Hello people! I have a couple of noobie questions!
  • Just looking around
    Hi everyone!

I've been reading through the forum on and off for the past years, I am an old amiga user (the A1200 days) and recently I purchased a used Powerbook 5.8 (1.67ghz CPU, 1.5 GB of RAM and an 80GB HDD) and I started playing around with Morphos, slowly configuring it to my liking. I like using it very much but I have some issues that I can't seem to be able to resolve.

1. I have the powerbook with the lid closed and connected to a 27" quad HD display and when I try to display the native resolution it doesn't show correctly at all, but only Ambient seems to have this problem (I run Quake on 2560*1440 and it seems to display just fine, albeit rather slow). So the display outputs the signal just fine, since Quake can run at that resolution. Is there a way to display my Ambient on quad HD also? 1920*1080 is fine, but it would be great if I could have the full experience with the native res of the display.

2. I have a 10-button MMO mouse connected. Does anyone know of any utility that could see and customise the extra buttons? If there is such a setting on Morphos' settings, I couldn't find it.

3. With a powermac G4 (1.25 & radeon 9200) I had some 6-7 years ago and an older iteration of Morphos I remember I had Quake 2 running with HD textures and I think it was the yamagi version. Now when I try to run yamagi 4.90 on Morphos 3.17 it seems to hang the system and needs a hardware reboot. Does anyone know how to overcome the problem? Is it a known issue? Is there another port of Quake 2 that supports HD textures? Is there a way to find and download an older yamagi version?

Thanks in advance!
  • »27.02.23 - 16:52
    Kronos
    1. with the lid closed at boot the DVI becomes the 1st/main output which might confuse some thing
    a: go to screen prefs and check what resolution is selected
    b: keep the lid open and move Ambient to the 2nd display, also in screen prefs