New SAM460EX
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12086 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > PA Semi is low power desktop type

    Actually, the PA6T-1682M was originally (i.e. before becoming embedded part) intended to be a notebook type CPU.

    > of G5 CPU

    "G5" is usually considered as belonging to PPC970 microarchitecture family. However, the PA6T is a unique microarchitecture of its own, developed from scratch.

    > It seems Pa Semi on Nemo is downclocked to 1.8GHz from 2Ghz

    No, according to Varisys and A-Eon it isn't:

    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?forum=3&topic_id=7183&start=472

    > OS4 doesn't support nearly half of board features now.

    I think it supports more than half.

    > XCore is not UNUSABLE chip [...]. it can do things like SMART HOME CONTROL.

    Which, as I said, would make no sense to me on something like the X1000.

    > A real DSP on board would be way more Amigish, like Falcon had.

    Atari computers are "Amigish"? Interesting note :-)

    > they did false advertising with its comparison to Transputer

    Let's see what "they" actually claim with regard to Transputer:

    "XMOS calls it "Software Defined Silicon", we call it 'Xena' [...]. It's the inheritor of the 'transputer' concept [...]. [...] you might have a Xorro board with an array of additional XMOS chips on, connected together to allow highly multi-threaded applications to run in parallel, in a similar fashion to the famous Transputer concept, the predecessor of the XMOS technology."
    http://www.a-eon.biz/nemo.html

    I can't really see anything "false" in these claims.

    > and adding more Xena cores (how when Xorro isn`t it? Via USB? PCI?)

    http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=1135
  • »03.03.14 - 18:09
    Profile
  • vox
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    vox
    Posts: 524 from 2003/11/25
    From: Belgrade
    Actually, the PA6T-1682M was originally (i.e. before becoming embedded part) intended to be a notebook type CPU.

    > of G5 CPU

    "G5" is usually considered as belonging to PPC970 microarchitecture family. However, the PA6T is a unique microarchitecture of its own, developed from scratch.

    True, but actually all G designations are Apple designations for chip generation, and dont exist. Its kind of PentiumPro or 64-bit modern arhitecture designation.
    At least I download Mint PPC G5 64-bit and it does work on PA Semi.

    PA Semi is great chip, sadly I have just its only

    > It seems Pa Semi on Nemo is downclocked to 1.8GHz from 2Ghz

    No, according to Varisys and A-Eon it isn't:

    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?forum=3&topic_id=7183&start=472

    Well I don`t believe them a bit. My chip is clocked at 1.8Ghz and originally it was introduced as 2Ghz only. Its now possible to buy it at 2Ghz at selected dealers.

    http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=2199


    > OS4 doesn't support nearly half of board features now.

    I think it supports more than half.

    Trust me, less then half. DOnt let me count em.

    > XCore is not UNUSABLE chip [...]. it can do things like SMART HOME CONTROL.

    Which, as I said, would make no sense to me on something like the X1000.

    It can make sense if you make use of it, sadly its not boosted in any proper way. My hardware boys find interesting possible uses, but its MUCH MUCH hustle.

    > A real DSP on board would be way more Amigish, like Falcon had.

    Atari computers are "Amigish"? Interesting note :-)

    Falcon is. more then crippled A600, A1200, A4000 and CD32.

    > they did false advertising with its comparison to Transputer

    Let's see what "they" actually claim with regard to Transputer:

    "XMOS calls it "Software Defined Silicon", we call it 'Xena' [...]. It's the inheritor of the 'transputer' concept [...]. [...] you might have a Xorro board with an array of additional XMOS chips on, connected together to allow highly multi-threaded applications to run in parallel, in a similar fashion to the famous Transputer concept, the predecessor of the XMOS technology."
    http://www.a-eon.biz/nemo.html

    I can't really see anything "false" in these claims.

    Don`t let me find all adverts from that time.

