Playing MODs in AmiNet Radio player
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    WeiXing3D
    Posts: 327 from 2012/6/13
    From: Pacifica, CA
    Thank you Andreas.

    I downloaded ppunpack and decompressed the lha file, but I didn't find instructions on how to use it to decrunch the files, in the readme files included in the directory.

    Do I run it as command from shell?

    Cheers.

    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > https://www.dropbox.com/sh/3zbhom0rlavxn7y/2KCraqrXfV

    I downloaded them and have found the following things:

    1. Both files are PowerPacker-packed (PP20). You should decrunch them using for instance one of the following tools:
    http://aminet.net/package/util/arc/ppunpack10-mos
    http://aminet.net/package/util/crypt/ppcrack_MOS

    2. The file "mod.AncientStories" is not a classic MOD file but a FastTracker 2 Extended Module file so should be named "AncientStories.xm".

    3. The file "mod.Somewhere_In_Time" is not a classic MOD file but a Scream Tracker 3 Module file so should be named "Somewhere_In_Time.s3m".

    Both file formats XM and S3M can be played with any of the two ANR players "mod.player" and "modplug.player" linked to in a previous posting.

    > https://www.dropbox.com/sh/4sttphxwbo0o42r/U_P0rzdr6n

    Your leftmost screenshot (Grab2) shows the "uade123" executable file I talked about in my previous posting. Is this the UADE version which you said you had from Aminet and which I asked for a link for?
    MacMini G4 1.5GHz with MorphOS 3.9 FPGA MiST w/AmigaOS 3.9 (PFS3), FPGA Replay w/AmigaOS3.9, Amiga 1200 SCSI CD-RW, X-SURF 100 w/Rapidroad USB, External FDD with Chinon and Gotek units and Acer Aspire One ICAROS
  • »11.10.13 - 04:37
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11629 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I downloaded ppunpack and decompressed the lha file, but I didn't find instructions on
    > how to use it to decrunch the files, in the readme files included in the directory.

    Running the program without parameters gives "Usage: ppunpack infile outfile".

    > Do I run it as command from shell?

    Yes.
  • »11.10.13 - 09:25
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    WeiXing3D
    Posts: 327 from 2012/6/13
    From: Pacifica, CA
    Sorry to be a pest@Andreas_Wolf.

    I can't get i to work. Running the following command in shell:
    Work:Utilities/PPUnpack1.0/ppunpack infile outfile
    Gives me a can't open input file message

    In my case my Mods are at Work:Audio/Mods/

    Please help.



    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > I downloaded ppunpack and decompressed the lha file, but I didn't find instructions on
    > how to use it to decrunch the files, in the readme files included in the directory.

    Running the program without parameters gives "Usage: ppunpack infile outfile".

    > Do I run it as command from shell?

    Yes.
    MacMini G4 1.5GHz with MorphOS 3.9 FPGA MiST w/AmigaOS 3.9 (PFS3), FPGA Replay w/AmigaOS3.9, Amiga 1200 SCSI CD-RW, X-SURF 100 w/Rapidroad USB, External FDD with Chinon and Gotek units and Acer Aspire One ICAROS
  • »13.10.13 - 02:42
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11629 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Running the following command in shell:
    > Work:Utilities/PPUnpack1.0/ppunpack infile outfile
    > Gives me a can't open input file message
    > In my case my Mods are at Work:Audio/Mods/

    infile is a placeholder for the path to the file you want it to decrunch (Work:Audio/Mods/<filename>), outfile is a placeholder for the path to the file you want it to save the decrunched MOD to. You get the error message because it can't find any file called 'infile'.
  • »13.10.13 - 09:59
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Intuition
    Posts: 1106 from 2013/5/24
    From: Nederland
    Try xadunfile filename ram:
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.15

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »13.10.13 - 13:28
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11629 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Try xadunfile filename ram:

    I think he will need http://aminet.net/package/util/arc/xad_xfd and http://aminet.net/package/util/pack/xfdmaster for this to work.
  • »13.10.13 - 13:45
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    WeiXing3D
    Posts: 327 from 2012/6/13
    From: Pacifica, CA
    @Andreas_Wolf Thank you for all the help. It worked, but some files still don't play after decrounching; for instance the mod.Somewhere_In_Time mod I posted in one my postings above.
    MacMini G4 1.5GHz with MorphOS 3.9 FPGA MiST w/AmigaOS 3.9 (PFS3), FPGA Replay w/AmigaOS3.9, Amiga 1200 SCSI CD-RW, X-SURF 100 w/Rapidroad USB, External FDD with Chinon and Gotek units and Acer Aspire One ICAROS
  • »13.10.13 - 22:30
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11629 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > some files still don't play after decrounching; for instance the mod.Somewhere_In_Time
    > mod I posted in one my postings above.

