OWB bugs
  • Fab
  • MorphOS Developer
    Fab
    Posts: 1331 from 2003/6/16
    On the other hand, i think it's nice that google doesn't touch webkit svn anymore. They introduced quite some mess that i'm happy to see gone. So going to blink doesn't look very appealing to me for now.

    Implementing the llint ppc backend in webkit would be easier than JIT and would provide a 2-3x speedup already. And actually, the responsible for leopard webkit project also started to work on JIT, trying to integrate tenforfoux's one. It's already functional for YARR jit (regexp stuff), but for javascript, many trampolines still have to be written.

    [ Edited by Fab 09.08.2013 - 10:50 ]
  • »09.08.13 - 09:49
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    boot_wb
    Posts: 874 from 2007/4/9
    From: Kingston upon ...
    Scrub that.

    Must have messed uip some settings somewhere.

    [ Edited by boot_wb 09.08.2013 - 11:18 ]
    www.hullchimneyservices.co.uk

    UI: Powerbook 5,6 (1.67GHz, 128MB VRam): OS3.1, OSX 10.5.8
    HTPC: Mac Mini G4 (1,5GHz, 64MB VRam): OS3.1 (ZVNC)
    Audiophile: Efika 5200b (SB Audigy): OS3.1 (VNC + Virtual Monitor)

    Windows free since 2011!
  • »09.08.13 - 10:11
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11709 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    Update:

    > "July 23th 95% of the tests were passing. (with crankshaft!)"
    > https://github.com/andrewlow/v8ppc

    "August 9th 98% of the tests were passing. (with crankshaft!)"
  • »10.08.13 - 12:05
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Intuition
    Posts: 1109 from 2013/5/24
    From: Nederland
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    Update:

    > "July 23th 95% of the tests were passing. (with crankshaft!)"
    > https://github.com/andrewlow/v8ppc

    "August 9th 98% of the tests were passing. (with crankshaft!)"


    It's looking very promising but Fab has
    made it clear he's sticking with WebKit, so unless he changes his mind or someone else starts a new browser based on Blink/V8 it doesn't look likely it will be coming our way anytime soon.

    Does anyone know what GUI toolkit Chromium uses? Not that it makes much difference to us anyway. :)
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.15

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »10.08.13 - 14:10
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11709 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Then again, it's probably just so they can run node.js on V8 on POWER servers.

    While it's about node.js, it's apparently not just about IBM POWER:

    "If you're G4 Powerbook is running Linux - I think you _are_ the target market :)"
    https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/nodejs/ivGMr-C_m1Y


    Edit: The author plans to talk about his work 4 months from now:

    https://www.eclipsecon.org/na2014/session/nodejs-powerpc-story-about-porting-nodejs-v8
    https://www.eclipsecon.org/na2014/sites/default/files/slides/Andrew%20Low%20-%20PowerNode.pdf


    Edit2: Final version added:

    https://www.eclipsecon.org/na2014/sites/default/files/slides/Node.js%20on%20PowerPC.pdf
    http://lowtek.ca/talks/2014-03-19-EclipseCon/

    [ Edited by Andreas_Wolf 20.03.2014 - 20:13 ]
  • »12.09.13 - 01:40
    Profile
  • Moderator
    hooligan
    Posts: 1948 from 2003/2/23
    From: Lahti, Finland
    Quote:

    Yasu wrote:
    I've found a bug in OWB 1.20.

    When I use Gmail in "enhanced" mode, the browser keeps eating up a little memory at the time until the whole RAM is gone. It fixes easily by closing Gmail.

    Maybe something you can do, Fab? :)


    GMail and enhanced mode has nothing to do with it. I get it even if I don't use Gmail. The RAM just keep draining out by itself even if I am at kitchen drinking coffee.
    www.mikseri.net/hooligan <- Free music
  • »12.09.13 - 04:50
    Profile Visit Website
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1921 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Quote:

    hooligan wrote:
    Quote:

    Yasu wrote:
    I've found a bug in OWB 1.20.