    > and adding more Xena cores (how when Xorro isn`t it? Via USB? PCI?)

    http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=1135


    I have wrote only review of Xena and X1000, thanks.
    ------------------------------------------
    iMac G5 1GB with MorphOS and MacOS X
    Lame PC with AmiKit XE
    YT channel https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCdHl_msNWHEVPf229h_gijQ
    Telegram Amiga group: https://t.me/amigaranchorelaxo
  • »04.03.14 - 11:01
    Profile
    • Moderator
      Kronos
      Posts: 2243 from 2003/2/24
      a) the Falcon is just as crippled as A600 and A1200.... 16bit bus on a 030?? WTF !!!
      b) all P6T are 1.8 anything 2.0 is overclocked
      c) learn proper quoting!!
    • »04.03.14 - 12:02
      Profile
    • Acolyte of the Butterfly
      Acolyte of the Butterfly
      KimmoK
      Posts: 102 from 2003/5/19
      >>vox wrote:

      >Well I don`t believe them a bit. My chip is clocked at 1.8Ghz and originally it was introduced as 2Ghz only. Its now possible to buy it at 2Ghz at selected dealers.

      To my understanding it is not possible to be bought as 2Ghz chip, because all chips ever manufactured were 1.8Ghz parts (run also at 2Ghz, though, but only as overclocked a little).

      (you could sue those marketing those 2Ghz chips perhaps)

      >>> OS4 doesn't support nearly half of board features now.
      >>I think it supports more than half.
      >Trust me, less then half. DOnt let me count em.

      I try.

      >CPU: PA Semi Dual-core PA6T-1682M, nominal 2.0GHz (1.8GHz standard) PowerISAâ„¢ v2.04+

      Supported as well as existing OS can do it.

      (Second core is not supported by AOS4 as AOS4 is not capable to do SMP yet. And IIRC, GCC for AOS4 does not yet fully optimize for PA6T.)

      >4x DDR2 RAM slots
      >10x USB 2.0
      >1x Gigabit Ethernet
      >2x PCIe x16 slots (1x16 or 2x8)
      >2x PCIe x1 slots
      >2x PCI legacy slots

      All supported.

      >2x RS232

      I think they are supported.

      >1x Xorro slot and xena

      Supported in some ways (similarly as the FPGA of SAM?)
      So far no developer has done anything signifficant with it and one can not blame a-eon for that I think.

      Other supported/in use things are:
      Onboard SATA2(not perfectly IIRC), audio,

      GPU is poorly supported, only in 2D+compositing when AOS4 is used.
      There is no 3D driver for modern GPUs on PPC amigalikes.

      Not sure if onboard PATA is supported.

      Anyway, it would be nice to see the lest of the another half of HW features that are not supported.

      >>> A real DSP on board would be way more Amigish, like Falcon had.
      >>Atari computers are "Amigish"? Interesting note :-)
      >Falcon is. more then crippled A600, A1200, A4000 and CD32.

      LOL!
      Btw PA6T has huge DSP performance via Altivec. And xena can do DSP functions also (just inferior when compared to Altivec capabilities).

      xena is a bridge chip. One can use it to do things like bridge to A1200 trapdoor connector (like original eyetech/AInc idea was). (I'm sure no one will do that bridge) Another example would be to bridge legacy ports via xena and the available xorro prototyping board.

      >> and adding more Xena cores (how when Xorro isn`t it? Via USB? PCI?)

      To my understanding xcore links are available on the xorro slot. One should be able to add matrix of xcore chips there.

      and...
      >Cyrus was introduced rendering Nemo obsolete - correcting X1000 biggest gap and that is low CPU performance.

      As long as AOS4 SW is not capable of using multiple cores, but capable of using Altivec of PA6T, Cyrus is not much faster.

      >Sadly its again two versions of Cyrus with CPU soldered instead of one board with changeable CPU.

      I think that would require a CPU card. And it would make Cyrus more expensive.
      And there is three cyrus versions in the plans. x3500, x5000/20 and x5000/40.
      (I think they should forget the x3500, though ... unless they manage to come close to SAM460 price)

      IMO: x1000 is great HW. Only too expensive for me and for (too) many others.

