amigaamp for ready
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    sabbate
    Posts: 105 from 2013/7/7
    From: verona - italia
    hi all,

    I wanted to try this program thanks to trance, I have to install the decoder?

    thanks
  • »15.06.14 - 15:04
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10648 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I have to install the decoder?

    No, you can set AmigaAMP to use the mpega.library, which comes with MorphOS, instead of the dedicated decoder. There may be a small workaround required to make AmigaAMP run on MorphOS flawlessly:

    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=7650&forum=9&start=4
  • »15.06.14 - 15:47
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Jambalah
    Posts: 800 from 2008/3/30
    From: Roma, Italy
    Hi Sabbate, nice to see you here!
    The last AmigaAmp working flawless on MorphOS is 2.24. If you go on AmigaAMP website you will find a link for download it but it's not valid since it will download the 2.25 version which have great problems on MorphOS (equalizer doesnt work correctly, window playlist doesn't work, it's not possible to change modules position as you like). So download 2.24 here:
    http://www.amigaamp.de/Binaries/AmigaAMP224.lha
    The website is the same but that link is not visible. As Andreas wrote you can use the mpega.library but this will result in a not functional equalizer ( a warning message will appear if you will try to power on) though mp3 will be played. I set the engine to "auto" and this work without problems with equalizer working flawless.
    Pegasos II 1 ghz
    Powermac G4 Quicksilver with Sonnet Encore 1.8 ghz
    Powermac G4 MDD single 1.25 ghz, silenced for ears health...
    Powermac G5 dual 2.7 ghz
  • »15.06.14 - 18:19
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    sabbate
    Posts: 105 from 2013/7/7
    From: verona - italia
    thanks great
  • »15.06.14 - 20:16
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1724 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    It works well for me too. I feel quite nostalgic :-)

    The best way to make it remember placement in Ambient etc seems to be to let the program run, then start the prefs program and save. It works sometimes at least. Repeat till you are satisfied.
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »16.06.14 - 00:01
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10648 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > The last AmigaAmp working flawless on MorphOS is 2.24.

    "I'm currently working on porting version 3 to AmigaOS 3.9"
    http://www.amigaamp.de/log.shtml

    Maybe this will work flawlessly on MorphOS too.
  • »01.06.15 - 12:49
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1361 from 2003/4/13
    Speaking of AmigaAmp, I was bitterly disappointed to see WinAmp support has been discontinued. After re-installing Windows recently I put WinAmp back on and found it crippled. Looking into it revealed it was bought out and buried.

    This is a piece of software that I actually paid the shareware fee way back in the late 90's. I got my money's worth, but I wish I could still use it fully and not just crippled. I have not found a proper replacement for it yet. While there is competent software, they just don't have the exact same goal as WinAmp.

    On AmigaAmp itself, it's been a while since I used it. I think i tried half-hearted on MorphOS once and gave up with it didn't immediately work. Would be cool to see a working updated version.
  • »01.06.15 - 15:41
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Tom01
    Posts: 162 from 2009/9/20
    I am using AmigaAmp-2.24 with the PowerUP-decoder-engine.
    Runs very stable.
  • »01.06.15 - 19:20
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Jambalah
    Posts: 800 from 2008/3/30
    From: Roma, Italy
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    "I'm currently working on porting version 3 to AmigaOS 3.9"
    http://www.amigaamp.de/log.shtml

    Maybe this will work flawlessly on MorphOS too.


    It will be good.

    A little correction: I'm using 2.25 version that worked after I swithced the "NOOS4" tooltype
    Pegasos II 1 ghz
    Powermac G4 Quicksilver with Sonnet Encore 1.8 ghz
    Powermac G4 MDD single 1.25 ghz, silenced for ears health...
    Powermac G5 dual 2.7 ghz
  • »03.06.15 - 07:06
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1724 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    New version is out for 68k. Has anyone tried it with MorphOS yet?

    http://www.amigaamp.de/log.shtml
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »02.11.16 - 16:28
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10648 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > New version is out for 68k. Has anyone tried it with MorphOS yet?

    It seems to have the same issues v2.25 had (see comment #3).
  • »02.11.16 - 21:16
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    In_Correct
    Posts: 243 from 2012/10/14
    From: DFW, TX, USA
    Quote:

    redrumloa wrote:
    Speaking of AmigaAmp, I was bitterly disappointed to see WinAmp support has been discontinued. After re-installing Windows recently I put WinAmp back on and found it crippled. Looking into it revealed it was bought out and buried.

    This is a piece of software that I actually paid the shareware fee way back in the late 90's. I got my money's worth, but I wish I could still use it fully and not just crippled. I have not found a proper replacement for it yet. While there is competent software, they just don't have the exact same goal as WinAmp.

    On AmigaAmp itself, it's been a while since I used it. I think i tried half-hearted on MorphOS once and gave up with it didn't immediately work. Would be cool to see a working updated version.


    I had always considered WinAmp to be discontinued since the sale or acquisition from Nullsoft to AOL during version 3, and then their immature decision to skip version 4. Surprised to hear that Winamp still on Windows, I researched and discovered that Winamp was sold yet again to "Radionomy" in 2014 and it has not been updated since.

    I have parted with Winamp very long time ago and have since enjoying VLC. However, it is very sad that VLC is not support MorphOS.
    :-) I Support Quark Microkernel. :-D
  • »08.11.16 - 07:15
    Profile Visit Website