Is there a step by step guide for using Synergy client and s
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    connor
    Posts: 536 from 2007/7/29
    I want to use Synergy but it does not work yet. I start the server on MOS,
    enter the client IP address and place it next to the server in the grid
    view. Then I connect the client (v1.3.1) to the server. But I cannot move
    the mouse to the MOS screen. So I start the other way round. Start the
    server on Windows and client on MOS. The server says "waiting for clients"
    but connect from MOS side does not work. I just see the red LED when I hit
    the connect button.

    Both the client and server on MOS lack information and documentation. Can
    someone please give a step by step instruction how to configure which side
    and how to connect from the other? Also: which version of client and server
    is needed on which system? Which versions has the MOS side? Icon info only
    shows the internal number 52.6 but not the protocol number. Latest Synergy
    version is 1.7.3 Pro. Is this supported by MOS client or server?
  • »05.06.15 - 16:35
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1724 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    I hope this is helpful: https://morphosuser.wordpress.com/2015/05/17/morphos-3-8-synergy-server-and-wings-battlefield-demo/
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »05.06.15 - 17:48
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2059 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Quote:

    connor wrote:
    I want to use Synergy but it does not work yet.


    The MorphOS Synergy client and server come without a doc, but reading the original application's docs should be enough.

    Quote:

    enter the client IP address and place it next to the server in the grid
    view


    You don't need to enter the client's IP in the server config. Instead you must enter the *name* of the client (which is MorphOS by default in the MorphOS' synergy client). It'd help you to enable logging in the server to see if the MorphOS' client even tries to connect.

    As for the protocol version, both client and server advertise 1.6 protocol. Do note that Synergy application version (like the 1.7.3 pro you mentioned) isn't the same as protocol version.
  • »05.06.15 - 18:28
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    connor
    Posts: 536 from 2007/7/29
    When I use the name instead of the IP address it works. Thanks. But it isn't logical. For the client you enter the name. for the server you enter the IP address. Why is only one possible on each side and why not the same?
  • »18.06.15 - 20:12
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2059 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Quote:

    connor wrote:
    When I use the name instead of the IP address it works. Thanks. But it isn't logical. For the client you enter the name. for the server you enter the IP address. Why is only one possible on each side and why not the same?


    The client is identified by name so that the server knows where to place it in its virtual monitor space even if the client's IP changes. The server itself does not really have a name.
  • »19.06.15 - 12:30
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    amigadave
    Posts: 2713 from 2006/3/21
    From: Lake Arrowhead...
    I've been thinking of using a remote desktop application to access my Windows PC from my MorphOS Ambient desktop so I can run Windows applications in a window (or full screen) on my MorphOS computer. What is the difference between the RDesktop software and Synergy, or does RDesktop for MorphOS use Synergy to make it work?

    I have no previous experience using any kind of remote access software between computers on a network.
    MorphOS - The best Next Gen Amiga choice.
  • »27.01.16 - 16:53
    Profile
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1662 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Quote:

    amigadave wrote:
    I've been thinking of using a remote desktop application to access my Windows PC from my MorphOS Ambient desktop so I can run Windows applications in a window (or full screen) on my MorphOS computer. What is the difference between the RDesktop software and Synergy, or does RDesktop for MorphOS use Synergy to make it work?



    RDesktop alone does what you want, and does it very well too. It can also share your MorphOS drives/directories to Windows.

    Synergy is just to share mouse and keyboard between two computers, but they still have their own monitors and no image is transferred.
  • »27.01.16 - 17:40
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    amigadave
    Posts: 2713 from 2006/3/21
    From: Lake Arrowhead...
    Quote:

    jPV wrote:
    RDesktop alone does what you want, and does it very well too. It can also share your MorphOS drives/directories to Windows.

    Synergy is just to share mouse and keyboard between two computers, but they still have their own monitors and no image is transferred.