    When I use Gmail in "enhanced" mode, the browser keeps eating up a little memory at the time until the whole RAM is gone. It fixes easily by closing Gmail.

    Maybe something you can do, Fab? :)


    GMail and enhanced mode has nothing to do with it. I get it even if I don't use Gmail. The RAM just keep draining out by itself even if I am at kitchen drinking coffee.



    As said, it's incompetent webkit (mainly javascript core) developers' fault. They just leak the mem without any care. It happens with all WebKit based browsers, but on other systems there's virtual mem to lean on. And as someone once said, Apple fixed this issue by going to 64 bit to be able use more ram ;)

    Fab has already done much for it. He has made the browser quit and release the leaked mem if you ran out of it, instead to just crash and burn, but he can't change all mem allocations etc in the whole code himself.. it's just that really bad coding manners they have today on big world where they don't have to care about resources.

    But if you want to save mem, disable javascript on OWB and enable it per site if you need. Or just restart the browser occasionally.
  • »12.09.13 - 06:03
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    connor
    Posts: 545 from 2007/7/29
    @ jPV

    OWB has the same bug. 100megs are free but OWB says it cannot allocate 100kB. That doesn't make sense but it happens at least once a day.

    Incompetence or not: best way to get rid of Webkit bugs is to to tell their bugtracker about it.
  • »12.09.13 - 17:07
    Profile
  • Moderator
    hooligan
    Posts: 1948 from 2003/2/23
    From: Lahti, Finland
    Quote:

    jPV wrote:

    But if you want to save mem, disable javascript on OWB and enable it per site if you need. Or just restart the browser occasionally.


    Myeah that has been my strategy.. its just a bit frustrating to relaunch OWB every single morning during the 30 mins of my morning coffee ;-)
    www.mikseri.net/hooligan <- Free music
  • »12.09.13 - 19:33
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1724 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    Here is a page I can't login to. I simply cannot push the login button ("Logga in"). And an interesting note appears at the bottom of OWB that probably tells where the problem lies.

    http://bokabostad.stockholm.se
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »16.10.13 - 22:23
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    NewSense
    Posts: 1277 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    While using OWB for a while I notice that a lot of RAM becomes unavailable, from opening TABs, and eventually closing them all, but one.

    So starting off with just about 900MB of RAM it gets to a point that there is basically no RAM left, even though OWB is the only application that has been opened, and at that point there is only one window/TAB left open, but I can't find a way to free back up the rest of the RAM in my Mac Mini that should be available.

    Is there some utility that can release this unavailable RAM?

    I tried 'avail flush' but that barely releases any of the RAM.

    As soon as I close OWB the RAM frees itself back up, and then I have just over 900MB of RAM available again, so somewhere within the program it isn't releasing what it's not actually apparently using - is this a known bug?
    MacMini 1.5GHz,64MB VRAM, PowerBooks A1138/9 (Model 5,8/9),PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP), iMac A1145 2.1GHz 20", all with MorphOS v3.17,Airport,Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL,MiniMax,Firewire/USB2 & MacOSX 10.4/5.
  • »16.10.13 - 23:07
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11709 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Is there some utility that can release this unavailable RAM?

    Freeing RAM can only be done by the program occupying it.

    > I tried 'avail flush' but that barely releases any of the RAM.

    Yes, this is expected.

    > somewhere within the program it isn't releasing what it's not actually apparently
    > using - is this a known bug?

    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=8977&forum=3
  • »17.10.13 - 00:35
    Profile
  • Moderator
    hooligan
    Posts: 1948 from 2003/2/23
    From: Lahti, Finland
    Quote:

    NewSense wrote:
    While using OWB for a while I notice that a lot of RAM becomes unavailable, from opening TABs, and eventually closing them all, but one.

    So starting off with just about 900MB of RAM it gets to a point that there is basically no RAM left, even though OWB is the only application that has been opened, and at that point there is only one window/TAB left open, but I can't find a way to free back up the rest of the RAM in my Mac Mini that should be available.

    Is there some utility that can release this unavailable RAM?

