MorphOS 2.8 confirmed features
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Divinity
    Posts: 498 from 2009/9/8
    Oepabakkes,
    Quote:

    I also want to like to know more about SATA support. I understood well, MorhpOS on Powermac wouldn't even work with one of these cards installed ?


    probably the SCSI/SATA adapters here http://morphos.de/hardware.html will be usable in PowerMac G4 in MorphOS2.8 (atm these adapters are usable in Pegasos)
    I use atm a SATA card iSiI3x1x (but I have some problems) and a SCSI card Symbios 89x (sometimes also problems) in Pegasos2.

    Quote:


    Or can I already use such a card now with MacOSX on it ?


    In the PowerMac FW800 G4 I use atm a very good Adaptec card ; here as seen in pciscan in MorphOS2.7:
    Vendor 0x9005 <Adaptec> Device 0x10 <AHA-2940U2B SCSI Controller>
    This very good card is perfect in OSX Leopard 10.5.8 and OSX Tiger 10.4.x (not supported in MorphOS2.x)

    Quote:


    So it would be fine I can put Leopard on a SATA drive without touching the drives I use for MorphOS.


    In a PowerMac MDD and FW800 there is an ATA100 (also an ATA66 and ATA33), well I use a very good HD WD 500gb PATA and I have 60Mb/s throughput :) ;) ,so no useful to use (my opinion) a SATA bootstrap HD ; I also use the very good YABOOT for MorphOS2.x, Leopard OSX, Tiger OSX, Panther OSX and Linux Debian ... all in these OS in one HD 500gb :)
    here a guide about YABOOT if interested http://www.nonsoloamiga.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=106

    In a PowerMac AGP graphics, gigabit ethernet, quicksilver 2001/2002 It could be useful to use an HD SATA via SATA adapter (ATA inside is only ATA66), this is my opinion.
    Sonnet has/had good SATA controller for PowerMac, Tempo SATA controller models ( look at here for exemple http://www.sonnettech.com/support/kb/kb.php?cat=284#position_content ) usable in OSX


    [ Edited by Divinity 08.08.2011 - 22:13 ]
  • »08.08.11 - 20:32
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Divinity
    Posts: 498 from 2009/9/8
    Jim,
    Quote:

    Will MOS2.8 be able to boot from SCSI or SATA controllers or will these drive only work after booting from PATA?


    not useful SCSI HD bootable ... but yes you can bootstrap from HD SCSI and SATA, but the kernel need to be in a "bootable"/viewable unit for the OpenFirmware (in Macintosh) and for SmartFirmware (in PegasosI/II and Efika)
    For exemple you can have an hd PATA in a Mac (with inside the MorphOS kernel boot.img, bootinfo.txt) and a bootable SFS partition in a HD SCSI or SATA (if SCSI and SATA host adapters supported in MorphOS2.x)


    [ Edited by Divinity 08.08.2011 - 21:41 ]
  • »08.08.11 - 20:39
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 2099 from 2003/2/24
    Just a sidenote:
    Macs CAN boot from PCI-devices (if these have an OF-BIOS onboard). My 2x1.8 QS came with an 400GB IDE HD connected too an ATA133+2SATA PCI card and it booted OSX just damn fine.

    [ Edited by Kronos 09.08.2011 - 00:22 ]
  • »08.08.11 - 22:20
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4967 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Thanks Kronos. That's an interesting option.
    What controller are you using?
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »08.08.11 - 23:34
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 2099 from 2003/2/24
    The onboard one as the combo-card is not supported by MorphOS (and probraly will never be).

    O.k. I could have put the boot.img and maybe an ISO-file of the MorphOS-CD to claim some level of booting from SATA ...

    AFAIK there is only one out of the box Mac and MorphOS (2.8) compatible outthere (made by Sonnet and hard to find).

    Cheap PC cards with the right chip should work (once you found a way to load boot.img from another device) and some of those might even be reflashed to work directly.

    Just wait for 2.8 and see what the otions are...
  • »09.08.11 - 00:08
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    analogkid
    Posts: 626 from 2004/11/3
    From: near myself
    To be precise, it's this one:

    http://www.sonnettech.com/product/tempo_serial_ata.html

    It's a two-port card with a Sil3112 controller...

    Mine is waiting for its use in my Powermac G4...
  • »09.08.11 - 05:07
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    dIGIMAN
    Posts: 273 from 2005/11/7
    Why that complicated?

    I never booted from hd with my powermac from the beginning.
    I am using a dedicated usb key with the boot.img on it. The leaves
    open which i boot next, if supported or not :)
  • »09.08.11 - 06:06
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Simon
    Posts: 809 from 2008/7/6
    From: Antwerp, Belgium
    What hard to find card ? Sonnet still sells it and I found 4 on Ebay ... but they between 80 Dollar and 80 Euro without shipping. Well if it that is what it takes to run Leopard without touching the MorphOS hd's on the internal port and I guess it keeps a certain value.
    Proud member of the Belgian Amiga Club since 2003

  • »09.08.11 - 07:48
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    analogkid
    Posts: 626 from 2004/11/3
    From: near myself
    @Oepabakkes

    Well, "hard to find" is often connected to the price you are able or willing to pay... I think in this case Kronos meant a SATA card for a reasonable price, or as a complete Powermac G4 package (e.g. with CPU-card, advanced Radeon card etc.).
  • »09.08.11 - 08:10
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Simon
    Posts: 809 from 2008/7/6
    From: Antwerp, Belgium
    Understandable, but when was Amiga computing ever cheap if you talk about new hardware ? Even old vintage hardware is sometimes worth VERY good money.

