RX fails to work
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1724 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    I have done a reinstallation of MorphOS on my G5 in order to change the partition sizes. After installation I used my fresh backup and copied everything back. This usually works without problems but this time I get this message when I reboot:

    ---

    AREXX

    ARexx implementation is not yet finished. If you want to use ARexx, please install your original rexxsyslib.library...

    Ooops, ok I will!

    ---

    In WBStartup I have a craboum.rexx script to get configurable menus. It has worked before, and when I look in libs: and mossys:libs I have rexxsyslibs.library in both places and they are both version 50.4.

    OK, so what do I need to do to get it working again?
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »23.06.14 - 08:43
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Brumiga
    Posts: 208 from 2004/4/3
    From: France
    @Yasu,

    You have to rename the original rexxsyslib.library present in mossys:libs as rexxsyslib.library_disabled. By this manner morphos will use the 68k version present in sys:libs instead of the original one present in mossys:libs. Perform this little modification as soon as possible and arexx programs will fork fine.

    Brumiga
  • »23.06.14 - 09:15
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1724 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    Thanks! I will try this when I get home.

    But how come it does this?
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »23.06.14 - 09:16
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    CISC
    Posts: 617 from 2005/8/27
    From: the land with ...
    It does this because the rexxsyslib.library that comes with MorphOS has everything necessary to make all things (ARexx ports etc) except actual ARexx scripts work.

    However, the MorphOS installer should have detected your existing rexxsyslib.library and automatically disabled the bundled one, no idea why it didn't...


    - CISC
  • »23.06.14 - 13:38
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Ruud
    Posts: 335 from 2009/2/2
    From: Hampshire, UK
    A fresh install will put the Morphos rexxsyslib.library in MOSSYS:Libs.
    Copying over a fresh install from a backup containing an Amiga rexxsyslib.library will copy rexxsyslib.library_disabled to MOSSYS:Libs and of course the Amiga rexxsyslib.library to SYS:Libs. In this scenario you need to delete the rexxsyslib.library in MOSSYS:Libs for your AREXX to work correctly again.

    [ Edited by Ruud 23.06.2014 - 11:33 ]
    "We live, we die, we laugh, we cry"
  • »23.06.14 - 14:31
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    geit
    Posts: 945 from 2004/9/23
    Quote:

    Ruud wrote:
    A fresh install will put the Morphos rexxsyslib.library in MOSSYS:Libs.
    Copying over a fresh install from a backup containing an Amiga rexxsyslib.library will copy rexxsyslib.library_disabled to MOSSYS:Libs and of course the Amiga rexxsyslib.library to SYS:Libs. In this scenario you need to delete the rexxsyslib.library in MOSSYS:Libs for your AREXX to work correctly again.


    Just run Grunch to install rexxsyslib. Problem solved :)

    Geit
  • »23.06.14 - 15:53
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1724 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    That makes a lot of sense. And it works now! Thanks for the replies :-)
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »23.06.14 - 22:45
    Profile Visit Website