.14 - 06:59
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11551 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Apparently, I offended you

    Don't worry, you didn't.

    > I didn't mean to denegrate ChrisH or OS4 in general.

    I didn't conceive calling RunInUAE a script as denigration. It's just that it is not a script so I wanted to set the record straight. Nothing more to read into that really.
  • »06.08.14 - 11:12
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11551 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >> Fab's scripts for E-UAE [...] are not distributed with MorphOS.

    > is it somewhere on morphos cd?

    No, as I said.
  • »06.08.14 - 11:16
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    asrael22
    Posts: 404 from 2014/6/11
    From: Germany
    Hi.

    In the console log I've seen:
    "Compile-time option of BSDSOCKET was not enabled. You can't use bsd-socket emulation."

    Was it forgotten? Or is bsd-socket emu not possible with JIT?


    Manfred
  • »14.08.14 - 08:31
    Profile