    About this card: Sonnet is quality and the price at Sonnet's shop is reasonable for people in the USA -I think- and in Euro's +/- 57 Euro. But at the German Ebay it's horrible 80 euro + shipping 20 euro. Ouch.
    Proud member of the Belgian Amiga Club since 2003

  • »09.08.11 - 15:11
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1184 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    when was Amiga computing ever cheap if you talk about new hardware?


    Like... in1985? When you could get a A1000 with monitor for 1595$ while Apple Macintosh costed 2,5 grand, and the IBM PC Junior (64 KB of RAM, one 5,25 floppy and no monitor) costed 1300$ ?
  • »09.08.11 - 15:38
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Simon
    Posts: 809 from 2008/7/6
    From: Antwerp, Belgium
    1595$ wasn't exactly cheap 26 years ago. A C64, that was cheap in 1985.
    Proud member of the Belgian Amiga Club since 2003

  • »09.08.11 - 16:26
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    stephen_robinson
    Posts: 745 from 2007/4/22
    Will there be a native MorphOS Professional File System for 2.8?
  • »10.08.11 - 21:41
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    pampers
    Posts: 1061 from 2009/2/26
    From: Tczew, Poland
    Considering this two posts, I think meaby..

    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?forum=3&topic_id=7805&post_id=83059&viewmode=flat&sortorder=0&showonepost=1

    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?forum=3&topic_id=7805&post_id=83090&viewmode=flat&sortorder=0&showonepost=1

    Omg, am I Andreas now? ;)

    [ Edited by pampers 10.08.2011 - 22:57 ]
    MorphOS 3.x
  • »10.08.11 - 21:56
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11704 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Omg, am I Andreas now? ;)

    Don't worry, you're just using the Web in the way it was meant to be used. There's nothing bad about that, as opposed to what some people might tell you ;-)
    (You should change the sortorder to "1" in your second link as an ugly workaround for the MZ bugs.)
  • »10.08.11 - 22:15
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    analogkid
    Posts: 626 from 2004/11/3
    From: near myself
    @pampers

    "Omg, am I Andreas now? ;)"

    No, because you aren't quoting your own posts.
  • »11.08.11 - 05:36
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 2099 from 2003/2/24
    And more importanly he is not doing it 3 levels deep......
  • »11.08.11 - 07:27
    Profile
  • JJ
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    JJ
    Posts: 147 from 2010/7/7
    From: Wales
    Andreas_Wolf,


    The way you post links to a post that contains links, whcih then contains links to the releavant post is not in any way shape or form a good way of using forums. If you have found the info just bloody post it.
    We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing. - George Bernard Shaw


    Xbox Live: S0ulA55a551n2
  • »11.08.11 - 09:20
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    takemehomegrandma
    Posts: 2714 from 2003/2/24
    +1
    MorphOS is Amiga done right! :-)
    MorphOS NG will be AROS done right! :-)
  • »11.08.11 - 09:58
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11704 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > quoting your own posts

    Do you know a better way to provide updates, addendums and corrections to posts you made before? Most often, merely editing the posts wouldn't cut it in my opinion.
  • »11.08.11 - 11:13
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11704 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > The way you post links to a post that contains links, whcih
    > then contains links to the releavant post is not in any way
    > shape or form a good way of using forums.

    Thanks for sharing your opinion on me but obviously I wasn't referring to myself but to pampers and his exciting discovery of the possibility to use hyperlinks on the Web, which it seems he thought was something only I can do. He's apparently still a rookie though as his second link doesn't work ;-)
  • »11.08.11 - 11:22
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11704 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >> you aren't quoting your own posts.

    > And more importanly he is not doing it 3 levels deep....

    How would that even work, quoting something "3 levels deep"? In case you mean something like the following:

    --------------------
    >>> my own gibberish
    >> my own gibberish
    > my own gibberish

    my own gibberish
    --------------------

    ...where did I do this? I can only remember quoting myself as much as 2 levels deep ;-)
  • »11.08.11 - 11:35
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Simon
    Posts: 809 from 2008/7/6
    From: Antwerp, Belgium
    Should we make a useless Amigaworld.net-style poll with Andreas as the subject ?
    Proud member of the Belgian Amiga Club since 2003

  • »11.08.11 - 13:17
    Profile Visit Website
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Mabo
    Posts: 52 from 2010/5/3
    Hi there! What about wifi in the new release ?

    Bye bye :-)
  • »11.08.11 - 16:20
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    pampers
    Posts: 1061 from 2009/2/26
    From: Tczew, Poland
    I'd say we will find out when new release will be available :)
    MorphOS 3.x
  • »11.08.11 - 16:58
    Profile Visit Website