      [ Edited by KimmoK 04.03.2014 - 15:30 ]
      :-x :-P 8-)
    • »04.03.14 - 14:09
      Profile
    • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
      Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
      boot_wb
      Posts: 874 from 2007/4/9
      From: Kingston upon ...
      Quote:

      vox wrote:

      >> XCore is not UNUSABLE chip [...]. it can do things like SMART HOME CONTROL.

      >Which, as I said, would make no sense to me on something like the X1000.

      It can make sense if you make use of it, sadly its not boosted in any proper way. My hardware boys find interesting possible uses, but its MUCH MUCH hustle.


      This keeps coming up, and I've yet to see a reason why this is something for which one would choose X-Core/Xena/Xorro (I'll just stick with 'X' from now on).
      Sure, it's possible, but why is it desirable? In what way does this utilise X's 'special properties (low latency, multithreading, programmable, high bandwidth CPU connection)? How useful are these strengths in home automation (lighting, thermostatic, intruder detection, communication, audio/video switching, etc).

      It really confuses me every time this is mentioned.

      Sure, you can probably find something useful for it to do, but something that justifies its existence on the board in the first place?
      Why is it a) there, and b) connected to the CPU like that. What practical application does that enrich above sticking it on a PCI card and calling it an 'option'?
      www.hullchimneyservices.co.uk

      UI: Powerbook 5,6 (1.67GHz, 128MB VRam): OS3.1, OSX 10.5.8
      HTPC: Mac Mini G4 (1,5GHz, 64MB VRam): OS3.1 (ZVNC)
      Audiophile: Efika 5200b (SB Audigy): OS3.1 (VNC + Virtual Monitor)

      Windows free since 2011!
    • »04.03.14 - 16:00
      Profile Visit Website
    • vox
    • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
      Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
      vox
      Posts: 524 from 2003/11/25
      From: Belgrade
      Quote:

      Kronos wrote:
      a) the Falcon is just as crippled as A600 and A1200.... 16bit bus on a 030?? WTF !!!
      b) all P6T are 1.8 anything 2.0 is overclocked
      c) learn proper quoting!!


      Well, yes 16 bit buts is a limit, not a first time for Atari,
      but in its era, Falcon is advance over TT, while A4000 is
      hardly an advance over A3000 if A3000 had AGA.


      You are knowledgeable person, all PA Semis were 2Ghz
      http://arstechnica.com/uncategorized/2007/02/8828/
      http://www.pcworld.idg.com.au/article/171883/startup_launches_its_first_power-efficient_chip/
      http://www.google.rs/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=3&ved=0CD8QFjAC&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.hotchips.org%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2Fhc_archives%2Fhc18%2F2_Mon%2FHC18.S2%2FHC18.S2T1.pdf&ei=HwYWU5bLLePD4gTP14H4Bg&usg=AFQjCNF_TJpe7b-6qxepLvp2gxiJVbS9MQ&sig2=AT8m9NA-A5VWPqcpgJYIhA&bvm=bv.62286460,d.bGE

      Board could have better quoting system. But I can do old school >>> BBBS style.
      ------------------------------------------
      iMac G5 1GB with MorphOS and MacOS X
      Lame PC with AmiKit XE
      YT channel https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCdHl_msNWHEVPf229h_gijQ
      Telegram Amiga group: https://t.me/amigaranchorelaxo
    • »04.03.14 - 16:59
      Profile
    • vox
    • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
      Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
      vox
      Posts: 524 from 2003/11/25
      From: Belgrade
      Quote:

      KimmoK wrote:
      >>vox wrote:

      >Well I don`t believe them a bit. My chip is clocked at 1.8Ghz and originally it was introduced as 2Ghz only. Its now possible to buy it at 2Ghz at selected dealers.

      To my understanding it is not possible to be bought as 2Ghz chip, because all chips ever manufactured were 1.8Ghz parts (run also at 2Ghz, though, but only as overclocked a little).