    Thanks for the clarification.
    MorphOS - The best Next Gen Amiga choice.
  • »28.01.16 - 09:31
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Korni
    Posts: 461 from 2006/2/23
    From: the Planet of ...
    Quote:

    jPV wrote:
    Synergy is just to share mouse and keyboard between two computers, but they still have their own monitors and no image is transferred.



    Just a note - "two or more computers".
    http://korni.ppa.pl/modkowypaczek/ | My Rifle, My Bunny, and Me
  • »28.01.16 - 16:19
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    connor
    Posts: 536 from 2007/7/29
    Hello every one,

    I got a new Windows 10 pc and I am still stuck with this so I ask again.
    I cannot make a good connection with Synergy between Windows 10 and MorphOS.
    Can please some one say which client versions work well?
    1) MorphOs as a server, Windows as a client
    2) Windows as a server, MorphOS as a client
    Best would be to have server on MorphOS and client on Win.

    I tried with several versions in both directions. I used MorphOS as a server
    and tried clients 1.5.0-r2278, 1.10.1-stable_b83-8941241e,
    1.11.1-stable-55ec3105. Then the client says "got hello
    version 1.5. Closing socket. failed to connect to server: incompatible
    client 1.5"
    So the client 1.11.1 says it is 1.5. Does it mean its protocol version? But
    1.5 should be supported I think. I read that the client should use protocol
    version 1.4 to 1.6 (?) but in the readmes of the versions I cannot see
    which client version has a protocol version of these. So I have to download
    many versions and install them and try every combination. This takes very
    long.

    To have newer clients or servers on MorphOS would be good because now there
    exists version 2.x with many fixed bugs and we are 5 years behind with 1.x.

    Ah here jacadcaps you said "You need to use Synergy 1.6 or newer on Windows."
    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=11501&forum=18#124221

    From here it seems 1.7.4 on Windows works partly but with keyboard errors:
    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=11287&forum=9#120550
    I have not found this version for download but also need copy and paste working.
    I found 1.7.2 on updatestar.com but I fear to install it because it is not official.
    Maybe it contains malware.

    In another thread jacadcaps said; use older client than 1.8.
    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=12389&forum=11#137536

    Can we only connect 1.7 client or does anyone know if a newer one also works?
    And where can I download them?
  • »23.04.20 - 18:28
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2059 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    I'm currently using a 1.9 server on OSX and it works without issues with a MorphOS client. If I were to update anything, it'd be to switch to Barrier. I'm currently over capacity though and it's unlikely I'll be able to look into this this year. The MorphOS server also needs SSL support badly...

    Btw. keyboard errors can usually be mitigated in settings.
  • »23.04.20 - 18:46
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Korni
    Posts: 461 from 2006/2/23
    From: the Planet of ...
    You can also try synergy client from http://aminet.net/package/util/misc/UHCTools. Works fine here with 1.10.3 server on linux.
    http://korni.ppa.pl/modkowypaczek/ | My Rifle, My Bunny, and Me
  • »23.04.20 - 19:43
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    connor
    Posts: 536 from 2007/7/29
    Thanks for the advices. jacadcaps, you already work a lot with Iris and new browser. I understand that you don't have time for a thrid program even if it is a smaller one.
    You both propose MorphOS as the client. For me it would be best if I can run the server on MorphOS because then I don't need key and mouse on Windows and Windows does not need so many reboot as MorphOS.
    Server on MorphOS and client on Windows 10 - Does this work well for someone?

    Synergy 1.11 would still be great if we could get it on MorphOS. Because it is still maintained, last update in March. This also has encryption included. The fetures in the Pro column of v1 are exactly what I want to use. v2 is not necessary, it would just be a nice add on if someone with a newer client or server comes and asks for help and I can say "no problem, MorphOS of course can handle it". Barrier seems to be similar or less that v1.11 of Synergy then.
  • »24.04.20 - 16:40
    Profile