    As I wrote to you this is not a MOD file but an S3M file and it plays fine here with ANR. How do you try to play it? Have you installed any of the two ANR players I told you were needed for S3M file playback?
  • »13.10.13 - 23:06
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Intuition
    Posts: 1106 from 2013/5/24
    From: Nederland
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > Try xadunfile filename ram:

    I think he will need http://aminet.net/package/util/arc/xad_xfd and http://aminet.net/package/util/pack/xfdmaster for this to work.


    Quite right.

    I have all kinds of xad/xfd/xpk stuff installed and I often get confused as to which does what.
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.15

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »13.10.13 - 23:17
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11629 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I have all kinds of xad/xfd/xpk stuff installed and I often get confused as to which does what.

    There's a nice summary by the 'X-Systems' author:

    http://cd.textfiles.com/amigaplus/sonderheft26/Tools/Packer/xad/X-Systems.TXT
  • »13.10.13 - 23:41
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Intuition
    Posts: 1106 from 2013/5/24
    From: Nederland
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > I have all kinds of xad/xfd/xpk stuff installed and I often get confused as to which does what.

    There's a nice summary by the 'X-Systems' author:

    http://cd.textfiles.com/amigaplus/sonderheft26/Tools/Packer/xad/X-Systems.TXT


    Thanks Andreas, that was a nice refresher.
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.15

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »14.10.13 - 00:38
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    WeiXing3D
    Posts: 327 from 2012/6/13
    From: Pacifica, CA
    @Andreas_Wolf
    I've been in a business trip and away from my computer, so I haven't tried anything. But I did install the latest available versions of the player plugs in ANR, but the mod stil didn't play.
    MacMini G4 1.5GHz with MorphOS 3.9 FPGA MiST w/AmigaOS 3.9 (PFS3), FPGA Replay w/AmigaOS3.9, Amiga 1200 SCSI CD-RW, X-SURF 100 w/Rapidroad USB, External FDD with Chinon and Gotek units and Acer Aspire One ICAROS
  • »15.10.13 - 23:08
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11629 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I did install the latest available versions of the player plugs in ANR, but the mod stil didn't play.

    Have you activated the ANR players in the ANR prefs? You may additionally give them a priority higher than that of all other installed and activated ANR players and see if that helps.
  • »15.10.13 - 23:23
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    WeiXing3D
    Posts: 327 from 2012/6/13
    From: Pacifica, CA
    @Andreas_Wolf
    I've been in a business trip and away from my computer, so I haven't tried anything. But I did install the latest available versions of the player plugs in ANR, but the mod stil didn't play.
    MacMini G4 1.5GHz with MorphOS 3.9 FPGA MiST w/AmigaOS 3.9 (PFS3), FPGA Replay w/AmigaOS3.9, Amiga 1200 SCSI CD-RW, X-SURF 100 w/Rapidroad USB, External FDD with Chinon and Gotek units and Acer Aspire One ICAROS
  • »16.10.13 - 02:34
    Profile
  • Moderator
    hooligan
    Posts: 1948 from 2003/2/23
    From: Lahti, Finland
    I downloaded the mod.somewhere in time, downloaded ppunpack, unpacked the mod file and it plays just fine with both ANR (Modplug replayer) and UADE right away. Are you *really* sure you're trying to play the unpacked file instead of the powerpacked one, as if none of the players can't play ithe module it suggests this.
    www.mikseri.net/hooligan <- Free music
  • »16.10.13 - 05:38
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    WeiXing3D
    Posts: 327 from 2012/6/13
    From: Pacifica, CA
    Quote:

    hooligan wrote:
    I downloaded the mod.somewhere in time, downloaded ppunpack, unpacked the mod file and it plays just fine with both ANR (Modplug replayer) and UADE right away. Are you *really* sure you're trying to play the unpacked file instead of the powerpacked one, as if none of the players can't play ithe module it suggests this.


