• Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    amigadave
    Hi again KuyaMarc,

I took a look at your blog and it has sparked some curiosity in me. I have donated computer gear to other developers in the past, but so far I have not seen any programs completed for MorphOS by any of them, so I hope you will understand why people like myself and Yasu are asking so many questions, and are cautious about who we donate gear or money to in the future.

Speech recognition (in my opinion) is a very useful utility to have for any computer platform. Specially for disabled persons who have difficulty typing, like yourself. From the blog screen shots I saw, it appears to me that your parser is able to listen for speech sounds and translate them into code. I am not a programmer (yet), but I have worked on some proprietary software applications doing scripting maintenance work, and designed new screens and logic to calculate fees in the past.

Can your speech parser also translate spoken words into English ASCII text?

Could it be used to control many computer functions using spoken commands with zero use of a mouse or keyboard? I am thinking of something that is capable of making computer use possible by people who are completely paralyzed and cannot use their hands at all.

Have you researched the capabilities of MorphOS3.9, so that you are sure it will be able to support your programming goals? Many times, as Yasu may have tried to express, programmers not familiar with Amiga or MorphOS capabilities will start projects, then later learn that functions or tools that they need to complete their work do not exist on MorphOS, and they give up because they do not want to, or can't build all the tools needed to complete such project(s), in addition to the project code itself.