      (you could sue those marketing those 2Ghz chips perhaps)

      >>> OS4 doesn't support nearly half of board features now.
      >>I think it supports more than half.
      >Trust me, less then half. DOnt let me count em.

      I try.


      USB 3.0 not supported
      3D graphics of my RadeonHD not supported
      1GB VRAM only 256MB
      4MB DDR2 only 2MB
      SD Card not visible
      Second core not visible
      Onboard ethernet NOT SUPPORTED
      Xena/Xorro - basic from AMigaOS, none from Linux

      Only SATA/IDE/PATA, USB 2.0, 2D and AudioHD are.
      CFE will not be updated, reads only FAT32 and ETX3.
      This is BIG prob.

      Anyway, it is great HARDWARE, way better then SAM460ex
      but yet SAM460ex is way better used from software point of side.

      Only LInux on X1000 makes it usable machine.

      Now, since there will be no MOS on X1000, lets go back to SAM460ex




      [ Edited by vox 04.03.2014 - 17:05 ]
      ------------------------------------------
      iMac G5 1GB with MorphOS and MacOS X
      Lame PC with AmiKit XE
      YT channel https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCdHl_msNWHEVPf229h_gijQ
      Telegram Amiga group: https://t.me/amigaranchorelaxo
    • »04.03.14 - 17:03
      Profile
    • Moderator
      Kronos
      Posts: 2243 from 2003/2/24
      Quote:

      vox wrote:
      Well, yes 16 bit buts is a limit, not a first time for Atari,
      but in its era, Falcon is advance over TT, while A4000 is
      hardly an advance over A3000 if A3000 had AGA.


      And if pigs had wings...
      The Falcon had plenty HW bodged together with 0 SW support, AGA in the A4000 was useable from day one, and a 040 was no CPU to frown upon at that time.
      Quote:


      You are knowledgeable person, all PA Semis were 2Ghz
      http://arstechnica.com/uncategorized/2007/02/8828/
      http://www.pcworld.idg.com.au/article/171883/startup_launches_its_first_power-efficient_chip/
      http://www.google.rs/url?.......................



      Quote:

      Kronos wrote:
      The nemo ain't underclocked, PASemi overhyped their 1.8GHz CPU as a 2GHz part.


      ;-)
    • »04.03.14 - 17:06
      Profile
    • Yokemate of Keyboards
      Yokemate of Keyboards
      Andreas_Wolf
      Posts: 12086 from 2003/5/22
      From: Germany
      >> "G5" is usually considered as belonging to PPC970 microarchitecture family.
      >> However, the PA6T is a unique microarchitecture of its own, developed from
      >> scratch.

      > True, but actually all G designations are Apple designations for chip generation

      "G5" is the name Apple has used only for the PPC970 family, which the PA6T doesn't belong to (even though the PWRficient was originally intended to be for the Apple notebooks what the PPC970 was for the Apple desktops and workstations). So I wouldn't call the PA6T a "type of G5 CPU".

      > Its kind of PentiumPro or 64-bit modern arhitecture designation.

      Sorry, I don't understand this, and especially not as a reasoning as to why the PA6T should be called a "G5".

      > Mint PPC G5 64-bit [...] does work on PA Semi.

      The PPC64-compiled *userland* running on top of the Linux kernel works on any PPC64 CPU, but you need a special PA6T Linux kernel as the PPC970 Linux kernel doesn't run on the PA6T as is (nor on any other PPC64 CPU). That should tell you that the PA6T is no "G5".

      > PA Semi is great chip

      No, it was a company that was purchased by another company. The chip is called PWRficient PA6T-1682M (full name).

      >>> It seems Pa Semi on Nemo is downclocked to 1.8GHz from 2Ghz

      >> No, according to Varisys and A-Eon it isn't:
      >> https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?forum=3&topic_id=7183&start=472

      > I don`t believe them a bit.