    I tried 'avail flush' but that barely releases any of the RAM.

    As soon as I close OWB the RAM frees itself back up, and then I have just over 900MB of RAM available again, so somewhere within the program it isn't releasing what it's not actually apparently using - is this a known bug?


    You got to restart OWB. BTW recordtime for draining the whole Macminis memory is ca. 10 minutes for me. Kinda renders the browser useless does it :)
    www.mikseri.net/hooligan <- Free music
  • »17.10.13 - 05:21
    Profile Visit Website
  • Fab
  • MorphOS Developer
    Fab
    Posts: 1331 from 2003/6/16
    Quote:

    hooligan wrote:
    You got to restart OWB. BTW recordtime for draining the whole Macminis memory is ca. 10 minutes for me. Kinda renders the browser useless does it :)


    The JS Core leaks a lot (on all platforms), but i wonder what you browse to exhaust that in 10 minutes, though. :)

    It usually takes me 2 days or so to manage that on my Pb with 1.5GB ram, and that includes Youtube and facebook crap. :)
  • »17.10.13 - 05:29
    Profile Visit Website
  • Moderator
    hooligan
    Posts: 1948 from 2003/2/23
    From: Lahti, Finland
    Quote:

    Fab wrote:
    Quote:

    hooligan wrote:
    You got to restart OWB. BTW recordtime for draining the whole Macminis memory is ca. 10 minutes for me. Kinda renders the browser useless does it :)


    The JS Core leaks a lot (on all platforms), but i wonder what you browse to exhaust that in 10 minutes, though. :)

    It usually takes me 2 days or so to manage that on my Pb with 1.5GB ram, and that includes Youtube and facebook crap. :)



    My morning routine is pretty much the same every morning.. some local news sites like www.iltasanomat.fi, www.iltalehti.fi, www.ess.fi and www.hs.fi ... Morphzone.. http://psx-scene.com .. gmail.. my webmail. And thats pretty much it. I suspects the first two news sites are causing 99% of the problem.
    www.mikseri.net/hooligan <- Free music
  • »17.10.13 - 10:41
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1724 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    @Fab

    Don't forget my bug report :-)
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »17.10.13 - 12:18
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1423 from 2003/4/13
    Fab,
    Quote:

    The JS Core leaks a lot (on all platforms), but i wonder what you browse to exhaust that in 10 minutes, though. :)

    It usually takes me 2 days or so to manage that on my Pb with 1.5GB ram, and that includes Youtube and facebook crap. :)


    It isn't unusual for me to reboot the browser every 15-30 minutes or so on my G5, pretty typical actually. Possibly the worst offender is ESPN.COM.
  • »17.10.13 - 15:48
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    connor
    Posts: 545 from 2007/7/29
    I followed a link in an old news entry to http://www.warpgate.org . OWB 1.20 crashed with it every time I tried it. I rebooted MOS and went to this site again but before showing anything OWB crashed again.
  • »17.10.13 - 16:38
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11709 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > http://www.warpgate.org . [...] before showing anything OWB crashed

    Here OWB shows a login requester (which I cancel) before OWB crashes.
  • »17.10.13 - 20:53
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    boot_wb
    Posts: 874 from 2007/4/9
    From: Kingston upon ...
    Quote:

    connor wrote:
    I followed a link in an old news entry to http://www.warpgate.org . OWB 1.20 crashed with it every time I tried it. I rebooted MOS and went to this site again but before showing anything OWB crashed again.


    There seems to be an image-related problem when the page auto-refreshes after the login box is cancelled.

    Disable 'load images automatically' for that url prevents the crash, which may work ok if you have an account ot log into, but just loads a null page if the login box is cancelled. Source for the page seems to be completely empty.

    RMB>Windows>URL settings
    Add "http://www.warpgate.org" and untick the 'load images automatically' checkbox.

    EDIT: Looking at the site on the wayback machine, it seems to be long dead, so is probably just a site administrator's login.

