MacOS X initialization request of MorphOS partitions
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Solo_Kazuki
    Posts: 172 from 2006/7/24
    From: Universe:Milky...
    Hello

    I have dual boot (MacOS X 10.5.8 and MorphOS 3.13) PowerMac. When i boot to MacOS X don't recognise MorphOS file system and annoying requester of initialization of disk with MoorphOS partitions popup (and after this USB device failure information and to check if it's plugged to auxiliary power supply). I must manually give "ignore" option (and close USB power information) every time when MacOS X boot.

    Is there possibility to add always ignoring this disk?
  • »21.05.20 - 18:15
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Solo_Kazuki
    Posts: 172 from 2006/7/24
    From: Universe:Milky...
    No, i have two different disks. First is with Boot partition (for MorphOS) and MacOS X partitions. Second is from my old Pegasos II and only have MorphOS partitions. I have not any error with Boot partition. MacOS X doesn't recognise second disk (with MorphOS partitions only) and every time when i boot MacOS X i have requester with "eject" "initialize" and "ignore" options.
  • »21.05.20 - 19:30
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 711 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    On Mac this behaviour normaly accours, if 2nd HD has a RDB instead of a Mac-rootblock. RDB-HDs cannot be recognized by OSX....
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »21.05.20 - 19:53
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Solo_Kazuki
    Posts: 172 from 2006/7/24
    From: Universe:Milky...
    I know that it's not recognized. I'm asking how to "teach" MacOS to ignore this disk.
  • »21.05.20 - 23:11
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2058 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    You could probably modify OSX’s startup/login scripts to eject it. Or format the drive.
  • »21.05.20 - 23:47
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Solo_Kazuki
    Posts: 172 from 2006/7/24
    From: Universe:Milky...
    Hello

    So there is no option in system settings in MacOS X to do this more comfortable way?
    I'm rather for first option. ;-)
    How to do such script, because about MacOS X i'm completely green.

    Edit:

    I found script editor and type

    tell finder
    eject

    and i don't know what argument should be after eject

    [ Edited by Solo_Kazuki 22.05.2020 - 09:08 ]
  • »22.05.20 - 07:39
    Profile Visit Website
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Posts: 49 from 2017/8/7
    First you go to the terminal and type
    Code:
    diskutil list

    this will show all drives and partitions.

    then you type
    Code:
    diskutil unmount /dev/diskXY

    where diskXY is the identifier of the drive you want to unmount.

    Edit
    You can probably create an Automator action and add this to the startup-objects of your account(s).

    [ Edited by amifrog 22.05.2020 - 16:24 ]
  • »22.05.20 - 15:07
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Solo_Kazuki
    Posts: 172 from 2006/7/24
    From: Universe:Milky...
    Problem is that unmount doesn't work - disk is still visible. Moreover disk number is switched, sometimes it's /dev/disk0, sometimes dev/disk1. Also automator does not give me option to eject disk - i cannot select/write/do any action after chose eject disk (or i don't unerstand how it works).

    How to put this to startup?
  • »22.05.20 - 18:15
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Solo_Kazuki
    Posts: 172 from 2006/7/24
    From: Universe:Milky...
    Ok, I tried it this way. I made text file without any extension and put it to StartupItems directory in system with

    diskutil unmount /dev/disk1

    and also tried

    diskutil eject /dev/disk1

    Neither first nor second version doesn't work. I have still annoying requester with initialize/eject/ignore option on start of system.
  • »22.05.20 - 18:55
    Profile Visit Website
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Posts: 49 from 2017/8/7
    I found something on stackexchange:
    Code:
    set exceptionsList to {"MobileBackups", "startup disk", "home", "net"}
    tell application "Finder"
    set diskList to the disks
    repeat with mountedDisk in diskList
    if name of mountedDisk is not in exceptionsList then
    eject mountedDisk
    end if
    end repeat
    end tell


    Of course eject might not work for internal harddrives.

    [ Edited by amifrog 22.05.2020 - 20:40 ]
  • »22.05.20 - 19:20
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Posts: 49 from 2017/8/7
    Quote:

    Solo_Kazuki wrote:
    Ok, I tried it this way. I made text file without any extension and put it to StartupItems directory in system with

    diskutil unmount /dev/disk1

    and also tried

    diskutil eject /dev/disk1

    Neither first nor second version doesn't work. I have still annoying requester with initialize/eject/ignore option on start of system.


    i tried it myself. The dev/ part is wrong.
    if you just write
    Code:
    diskutil unmount disk1

    It should work. Strange that you don't get an error.

    Here i get one, and the hint to try
    Code:
    diskutil unmountDisk disk1

    instead
  • »22.05.20 - 19:43
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Solo_Kazuki
    Posts: 172 from 2006/7/24
    From: Universe:Milky...
    Neither first nor second method doesn't work. Still asking about not recognised disk.

    I didn't try script yet, but i have similar suspicion that it might not work with internal drives.

    BTW: USB part was about USB joypad which is wrongly recognised as not powered device. After pull out it message didn't occur.

    [ Edited by Solo_Kazuki 30.05.2020 - 09:12 ]
  • »30.05.20 - 08:10
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Solo_Kazuki
    Posts: 172 from 2006/7/24
    From: Universe:Milky...
    Probably i found solution, but my case is more complicated.

    There is DiskEject utility, but in my case MorphOS disk is sometimes disk0 and sometimes disk1

    From what it depends which number have disk? It rather looks random to me...

    [ Edited by Solo_Kazuki 03.06.2020 - 22:59 ]
  • »03.06.20 - 14:56
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Solo_Kazuki
    Posts: 172 from 2006/7/24
    From: Universe:Milky...
    Ok, i found similar question on this page and it looks that it is "feature" of MacOS X.
    It's really disappointing, because similar mess is not possible neither on AmigaOS nor (of course) MorphOS (or is it?). Even DOS/Windows can handle it and other systems which i know, this is first system which i used with similar problem.

    But i don't understand if there is a method or it's not possible, maybe someone with proper knowledge could tell me? I'm confused with these answers...
  • »08.06.20 - 06:29
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2058 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    It would have taken you less time to backup and re-format said drive in the mac layout...
  • »08.06.20 - 14:57
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Solo_Kazuki
    Posts: 172 from 2006/7/24
    From: Universe:Milky...
    Problem is that disk have 500GB (0,5TB). So there's no other way than next disk with at least 0,5TB free space... which i haven't.

    Moreover similar case with partitions will appear?
  • »10.06.20 - 10:26
    Profile Visit Website