• Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    amigadave
    Quote:

eliot wrote:
    Well, I studied computer science and I am developing in java,c, c++, objective c for linux, mac, windows, ios and android.
    MorphOs is not really attractive to me.
    The the API, the documentation and tools are quite different compared to other platforms.
    What I am missing:

- Documentation in HTML (sorted by classes, structs, functions, topics)
    - Gcc 4.8.x with c++11 support
    - Gdb
    - Virtual Memory (+protection)
    - Tools like EMacs, Clion, git, sshd
    - CMake
    - Libraries in c++
    - Frameworks like Qt and Posix support
    - Multiuser
    - Package Management

From a technical point of view MorphOs is really rusty and there aren't any reasons for other developers
    to switch to MorphOS.

So in the end, I am still waiting for MorphOs NG, which throws away the old API and starts with a fresh approach.

To the current MorphOS developers: Can you give us some good reasons to develop for MorphOS?

It is good to get the opinion from outside programmers, like yourself (who can speak from your experience programming for Linux & pther platforms). As jacadcaps wrote, some of the things you are missing might be available sometime in the future, but no one in this community wants to turn MorphOS into an exact copy of Linux, what would be the point in that?