    Regards


    Rich

    [ Edited by boot_wb 18.10.2013 - 00:32 ]
    www.hullchimneyservices.co.uk

    UI: Powerbook 5,6 (1.67GHz, 128MB VRam): OS3.1, OSX 10.5.8
    HTPC: Mac Mini G4 (1,5GHz, 64MB VRam): OS3.1 (ZVNC)
    Audiophile: Efika 5200b (SB Audigy): OS3.1 (VNC + Virtual Monitor)

    Windows free since 2011!
  • »17.10.13 - 23:16
    Profile Visit Website
  • Moderator
    hooligan
    Posts: 1948 from 2003/2/23
    From: Lahti, Finland
    It appears that spoofing as Ipad the memory is draining a bit less than on default setting.. or then it was just coincidence I still have 133mb left and no restarts this morning.
    www.mikseri.net/hooligan <- Free music
  • »18.10.13 - 04:45
    Profile Visit Website
  • Fab
  • MorphOS Developer
    Fab
    Posts: 1331 from 2003/6/16
    @hooligan
    At least, just displaying and scrolling top to bottom of the main page of all your sites doesn't cause a huge leak. I still have more than 650MB left (on my 1GB Peg2) after visiting all the sites you mentioned earlier.

    @redrumloa

    This site eats 25MB or so here (main page). I'd have a hard time exhausting my ram with it.

    @connor / boot_wb
    This is an issue with cancelling auth request in some (rare) cases. It might be fixed in next release.
    It doesn't have much to do with automatic image loading, in any case.

    @yasu

    your site doesn't even connect at all here (which looks like a SSLv3 issue to me). I wonder how you can even get something displayed there.
    EDIT: i could connect, by setting env var OWB_CURL_FORCE_SSLv3 to 1. But obviously, i can't check whether login works or not, since i don't have an account. However, since it seems to rely on asp crap, i'd suggest you spoof as safari before loading this page, it might help.

    [ Edited by Fab 18.10.2013 - 12:11 ]
  • »18.10.13 - 11:05
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    boot_wb
    Posts: 874 from 2007/4/9
    From: Kingston upon ...
    Quote:

    @connor / boot_wb
    This is an issue with cancelling auth request in some (rare) cases. It might be fixed in next release.
    It doesn't have much to do with automatic image loading, in any case.


    Good to know the source of the problem. Very strange that disabling automatic image loading prevents the crash occuring on this particular site.
    www.hullchimneyservices.co.uk

    UI: Powerbook 5,6 (1.67GHz, 128MB VRam): OS3.1, OSX 10.5.8
    HTPC: Mac Mini G4 (1,5GHz, 64MB VRam): OS3.1 (ZVNC)
    Audiophile: Efika 5200b (SB Audigy): OS3.1 (VNC + Virtual Monitor)

    Windows free since 2011!
  • »18.10.13 - 16:26
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1423 from 2003/4/13
    > Fab wrote:
    > @redrumloa
    >
    > This site eats 25MB or so here (main page). I'd have a hard time exhausting my ram with it.


    If you want to test it, open a story with a lot of user comments and scroll through the comments. Finish that story, do the same with another reading the comments, wash rinse repeat. The every story/comment section eats some number of RAM it never gives back. Granted I usually have multiple tabs open so other sites could be contributing, it just seems ESPN's Facebook (plugin?) comment section may be the worst offender (seat of pants observation).



    [ Edited by redrumloa 18.10.2013 - 20:59 ]
  • »19.10.13 - 00:56
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1423 from 2003/4/13
    Actually, I take back the ESPN being worst comment. Now that I am paying more attention, investorshub.com is the worst!

    http://investorshub.advfn.com/boards/read_msg.aspx?message_id=93114678

    That is a message board post. Go there and scroll the whole page down and up, then click NEXT to read the next message. Wash, rinse repeat. I spend a lot of time on investor hub and it just gnaws ram. You will also probably see an annoying pop up if you are there for long :-p

    If you are bored, you can look at Yahoo Finance homepage.


    http://finance.yahoo.com/

    Mangled formatting!
  • »19.10.13 - 01:20
    Profile