    I extracted to mods last Sunday. The first one (Assassin) plays fine in ANR, but that is not the case with Somewhere_In_Time. I can only give it another try this Thursday, my local time, when I come back from this business trip.
    MacMini G4 1.5GHz with MorphOS 3.9 FPGA MiST w/AmigaOS 3.9 (PFS3), FPGA Replay w/AmigaOS3.9, Amiga 1200 SCSI CD-RW, X-SURF 100 w/Rapidroad USB, External FDD with Chinon and Gotek units and Acer Aspire One ICAROS
  • »16.10.13 - 06:12
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11629 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > it plays just fine with both ANR (Modplug replayer) and UADE right away. Are you
    > *really* sure you're trying to play the unpacked file instead of the powerpacked
    > one, as if none of the players can't play ithe module it suggests this.

    I don't think he tried to play it in UADE as the last thing he wrote about UADE in this thread was that both UADE versions he installed lacked the executable file (while his screenshots prove the opposite).
  • »16.10.13 - 09:21
    Profile
  • Moderator
    hooligan
    Posts: 1948 from 2003/2/23
    From: Lahti, Finland
    BTW I use the excellent Exciter Player as UADE frontend

    Link: http://uade.fatmagnus.ppa.pl/index.php
    www.mikseri.net/hooligan <- Free music
  • »16.10.13 - 09:44
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    XzIt
    Posts: 250 from 2005/1/19
    From: Norway
    well im using hippoplayer witch supports the packed mod files and plays them as is.
    just need the xpk libs etc installed.

    http://www.exotica.org.uk/wiki/HippoPlayer

    http://aminet.net/package/mus/play/hippoplayer

    X

    [ Edited by XzIt 18.10.2013 - 15:14 ]
  • »18.10.13 - 14:12
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11629 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > well im using hippoplayer witch supports the packed mod files and plays them as is.
    > just need the xpk libs etc installed.
    > http://www.exotica.org.uk/wiki/HippoPlayer

    "Loads and decompresses XPK, FImp, PowerPacker, LhA, LZX and Zip files" reads more like it doesn't use XPK to decrunch PowerPacker files but either has the PowerPacker decruncher inbuilt or uses another library for this.

    Edit: I just had a look into HiP.guide and it seems I'm right: HippoPlayer needs powerpacker.library or the XFD libs installed in order to decrunch PowerPacker files.

    [ Edited by Andreas_Wolf 20.10.2013 - 22:19 ]
  • »18.10.13 - 14:50
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 19 from 2013/6/15
    @XzIt
    How did you manage to play mods with HippoPlayer on MorphOS? I've been always getting "Couldn't allocate CIA timer(s)!" error.
  • »18.10.13 - 19:28
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    XzIt
    Posts: 250 from 2005/1/19
    From: Norway
    ill post some images of my prefs settings, just need to have some mins to do it ;P

    X
  • »19.10.13 - 18:22
    Profile Visit Website
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1905 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    I gave a quick try with this too, but didn't get it to work yet. I switched PT replayer to use fastram, configured AHI unit... and enabled VBlank timing to get rid of CIA timer complaining, but it still hangs when I try to play. It also gives a hit in debug log when started.
  • »01.11.13 - 08:50
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 19 from 2013/6/15
    This is some step forward. With the aforementioned settings, HippoPlayer played Spacedeliria and some other modules. However, the quality of sound is quite poor, and the system becomes completely unresponsive while playing.
  • »01.11.13 - 18:17
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    XzIt
    Posts: 250 from 2005/1/19
    From: Norway
    Finally got back to my mosbox, but didt get Hippoplayer working.... ;(


    I had it up and working on my old machine, that hw has said godnight.
    so i cant get it up and running again atm, i will reply here as soon as i get it working again, might be missing some 3rd part software to get it to work dunno....

    Sorry


    X
  • »03.11.13 - 15:14
    Profile Visit Website