Peg2 died
  • zoi
  • Just looking around
    zoi
    Posts: 7 from 2018/2/11
    From: Prague, Czech ...
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    Small update: Looking for the device ID I've found an AGP-equipped PC and installed my X1950 Pro, but with no luck - the screen stays black. Maybe it's not MorphOS fault but just another bricked gfx card. I'll investigate some more.



    what machine are you trying to put this card in?

    It's been over a decade, but from my adventures flashing a radeon 9600 for my powermac3,3 I remember some electrical incompatibility in addition to needing a new ROM. Two pins on the card needed to be either scratched off, or in my case I covered them with electrical tape so that the mod was reversible.

    I found some more recent source about it.
  • »21.02.18 - 08:18
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1195 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    zoi wrote:
    what machine are you trying to put this card in?

    It's been over a decade, but from my adventures flashing a radeon 9600 for my powermac3,3 I remember some electrical incompatibility in addition to needing a new ROM. Two pins on the card needed to be either scratched off, or in my case I covered them with electrical tape so that the mod was reversible.



    Nah, they were both AGP x8 equipped machines (PowerMac G5 and some generic PC with AGP x8 slot on the mobo). In a few days I'll get another X1950 Pro (this time a surely working one) and we will see... again.
  • »21.02.18 - 10:55
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1195 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    Nah, they were both AGP x8 equipped machines (PowerMac G5 and some generic PC with AGP x8 slot on the mobo). In a few days I'll get another X1950 Pro (this time a surely working one) and we will see... again.



    I got another X1950 Pro, this time it was 100% working. I've tested it on a PC, with no problem. But on PowerMac G5 it doesn't give any sign of life. The fan is spinning, but there's no video.
    I guess the AGP versions of R500 aren't so supported by MorphOS after all.
  • »26.02.18 - 16:47
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4976 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    Nah, they were both AGP x8 equipped machines (PowerMac G5 and some generic PC with AGP x8 slot on the mobo). In a few days I'll get another X1950 Pro (this time a surely working one) and we will see... again.



    I got another X1950 Pro, this time it was 100% working. I've tested it on a PC, with no problem. But on PowerMac G5 it doesn't give any sign of life. The fan is spinning, but there's no video.
    I guess the AGP versions of R500 aren't so supported by MorphOS after all.


    I am fairly certain that the AGP models (of the R500 series) are supported, as other people are using them.
    And Mark did his development work with a Radeon X1950Pro installed in his G5 (rather like the combo you are attempting).

    Again, I'd get the device ID for the card and contact Mark.
    A PITA I know, but what other OS would you be likely to get that kind of level of assistance? ;÷)

    Reviewing this entire idea again, I still don't believe a PC AGP X1950Pro @ 1X is going outperform an 8X Apple X800XT.
    But the comparison would prove interesting.

    Something tells me that the comparison would provide a strong argument for PCIe based systems.

    [ Edited by Jim 26.02.2018 - 18:43 ]
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »26.02.18 - 23:33
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1195 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    Jim wrote:
    Again, I'd get the device ID for the card and contact Mark.
    A PITA I know, but what other OS would you be likely to get that kind of level of assistance? ;÷)


    I've tried, but with no success. Both PM and e-mail remain silent.
  • »27.02.18 - 06:08
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4976 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    Quote:

    Jim wrote:
    Again, I'd get the device ID for the card and contact Mark.
    A PITA I know, but what other OS would you be likely to get that kind of level of assistance? ;÷)


    I've tried, but with no success. Both PM and e-mail remain silent.




    Patience...it may take awhile to hear back from him.
    His career keeps him pretty busy.

    And PMs on MorphZone aren't usually the best form of contact (I'd stick with his developer e-mail address).

    So, if you have sent an e-mail, multiple messages shouldn't be required (although you probably should have sent the ID info with the initial inquiry).
    Just put the project on the 'back burner' until you hear back.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »27.02.18 - 10:19
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1195 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    The card's ID is:

    Primary:
    PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_7280&SUBSYS_22041787&REV_9A\4&1AD7642&0&0058

    Secondary:
    PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_72A0&SUBSYS_22051787&REV_9A\4&1AD7642&0&0158

    I've sent them to Bigfoot as soon as I knew them. Now, until the card is supported - buyers, beware!
  • »01.03.18 - 19:19
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Tomo
    Posts: 92 from 2003/7/29
    From: Heesch, The Ne...
    Hi,

    as you know my Peg2-board died. I've found my old Peg1-board and I'm trying to use it again. But the computer didn't want to start from the HDisk. I installed 3.10, but I've still problems. I've to use 'boot /ide/disk@0,0:DH0 boot.img' to start from the HDisk.

    Another problem is that I deleted my first Hdisk (and its content, I know, very stupid).
    I found back my Morphoskey, but placing it in DEVS: slows still the computer. Where do I have to place the key?

    Tom
  • »28.03.18 - 12:50
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    xilinder
    Posts: 39 from 2018/2/1
    From: USA
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    The card's ID is:

    Primary:
    PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_7280&SUBSYS_22041787&REV_9A\4&1AD7642&0&0058

    Secondary:
    PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_72A0&SUBSYS_22051787&REV_9A\4&1AD7642&0&0158




    So it is a AMD RV570 X1950 PRO.
  • »28.03.18 - 14:58
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11763 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >> The card's ID is:
    >> Primary:
    >> PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_7280&SUBSYS_22041787&REV_9A\4&1AD7642&0&0058
    >> Secondary:
    >> PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_72A0&SUBSYS_22051787&REV_9A\4&1AD7642&0&0158

    > So it is a AMD RV570 X1950 PRO.

    He's quite aware of that (see comment #65). The interesting parts are those that come after "1002" for AMD and "7280"/"72A0" for RV570 (Radeon X1950 PRO).
  • »28.03.18 - 15:31
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1195 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    >> The card's ID is:
    >> Primary:
    >> PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_7280&SUBSYS_22041787&REV_9A\4&1AD7642&0&0058
    >> Secondary:
    >> PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_72A0&SUBSYS_22051787&REV_9A\4&1AD7642&0&0158

    > So it is a AMD RV570 X1950 PRO.

    He's quite aware of that (see comment #65). The interesting parts are those that come after "1002" for AMD and "7280"/"72A0" for RV570 (Radeon X1950 PRO).


    I got some feedback from BigFoot recently (He's alive!), so I'll soon be off for some testing. Stay tuned!
  • »28.03.18 - 17:58
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11763 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > He's alive!

    Yes, he‘s written 7 comments in 4 threads 2 days ago :-)
  • »28.03.18 - 19:39
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4976 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    >> The card's ID is:
    >> Primary:
    >> PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_7280&SUBSYS_22041787&REV_9A\4&1AD7642&0&0058
    >> Secondary:
    >> PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_72A0&SUBSYS_22051787&REV_9A\4&1AD7642&0&0158

    > So it is a AMD RV570 X1950 PRO.

    He's quite aware of that (see comment #65). The interesting parts are those that come after "1002" for AMD and "7280"/"72A0" for RV570 (Radeon X1950 PRO).


    I got some feedback from BigFoot recently (He's alive!), so I'll soon be off for some testing. Stay tuned!


    So Koszer, any luck yet?
    The X1950Pro represents the highest end video card we can currently use in AGP machines and I'd like to add one to my G4 (out of a perverse sense of "just because I can do it" - after all, I had a FireGL X3 running in a G4 at one time).

    Since we didn't get AGP support for the later cards (a G4/HD4670 combo would make more sense), your experiment is the best I can do (for now).
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »30.03.18 - 15:36
    Profile