• Just looking around
    So I am new to morphos and new to Amiga but I have had many problems with using morphos. First off I am using a 1.67Ghz 2GB DDR2 17' PowerBook G4 with a fresh install. The system randomly hangs and freezes to the point where it needs to be hard rebooted multiple times a day when I am using it. Furthermore I am having a hard time running some software for the system. I found the OS4 software compatibility thing for MorphOS and installed it to try to get some OS4 software running, so far I have tried OS4 versions of several different softwares and none work on MorhphOS with the OS4 compatibility layer all giving various error messages. Maybe this has to do with it not being updated in years?

I have also had issues using software designed for morphOS. Just browsing directories is broken sometimes and results show no files in a folder randomly. Once I formatted a USB stick on morphOS put a file on it, brought it over to my windows computer and it showed up as FAT32, put a file on it, and now the USB will not work in morphos and is completely undetected. Earlier I downloaded Cinnamon writer for morhpos and tried to get it to work and the file explorer tries opening the HLA file as a folder and it shows nothing in it, so then I extracted the HLA (I really have no idea what a hla is I am pretty new with this) and it got the files out on the ramdisk, but when I tried copying them over to my hard drive, they appeared to copy but now the file explorer will not show them there... Ughhh.... this leads to my next problem where the copy and paste/drag and drop acts very wonky compared to linux, mac, windows, haiku, and everything else I have ever used. Some times files simply refuse to be copied and no dialogue appears. Other times it works, and then other times it copies and promptly the file vanishes.