Chrysalis NG for MorphOS 3.11
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 1875 from 2003/3/5
    From: Poland
    Make a build that does not change any system settings - just installs 3rd party apps.

    [ Edited by jacadcaps 29.04.2018 - 16:32 ]
  • »29.04.18 - 20:32
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Intuition
    Posts: 1053 from 2013/5/24
    From: fbih
    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote:
    Make a build that does not change any system settings - just installs 3rd party apps.


    +1
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »29.04.18 - 21:04
    Profile
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1575 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    But maybe it still could add Ambient filetypes and panels etc. I don't know if these would be counted as system settings or not, but they would still be useful :) Maybe draw the line there that you can set things that can be done by creating totally new files, but don't replace any existing config files?

    Or have these as optional. Maybe if there would be a menu/selection where you can select more precisely what you want to install/config.

    [ Edited by jPV 30.04.2018 - 12:13 ]
  • »30.04.18 - 09:10
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Papiosaur
    Posts: 1236 from 2003/4/10
    From: France
    Thanks jPV for your suggestions. i think i will propose to install the mimetypes or not.

    @all: For you, what are the software should be installed to Chrysalis NG ?

    I propose to start with :

    CRABUM
    Grunch
    MPlayer
    jPV Software and scripts
    MagicBaecon
    An Ambient panel (as actually)
    Mimetypes (video to MPlayer for example)
    Iris (first stable version)
    add possibility to update the Chrysalis pack

    In the installation script :
    - propose to install mimetypes or not
    - launch Grunch at the end of the installation to propose to install others softs

    Don't hesitate to propose others ideas ;-)

    PS : I search skins for MaginBeacon info windows

    [ Edité par Papiosaur 05.05.2018 - 09:33 ]
  • »05.05.18 - 06:22
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Templario
    Posts: 291 from 2012/4/28
    The Hollywood libraries too.
    Amiga 500 with ROMs 1.3-2.05 and M-Tec AT 500 with hard disk and 4MB Ram.
    WinUAE + original OS 3.5&3.9
    Sam440ep 800 MHZ + OS 4.1 F.E.
    Sam460ex 1 GHz + OS 4.1 F.E.
    MacMini 1.5 GHz + MorphOS 3.12
    PowerBook G4 1.65 + MorphOS 3.12
  • »05.05.18 - 12:00
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Acill
    Posts: 1889 from 2003/10/19
    From: Oxnard, Ca.
    All good stuff, but agree that the system settings should be left alone.
    Powerbook 1.67GHZ (Currently Main MorphOS Machine)
    Powermac Dual 2.0 GHZ G5 (Registration #1894)
    A4000T CSPPC, Mediator
    AmigaOne X5000
    Need Amiga recap or other services in the USA? Visit my website at http://www.acill.com
  • »05.05.18 - 13:08
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    AvatharV
    Posts: 15 from 2012/11/20
    From: Modesto, CA
    I would like a standard installer.. so the install drive can be chosen, & allow it to be installed on 3.11+ as well (when they come out).

    Possibly a checkbox list in the installer to let us choose the apps to install, showing the version to install and letting us customize the paths as it installs to.

    I know that is a tall order, but the installer re-write would be usable in the future.

    I just found the Chrysalis package after installing 3.10 and it is somewhat of a pain needing 3.9 installed.

    -AV
    -------
    Powerbook G4 1.67Ghz, 2G RAM, 110GB HD, MorphOS 3.10
    Mac Mini G4, 1 G RAM, MorphOS 3.8
    PowerMac G5, 1.8G, 4G RAM, MorphOS 3.10 (one day)
  • »04.06.18 - 19:32
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    AvatharV
    Posts: 15 from 2012/11/20
    From: Modesto, CA
    It might also be nice to have the latest versions of everything in the 3.9 package.. even if it hasn't changed. That way, those of us already on 3.10+ that never installed the 3.9 can get the same programs.
    -------
    Powerbook G4 1.67Ghz, 2G RAM, 110GB HD, MorphOS 3.10
    Mac Mini G4, 1 G RAM, MorphOS 3.8
    PowerMac G5, 1.8G, 4G RAM, MorphOS 3.10 (one day)
  • »13.06.18 - 20:34
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    asrael22
    Posts: 392 from 2014/6/11
    From: Germany
    Any news on a new Chrysalis pack?