      Fortunately what you do or don't believe doesn't change the facts. I for one trust Varisys in their statement, and EETimes agrees with that:

      "Apple sent a letter to the DoD saying it will assure production of the 1.8 GHz PWRficient processor for three to five years, said one source who saw the letter but asked not to be named."
      http://www.eetimes.com/document.asp?doc_id=1309557

      > originally it was introduced as 2Ghz only.

      No, the PA6T was introduced (read: announced) as running *up to* 2.0 GHz, but they didn't follow through on that announcement. That's what Varisys and A-Eon have said in the link I gave you, and what Kronos has told you right here in this thread.

      > Its now possible to buy it at 2Ghz at selected dealers.
      > http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=2199

      No, it's not. It's still running at 1.8 GHz. Trevor even clarifies that right in the thread you link to. May I propose that you go out of your way and read your own link?

      >>> OS4 doesn't support nearly half of board features now.

      >> I think it supports more than half.

      > Trust me

      I won't, that's for sure. You utter way too much false statements and also outright nonsense ad nauseam, even after confronted with evidence, for me to trust you.

      > less then half. DOnt let me count em.

      Please do count them. Else I won't believe you but instead maintain my opinion that OS4 supports more than half of the Nemo features.

      >>> A real DSP on board would be way more Amigish, like Falcon had.

      >> Atari computers are "Amigish"? Interesting note :-)

      > Falcon is. more then crippled A600, A1200, A4000 and CD32.

      Your statement that the Atari Falcon is more "Amigish" than Amiga 600, Amiga 1200, Amiga 4000 or Amiga CD32 is laughable at best. It may work if you define Atari as "Amiga" and Amiga as "non-Amiga", but why should anyone do such nonsense? Amigas are "Amigish" by definition, that's the meaning of the word. The Falcon is clearly "Atarish".

      >>> they did false advertising with its comparison to Transputer

      >> Let's see what "they" actually claim with regard to Transputer: [...]
      >> I can't really see anything "false" in these claims.

      > Don`t let me find all adverts from that time.

      Please do, else I will continue to refute your claim of "false advertising with its comparison to Transputer".

      >>> and adding more Xena cores (how when Xorro isn`t it? Via USB? PCI?)

      >> http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=1135

      > I have wrote only review of Xena and X1000, thanks.

      Sorry, I don't understand.
    • »04.03.14 - 23:12
      Profile
    • Yokemate of Keyboards
      Yokemate of Keyboards
      Andreas_Wolf
      Posts: 12086 from 2003/5/22
      From: Germany
      >>2x RS232
      > I think they are supported. [...] Not sure if onboard PATA is supported.

      They are both: http://amigaworld.net/modules/news/article.php?storyid=6345

      > GPU is poorly supported

      GPU is no Nemo board feature anyway.

      > only in 2D+compositing when AOS4 is used.

      You can use a fully supported Radeon card with R200 GPU in a PCI slot. It will be slowish due to 32-bit 33 MHz bus, but it will work.
    • »04.03.14 - 23:35
      Profile
    • Yokemate of Keyboards
      Yokemate of Keyboards
      Andreas_Wolf
      Posts: 12086 from 2003/5/22
      From: Germany
      > A4000 is hardly an advance over A3000 if A3000 had AGA.

      But the A3000 doesn't have AGA, right? So what's the logical conclusion as per your own statement?

      > all PA Semis were 2Ghz

      No, the PA6T was not. It was and is a 1.8 GHz part which is possibly overclockable to 2.0 GHz.
    • »04.03.14 - 23:43
      Profile
    • Yokemate of Keyboards
      Yokemate of Keyboards
      Andreas_Wolf
      Posts: 12086 from 2003/5/22
      From: Germany
      >>>>> OS4 doesn't support nearly half of board features now.

      >>>> I think it supports more than half.

      >>> Trust me, less then half. DOnt let me count em.

      >> I try.

