Any recent statements on PCIe based G5 support?
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    zukow
    Posts: 499 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    Photo of PowerMac G5 PCie from the AmiParty in Chelm/Poland :)

    Photos from meeting

    (pmac g5 with blue competition pro joystick)

    [ Edited by zukow 25.02.2016 - 09:49 ]
  • »24.02.16 - 18:59
    Profile Visit Website
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4856 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    marmotta wrote:
    Quote:

    Jim wrote:
    Quote:

    marmotta wrote:
    The simples solution is not dual video card? Original Apple card for OpenFirmware and Osx, and another card (normal RadeonHD pc card) for Morphos. With two monitors or switch.

    P.s. second video card is also good for linux ;-)


    That would depend on how MorphOS initiates video cards, as MorphOS can only use one Radeon card.
    If the card you want to run OSX or Linux with initializes before the card you want to run MorphOS on, your solution won't work.

    I have a PCIe riser with a molex power plug that I may modify for this use.
    Add a switch to turn off the power, no card is seen and the OS will boot off the PC card.




    You can swap the radeonhd on pcie 16x and original Apple Nvidia on 8x, linux go without problems with RadeonHD.

    Look this tread:

    Ubuntu Forum

    Edit: the best for compatibility is use RadeonHd on 8x pcie


    That would work, Radeon PC card for MorphOS and Nvidia Apple card for OSX.
    If you connected both to the same monitor you could probably limit your system to one display without using a VGA or DVI switch.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »24.02.16 - 19:54
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10541 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Photo of PowerMac G5 PCie from the AmiParty in Chelm/Poland :)
    > [...]

    Splendid :-)

    (original resolution)
  • »24.02.16 - 20:24
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4856 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > Photo of PowerMac G5 PCie from the AmiParty in Chelm/Poland :)
    > [...]

    Splendid :-)

    (original resolution)


    Now that is a good photo (at least the resolution is pretty damned good).
    But I can't pinpoint anything that would ID the system the OS is running on.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »24.02.16 - 22:33
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    connor
    Posts: 502 from 2007/7/29
    TRy right mouse key and download picture as file.
  • »25.02.16 - 15:55
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Drako^lM
    Posts: 132 from 2005/8/10
    From: Poland , Chelm
    Quote:

    Jim wrote:
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > Photo of PowerMac G5 PCie from the AmiParty in Chelm/Poland :)
    > [...]

    Splendid :-)

    (original resolution)


    Now that is a good photo (at least the resolution is pretty damned good).
    But I can't pinpoint anything that would ID the system the OS is running on.


    Yes I can confirm that we have it on AmiParty.
    Rzookol show it . And system run nice and very fast .
    Hardware :
    Power Mac G5 2.3 Ghz & MorphOS 3.x & OSX 10.5
    Mini G4 1.5 Ghz & MorphOS 3.x
    BlaBla Team Member -> http://blabla.ppa.pl
    AmiParty Team Member - http://www.chal.pl/
  • »25.02.16 - 19:09
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    zukow
    Posts: 499 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    ok, it seems that there was only one lame photo of my pmac g5 on this meeting so:

    g5pcie.png

    BTW. G5 PCIe port is highly experimental and for 99% won't be available in MorphOS 3.10 (3.11, 3.12, ...) because more important things have higher priority.
  • »25.02.16 - 19:55
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    marmotta
    Posts: 27 from 2012/6/11
    Quote:

    zukow wrote:
    ok, it seems that there was only one lame photo of my pmac g5 on this meeting so:

    g5pcie.png

    BTW. G5 PCIe port is highly experimental and for 99% won't be available in MorphOS 3.10 (3.11, 3.12, ...) because more important things have higher priority.


    It is a shame :-(
  • »26.02.16 - 08:52
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4856 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    zukow wrote:
    ok, it seems that there was only one lame photo of my pmac g5 on this meeting so:

    g5pcie.png

    BTW. G5 PCIe port is highly experimental and for 99% won't be available in MorphOS 3.10 (3.11, 3.12, ...) because more important things have higher priority.


    OK, that definitely IS a PCIe G5.
    But what things would have higher priority?
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »27.02.16 - 00:47
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    amigadave
    Posts: 2606 from 2006/3/21
    From: Lake Arrowhead...
    Quote:

    Jim wrote:
    OK, that definitely IS a PCIe G5.
    But what things would have higher priority?


    Probably polishing up the work done to make MorphOS boot on the X5000 and/or 3D support for some of the RadeonHD video cards.

    If not those two reasons, then perhaps they are closer to having an x64 release and want to complete a first version of that, instead of spending more time on the last unsupported G5 PowerMac models.