    Manfred
  • »05.07.18 - 19:40
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Papiosaur
    Posts: 1236 from 2003/4/10
    From: France
    Hello Manfred,

    i updated it today :-)

    This is list of contents for now:

    - "Applications_ext" created for all new applications installed
    - categories drawers created into it (Audio, Desktop, Emulation, Games, Graphics, Misc, Network, etc...)

    Software preinstalled:
    - AminetRadio
    - CRABUM menu preconfigured
    - Grunch
    - MPlayer
    - RNO Widgets 1.3
    - RNO InfoScreen 1.5
    - RNO Comics 1.2
    - RNO Anim 1.2
    - OWB Bookmarks
    - MagicBeacon
    - Ambient panel
    - Hollywood libraries
    - Hollywood player
    - MUIRexx 3.0
    - GrafX2
    - GhostScript 8.70 for MorphOS 3.10
    - Many games and emulators installed (like old pack)

    To do:
    - possibility to updrage the pack automaticaly
    - propose to install new mimetypes or not

    I would like to install:
    - Folio, i wait an answer by the author
    - Worbench 3.1 files and roms 3.1 and 1.3, i wait authorization by Cloanto or Hyperion...


    Don't hesitate to proposes softwares, idea, etc...

    I would like to finalize for the end of the month.
  • »05.07.18 - 20:06
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    MorphOSUser
    Posts: 39 from 2012/5/2
    Please please please can you make a version that works with MorphOS 3.11+ and fill with every single package possible including themes and different icon sets and the list!? I do not mind if it is 4 ISO DVDs each of them are 4 GB! Please please please!!!

    Oh in addition can the Chrysalis include all the up to date IDE and development tools ever existed for MorphOS including BASIC, C, C++, SQL, etc?

    [ Edited by MorphOSUser 07.09.2018 - 19:15 ]
  • »07.09.18 - 18:13
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    amyren
    Posts: 208 from 2010/5/15
    From: Norway
    I have these RMB entries to launch adf files in A500 and in A1200 which are quite useful. I dont remember where I got them from, either a previous crysalis pack or maybe from the Fab e-uae archive.

    Also the run in WHD entry could be useful if set up properly (I did install that, but didnt get it to work)
  • »14.09.18 - 17:15
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 9 from 2017/12/13
    Youtube Video of the upgrade

    I upgraded Chrysalis to 3.11 on my machine and had no problems except for a assign from DOpus5 that
    disappeared but that's a easy fix. Other than that it was a painless procedure. Cheers Chris
  • »17.02.19 - 15:52
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Papiosaur
    Posts: 1236 from 2003/4/10
    From: France
    Hello devils_advisor,

    Thanks to promote the Chrysalis pack !

    Warning, install Chrysalis pack on a system configured is not recommended, it can erase some prefe (Ambient panels, CRABUM menu prefs, Ambient mimetypes prefs, etc...)

    If you could realize a video with a fresh MorphOS 3.11 by default and a MorphOS 3.11 with the pack should be more interesting for people don't know MorphOS i think.

    How do you realize the video please ?
  • »17.02.19 - 16:55
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 9 from 2017/12/13
    well sure I can do that but I might have to get another drive first it makes strange sounds all of the sudden. Recording on a old Dell machine with first gen i7 and a Avermedia Livegamer HD first gen too not the newer blue ones. That only seems to work if you don't open Apps on their own screen because as soon as it switches the resolution its black and you have to reset the machine. I added a link to this topic under the video now so people can find it.

    [ Edited by devils_advisor 17.02.2019 - 12:32 ]
  • »17.02.19 - 17:29
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 9 from 2017/12/13
    Let me know as soon as you got that done and I redo it again but I should delete the old videos to make it shine. Final video I make it better with audio and titles.
  • »18.02.19 - 17:28
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    kamelito
    Posts: 102 from 2011/9/21
    Quote:

    jacadcaps a écrit :
    Make a build that does not change any system settings - just installs 3rd party apps.

    [ Edited by jacadcaps 29.04.2018 - 16:32 ]


    isn't it possible to protect all OS files to avoid such issues?
  • »02.03.19 - 17:06
    Profile