SDL2 sources, progress and ports
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Cool_amigaN
    Posts: 628 from 2011/11/30
    Hey, tested Shadow Warrior and it seems that color mode (in options), goes up to 8bit only? Is this correct or is this due to lack of OpenGL?

    Also, tested the redux gog version but I didn't got any high res assets (i.e the guns).

    How about you?
    Amiga gaming Tribute: Watch, rate, comment :)
  • »12.01.21 - 12:06
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 449 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    check readme or github repository : https://www.jonof.id.au/jfsw/readme.html

    But i think it's only 8bits.


    I see that in the code :
    https://github.com/jonof/jfsw/blob/c7c25aa344da1ed972dc24753b4c3394d043ccee/src/menus.c#L139
    One only mode in menu
    IMac G5 2.1,PowerMac 2.7,PowerBook 1.5
    My MOS ports
  • »12.01.21 - 13:05
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Cool_amigaN
    Posts: 628 from 2011/11/30
    Well, Windows port I tested though, indeed offers the possibility to increase the bits up to 32 (24 for us), instead of just 8 and indeed it loads the graphics of redux with higher res. guns..

    Hmmm strange..
    Amiga gaming Tribute: Watch, rate, comment :)
  • »13.01.21 - 10:27
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 449 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    ok you right, only 8bits due of lake OpenGL.
    IMac G5 2.1,PowerMac 2.7,PowerBook 1.5
    My MOS ports
  • »13.01.21 - 11:59
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Cool_amigaN
    Posts: 628 from 2011/11/30
    Damn it :/

    8bit it's bit (pun intended :P) too archaic for my tastes and the overall fps falls due to lack of proper opengl despite the game being 22 yrs old :(

    I sense that a great deal of ports will need recompile as soon the opengl issue gets addressed imho..
    Amiga gaming Tribute: Watch, rate, comment :)
  • »14.01.21 - 13:13
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 449 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    In state, jfbuild engine use OpenGL 2.1 minimum (with shaders)....
    Maybe if we can use old version of engine.... no promes.

    We working on multiplayer game.
    IMac G5 2.1,PowerMac 2.7,PowerBook 1.5
    My MOS ports
  • »14.01.21 - 13:37
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    waldiamiga
    Posts: 77 from 2007/7/25
    From: Krakow, Poland
    Quote:

    beworld wrote:
    In state, jfbuild engine use OpenGL 2.1 minimum (with shaders)....
    Maybe if we can use old version of engine.... no promes.

    We working on multiplayer game.


    Have you taken a look at Xash3D?
    Can you do something about it?
    It would be fun to play Half Life on MorphOS.

    MorphOS.pl
    PowerBook G4 1.67GHz|2GB DDR2|ATI Radeon 9700M 128MB|SSD 80GB|TFT 17"|MorphOS 3.1x
    Core i7 Notebook|WinUAE 3.x/AmigaOS4.1x & Icaros Desktop 2.x & QEmu 6.x.x
  • »15.01.21 - 23:01
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Cool_amigaN
    Posts: 628 from 2011/11/30
    ROTT works with Dark war wad :) FPS rate is fluent at least on 640x480, even though it peaks my cpu at 100% as usual :/

    However, it consumes 700MB of RAM once started. Perhaps there is something wrong going on..
    Amiga gaming Tribute: Watch, rate, comment :)
  • »16.01.21 - 19:10
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 449 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    @Cool_amigaN yes i see for 700MB memory..... but it's a quick port.... :-)
    IMac G5 2.1,PowerMac 2.7,PowerBook 1.5
    My MOS ports
  • »16.01.21 - 20:00
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Cool_amigaN
    Posts: 628 from 2011/11/30
    Alright, since I have maxed ram, tbh I don't care about the requirements, though it would be nice to have something normal.

    Think the lack of proper opengl is the true show stopper as I am worried of running the cpu at 100% for many hours straight.

    Anyway, how do you launch Shadow Warrior in multiplayer mode? This is deathmatch or coop mode?

    [ Edited by Cool_amigaN 17.01.2021 - 08:51 ]
    Amiga gaming Tribute: Watch, rate, comment :)
  • »17.01.21 - 07:50
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 449 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    Just to be clear... we are "porters" not the authors of these games engine.
    We are doing what we can to make it work as well as possible on our platform...

    Quote:


    Anyway, how do you launch Shadow Warrior in multiplayer mode? This is deathmatch or coop mode?



    Read files : readme.mos (i put an example) and more detail on realeasenotes.html

    I put readme in archive.. please read :-)

    And you can check in website of author : http://www.jonof.id.au/jfsw/index.html

    I release Duke3D, same as ShadowWarrior.
    IMac G5 2.1,PowerMac 2.7,PowerBook 1.5
    My MOS ports
  • »17.01.21 - 09:12
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    tolkien
    Posts: 394 from 2013/5/29
    JFDuke3D fails to run in my G5 morphos 3.15

    It shows this:
    (a lot of text and then....)

    Checking music inits.
    Couldn't find selected sound card, or, error w/ sound card itself.

    And then it close.
    PowerMac G5 - PowerBook G4 - MacMini with MorphOS. Amiga 1200/060 AmigaOS 3.x
  • »17.01.21 - 13:36
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 449 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    @Cool_Amiga : i upload new release with fix memory usage.

    @tolkien:
    1. Witch version of Dukem have you ?



    [ Edité par beworld 17.01.2021 - 14:31 ]
    IMac G5 2.1,PowerMac 2.7,PowerBook 1.5
    My MOS ports
  • »17.01.21 - 14:04
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    tolkien
    Posts: 394 from 2013/5/29
    Quote:

    beworld escribió:
    @Cool_Amiga : i upload new release with fix memory usage.