      > USB 3.0 not supported
      > 3D graphics of my RadeonHD not supported
      > 1GB VRAM only 256MB

      That's cheating as these are no Nemo board features.
    • »04.03.14 - 23:50
      Profile
    • vox
    • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
      Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
      vox
      Posts: 524 from 2003/11/25
      From: Belgrade
      Vox> True, but actually all G designations are Apple designations for chip Vox>generation

      And>"G5" is the name Apple has used only for the PPC970 family, which the PA6T And>doesn't belong to (even though the PWRficient was originally intended to be for And>the Apple notebooks what the PPC970 was for the Apple desktops and And>workstations). So I wouldn't call the PA6T a "type of G5 CPU".

      Look, its a overall designation, not a single chip, similar to PIII and PIV arhitectires. So if G5 overally designates PPC64 chip, yes PWR Eff is G5.
      Examle shown is that Mint PPC64 is called G5. I would call it, and would not be much wrong. As much as I would say my AMCC460 is G3 class chip meaning similar ahitecture and performance as Apple designated for G3s.

      Vox> Its kind of PentiumPro or 64-bit modern arhitecture designation.

      And>Sorry, I don't understand this, and especially not as a reasoning as to why the And>PA6T should be called a "G5".

      Ok, yes, you pretend to be an unformed person while you do know your ropes.

      > Mint PPC G5 64-bit [...] does work on PA Semi.

      And>The PPC64-compiled *userland* running on top of the Linux kernel works on any And>PPC64 CPU, but you need a special PA6T Linux kernel as the PPC970 Linux kernel And>doesn't run on the PA6T as is (nor on any other PPC64 CPU). That should tell And>you that the PA6T is no "G5".

      Well, in this case generic PP64 distro works, yes with insrtation of boards pecific kernel. See above discussion why I don`t link it to a single IBM CPU, which anyway had multiply variants and was never officially called G5.

      > PA Semi is great chip

      And>No, it was a company that was purchased by another company. The chip is called And>PWRficient PA6T-1682M (full name).

      Since it made only one chip and ceased to exist, it might well be the same.
      Maybe I am too lame, maybe the name is too complex.

      Vox> It seems Pa Semi on Nemo is downclocked to 1.8GHz from 2Ghz

      And>> No, according to Varisys and A-Eon it isn't:
      And> https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?forum=3&And>topic_id=7183&start=472

      And according to all PA Semi materials it never went below 2Ghz, in fact all materials including AEONs says 5W at 2Ghz.

      Vox> I don`t believe them a bit.

      And>Fortunately what you do or don't believe doesn't change the facts. I for one And>trust Varisys in their statement, and EETimes agrees with that:

      Ever heard of marketing?

      And>No, the PA6T was introduced (read: announced) as running *up to* 2.0 GHz, but And>they didn't follow through on that announcement. That's what Varisys and A-Eon And>have said in the link I gave you, and what Kronos has told you right here in And>this thread.

      True, but look at all PA Semi materials. Nevermind, it seems chip works fine at 2Ghz being overclocked, or not. Just to add spice, by default on Nemo it starts boot at just 500Mhz.

      Vox> Its now possible to buy it at 2Ghz at selected dealers.
      Cox> http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=2199

      And>No, it's not. It's still running at 1.8 GHz. Trevor even clarifies that right And>in the thread you link to. May I propose that you go out of your way and read And>your own link?


      It is still running at 1.8Ghz but its possible to buy it at 2Ghz.
      Read my lines more carefully. Yes, I have read the post I have posted.

      Vox> Trust me

      And>I won't, that's for sure. You utter way too much false statements and also And>outright nonsense ad nauseam, even after confronted with evidence, for me to And>trust you.


      Look, its doesnt matter is it half, third or 10%. Fast etherned, second core of weak CPU, more then 2GB RAM and anything beyond 2D is kind of vital to me.

      Vox> A real DSP on board would be way more Amigish, like Falcon had.

      And> Atari computers are "Amigish"? Interesting note :-)

      Vox> Falcon is. more then crippled A600, A1200, A4000 and CD32.