    Unless I missed some news recently, the video card support for RadeonHD to be used in the X5000 is/was not up to the usual release standards of the MorphOS Dev. Team, so it would make sense to me that they improve that area with a higher priority than supporting the PCIe G5 PowerMac models.
    MorphOS - The best Next Gen Amiga choice.
  • »27.02.16 - 01:32
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4856 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    OK, I can understand the argument in placing priority on the Radeon HD video card drivers.
    We already have a very good R500 driver, but why limit us to the X1950XTX as our best performing video card?
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »28.02.16 - 16:49
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    marmotta
    Posts: 27 from 2012/6/11
    I think the projects is related, x5000 (pcie) and radeonhd is the same goal for G5 pcie work.
  • »28.02.16 - 19:24
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1724 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    Well, it can be like with the iMac G5 port not happening: some crucial parts are not working properly and thus the port is on ice. Until the Team says that a PowerMac 11.2 port is on it's way it might as well not exist at all for all we care.
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »28.02.16 - 20:38
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    amigadave
    Posts: 2606 from 2006/3/21
    From: Lake Arrowhead...
    Quote:

    Jim wrote:
    OK, I can understand the argument in placing priority on the Radeon HD video card drivers.
    We already have a very good R500 driver, but why limit us to the X1950XTX as our best performing video card?


    Is that a "rhetorical" question? Not sure I understand your meaning, in the question posed in that last sentence.
    MorphOS - The best Next Gen Amiga choice.
  • »28.02.16 - 21:01
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4856 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    amigadave wrote:
    Quote:

    Jim wrote:
    OK, I can understand the argument in placing priority on the Radeon HD video card drivers.
    We already have a very good R500 driver, but why limit us to the X1950XTX as our best performing video card?


    Is that a "rhetorical" question? Not sure I understand your meaning, in the question posed in that last sentence.


    Sorry, poorly worded, and yes rhetorical.
    Although, I would probably be satisfied with PCIe G5 support, rather than worry about better video cards.
    The majority of prospective X5000 customers probably don't share that view.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »28.02.16 - 21:11
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    marmotta
    Posts: 27 from 2012/6/11
    No any news for G5 PCIE support in the next mos release? (with radeon card)
  • »11.04.16 - 00:44
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4856 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    marmotta wrote:
    No any news for G5 PCIE support in the next mos release? (with radeon card)


    Probably not going to be announced until introduced.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »11.04.16 - 20:45
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1339 from 2003/4/13
    Bump!

    I had the opportunity to buy a sweet G5 Quad 2.5 for a very reasonable price today. I have no interest in the X5000, but I am interested PCIe G5. Every-time I upgrade my MOS machine, I sell one of my registered older ones locally, creating a brand new MOS user.
  • »27.08.18 - 02:09
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    stephen_robinson
    Posts: 742 from 2007/4/22
    I've finally decided I no longer have the space to keep my boxed Quad G5, time has marched on and web browsers for Snow (d'oh!) Leopard are getting more progressively outdated,

    So I'll be selling my Radeon equiped, maxed out Quad 2.5, so knowing my luck, 40 seconds after I sell it they'll be a release of MorphOS for it.

    I'll take one for the team!

    Actually, I can't get over how much the price has collapsed on these things, still I'll still have my dual 2 which does run MorphOS

    [ Edited by stephen_robinson 27.08.2018 - 09:53 ]
  • »27.08.18 - 07:18
    Profile
  • ASiegel
    Posts: 1139 from 2003/2/15
    From: Central Europe
    Quote:

    stephen_robinson wrote:
    I've finally decided I no longer have the space to keep my boxed Quad G5, time has marched on and web browsers for Snow Leopard are getting more progressively outdated,

    In what way? Both leopard-webkit and TenFourFox use fairly recent browser versions.

    (Snow Leopard is for Intel systems only, by the way.)

    Quote:

    Actually, I can't get over how much the price has collapsed on these things, still I'll still have my dual 2 which does run MorphOS

    A quad G5 is a bit of a waste when you only use one core running MorphOS anyway.
  • »27.08.18 - 08:06
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    stephen_robinson
    Posts: 742 from 2007/4/22
    Yeah, but it's DDR2, not DDR1, and it's 2.5 cf 2! that's .5 betters!

    Also I've got a dual 2 and a Quad 2.5 these things are huge and heavy, if MorphOS was available for the Quad 2.5 it would be a non-brainer to get rid of the 2, but it isn't. Unless anyone else knows better?
  • »27.08.18 - 10:07
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 80 from 2017/9/10
    i have a quad g5 and a radeonhd on it ... waiting for mos on the quad here from much much time.
    I hope it will be releasede before Qemu will be more faster than my real quad....
  • »27.08.18 - 12:32
    Profile