    @tolkien:
    1. Witch version of Dukem have you ?



    [ Edité par beworld 17.01.2021 - 14:31 ]


    I have tried again with the Atomic version with the same result.
    PowerMac G5 - PowerBook G4 - MacMini with MorphOS. Amiga 1200/060 AmigaOS 3.x
  • »17.01.21 - 14:42
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 449 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    Quote:

    tolkien a écrit :
    Quote:

    beworld escribió:
    @Cool_Amiga : i upload new release with fix memory usage.

    @tolkien:
    1. Witch version of Dukem have you ?



    [ Edité par beworld 17.01.2021 - 14:31 ]


    I have tried again with the Atomic version with the same result.



    ok you right... i dont have this version, i have with .ogg .voc .mid version.. maybe GOG version, i check why doesnt work, thanks.


    OK : game working only with ogg files for sound/music... mmmm

    Try this pak, this working... http://hendricks266.duke4.net/music_packs_sat.php

    [ Edité par beworld 17.01.2021 - 17:31 ]
    IMac G5 2.1,PowerMac 2.7,PowerBook 1.5
    My MOS ports
  • »17.01.21 - 16:48
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    tolkien
    Posts: 394 from 2013/5/29
    Yes! It works now! Thanks so much.
    PowerMac G5 - PowerBook G4 - MacMini with MorphOS. Amiga 1200/060 AmigaOS 3.x
  • »18.01.21 - 18:45
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 449 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    I have Shadow Warrior / Duke3D with OpenGL engine working :-) if you want to test it ?
    IMac G5 2.1,PowerMac 2.7,PowerBook 1.5
    My MOS ports
  • »20.01.21 - 20:21
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    tolkien
    Posts: 394 from 2013/5/29
    Oh! Yes please!
    PowerMac G5 - PowerBook G4 - MacMini with MorphOS. Amiga 1200/060 AmigaOS 3.x
  • »20.01.21 - 22:25
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Cool_amigaN
    Posts: 628 from 2011/11/30
    Up to 250 fps with OpenGL Shadow Warrior on 1280x1024@32bit fullscreen ;)

    Btw, havea very strange behavior but it might be just my system: noticed that game didn't read the muisc/*.ogg drawer from SW Redux but when I throw the files on root path it works but I get graphical glitches.

    I can confirm it by deleting the files (everything ok) and placing them back (graphical glitches).
    Amiga gaming Tribute: Watch, rate, comment :)
  • »23.01.21 - 21:50
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1121 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    beworld wrote:
    I have Shadow Warrior / Duke3D with OpenGL engine working :-) if you want to test it ?


    Any chance for OpenGL Ion Fury?
  • »23.01.21 - 21:55
    Profile
  • IKE
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    IKE
    Posts: 87 from 2009/11/7
    From: Southern CA
    At first I got a grey screen/system locked up with SW until I copied the sw.cfg file from the previous version and made the edits to it mentioned in the comments on MorphOS Storage download page. I eventually got it running and I am getting the graphical glitches also (the status display at the bottom flickers and shows “Loading...” ghosted out while flickering/flashing). The menu isn’t working properly either.

    On another note, Duke3D ran very well. I added the .ogg files and didn’t have any issues when I tried it.
    IKE

    MacMini G4 1.5Ghz/PowerBook G4 1.67Ghz/PowerMac G5 2.0Ghz DP 7,2 Radeon 9650/256MB
  • »24.01.21 - 03:33
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 449 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    @koszer: eduke32 is hard to port, last version use IPV6 functions in all code.

    @IKA:
    If no .cfg, game launch in fullscreen (640x480), maybe is a problem for you
    I test SW on my 3 machines :
    PowerMac G5 Radeon 9800Pro,IMac G5 2.1 and PowerBook G4 1.5.. i dont have any issue with first launch unless .cfg..
    IMac G5 2.1,PowerMac 2.7,PowerBook 1.5
    My MOS ports
  • »24.01.21 - 07:20
    Profile Visit Website
  • IKE
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    IKE
    Posts: 87 from 2009/11/7
    From: Southern CA
    Any update on this? Do you have a good .cfg file available?

    Thanks
    iKE
    IKE

    MacMini G4 1.5Ghz/PowerBook G4 1.67Ghz/PowerMac G5 2.0Ghz DP 7,2 Radeon 9650/256MB
  • »12.02.21 - 01:40
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 449 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    @IKE Have you 32 or 64Mb graphic video ?

    Because i buy MacMini (64Mb) to test, i can tell 64Mb video is low....
    If is the case, test with lower Ambient resolution and disable "Enhanced display" option.

    For Example prBoom-plus crash quickly in opengl with MacMini and not with my other machine with 128/256Mb....
    MilkyTracker switch window to fullscreen has same problem, so i think all port are affected.

    @all

    1. I prepare new release SDL 2.0.14 (unless hardware accelerated in first time).
    I am waiting next release of MorphOS and if nothing is fix, i release Hardware accelerated in state because 90% of my port working with it, so i think so everyone can enjoy with it.

    2. I discover a problem with installer in SDL2, neeed SDK to working correclty, i fix that on next version.

    3. I could port FluidLite with BSzili (FluidSynth version lite), i implement it on ScummVM..
    The result is very impressive in terms of MIDI sound!
    IMac G5 2.1,PowerMac 2.7,PowerBook 1.5
    My MOS ports
  • »12.02.21 - 06:44
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 449 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    You can find new release of SDL 2 here : https://www.morphos-storage.net/?id=1613254

    Don't hesites to test it.
    This is just an update with somes news features 2.0.14 (OpenURL, Menu...)
    IMac G5 2.1,PowerMac 2.7,PowerBook 1.5
    My MOS ports
  • »17.02.21 - 12:54
    Profile Visit Website