      And>Your statement that the Atari Falcon is more "Amigish" than Amiga 600, Amiga And>1200, Amiga 4000 or Amiga CD32 is laughable at best. It may work if you define And>Atari as "Amiga" and Amiga as "non-Amiga", but why should anyone do such And>nonsense? Amigas are "Amigish" by definition, that's the meaning of the word. And>The Falcon is clearly "Atarish".

      Let me explained, way more useful chips then not so fast AGA was introduced which has proven to be generation leap - especially because Paula remained the same. Much respect to all expansion companies, but specs of A600, A1200 and even A4000 and especially CD32 were almost obsolete day they were out. Even I had spent best days of my life with an A1200, and for example have CD32 as YT channel background as respect to first CD based game console, I do keep critic angle on how Commodore failed. And it was defenetely lack of innovation. Sadly Falcon, I never had chance to use, was quickly abandoned to Jaguar.

      So in sense in which A1000, A500 and A3000 were really steps forward,
      CDTV was nice try, and A500+,A600 and even A1200,A4000,CD32 means of cheap survival, yes, Falcon was quite Amigish.

      Vox> Let's see what "they" actually claim with regard to Transputer: [...]

      And> I can't really see anything "false" in these claims.

      Vox> Don`t let me find all adverts from that time.

      And>Please do, else I will continue to refute your claim of "false advertising And> with its comparison to Transputer".

      How Xena is very expandable? What shared arhitecture it has with Transputer concept?
      How can it be hacked? Is it a funky programmable chip? How to reach up to 400MIPS?

      http://www.osnews.com/story/22693/New_Amiga_Sports_Programmable_Co-Processor_Dualcore_PPC
      http://www.theregister.co.uk/2010/06/21/amiga_x1000/
      http://www.amigamccc.org/journal/1002x100.htm
      http://www.theinquirer.net/inquirer/blog-post/1686907/transputer-lives-amiga-one
      http://www.zdnet.com/amiga-lives-amigaone-x1000-pc-hits-beta-4010023987/

      Vox> and adding more Xena cores (how when Xorro isn`t it? Via USB? PCI?)

      And> http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=1135

      Vox> I have wrote only review of Xena and X1000, thanks.

      And>Sorry, I don't understand.


      As usual, you provide links as matter of further info, but this time it has zero relevance.

      Anyway, its much better to discuss matters, then to just post links.

      Or best, to provide your own answers and then give some nice and useful links which provide you are very good at board search engine and have good longlterm memory.

      Anyway, what is real is a discussable matter, since science is just description of given world seen through subjective lens of individual humans :-)

      Now, back to SAM460ex:

      - Will Onboard SATA be supported and is there a way to split it to two devices? Crazy thing is that onboard SATA when DMA is used is quite fast, faster then SATA card
      -Will PCI-E x1 slot be of any use under MOrphOS since its only expandable slot left when you add GFX and SATA, which you kind of must.
      -Will onboard sound and gfx be fully supported, Sillicon Motion and Cirrus Logic quite strange components, and quite bad, sadly
      -Will FPGA Be usable under MOS and do you have any ideas of its use?

      Thanks. Hope to join the ranks, which of I dream since MOS 1.x days soon.
      ------------------------------------------
      iMac G5 1GB with MorphOS and MacOS X
      Lame PC with AmiKit XE
      YT channel https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCdHl_msNWHEVPf229h_gijQ
      Telegram Amiga group: https://t.me/amigaranchorelaxo
  • »07.03.14 - 20:44
    Profile


  • This was a good guess on what I would like to do - I wanted some sort of Minimig core for Lattice, but its now best to leave all hopes away, before I get utterly disappointing like with Xorro and 60+ GBP empty Xena card :-)
    ------------------------------------------
    iMac G5 1GB with MorphOS and MacOS X
    Lame PC with AmiKit XE
    YT channel https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCdHl_msNWHEVPf229h_gijQ
    Telegram Amiga group: https://t.me/amigaranchorelaxo
  • »08.03.14 - 00:13
    Profile

  •