BluRay
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    bash64
    Posts: 898 from 2010/10/29
    From: USA
    by Andreas_Wolf on 2010/11/25 20:28:42

    > BluRay quality works fine (even on a 1ghz machine) as
    > long as the video conforms to standards. I can prove
    > that it will work on a 1ghz machine if need be, just
    > pop the old processor back in.

    >Yes, please do so, because I'm in doubt.

    I'll get back with you on that.
    It is the ThanksGiving and I have little time right now. Try to test it by Monday.
    Powerbook G4 1.67ghz 2GB, ATI 9700M Pro 128mb
    1TB hd, DL-DVD Burner, Netgear pcmcia wireless card.
    Powermac G5 2.3ghz 2GB, ATI 9600 Pro
    ImageFX 4.5, PageStream 3.3, PhotoGenics 5.0
  • »26.11.10 - 01:31
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Zylesea
    Posts: 2028 from 2003/6/4
    With some codecs even 720p is too demanding on my 1.5 GHz mini. The h264 files my el cheapo camcorder recordes are too heavy:

    Ram Disk:> linda:MPlayer/MPlayer Jenny:Freiburg-Kurs/videos/präp1.MOV -benchmark -lavdopts skiploopfilter=all
    MPlayer SVN-r31036-4.2.4 (C) 2000-2010 MPlayer Team
    150 audio & 337 video codecs

    Playing Jenny:Freiburg-Kurs/videos/präp1.MOV.
    libavformat file format detected.
    [lavf] Video stream found, -vid 0
    [lavf] Audio stream found, -aid 1
    VIDEO: [H264] 1280x720 24bpp 29.970 fps 5348.1 kbps (652.8 kbyte/s)
    Clip info:
    major_brand: qt
    minor_version: 0
    compatible_brands: qt
    VO: [cgx_overlay_gui] Hello!
    VO: [cgx_overlay] Hello!
    ==========================================================================
    Opening video decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg's libavcodec codec family
    Selected video codec: [ffh264] vfm: ffmpeg (FFmpeg H.264)
    ==========================================================================
    ==========================================================================
    Opening audio decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg/libavcodec audio decoders
    AUDIO: 48000 Hz, 2 ch, s16be, 128.0 kbit/8.33% (ratio: 16000->192000)
    Selected audio codec: [ffaac] afm: ffmpeg (FFmpeg AAC (MPEG-2/MPEG-4 Audio))
    ==========================================================================
    AHI: Using 10584 bytes per chunk and 330 Kb for buffer
    AO: [ahi] 48000Hz 2ch s16be (2 bytes per sample)
    Starting playback...
    Movie-Aspect is 1.78:1 - prescaling to correct movie aspect.
    VO: [cgx_overlay] 1280x720 => 1280x720 Planar YV12
    VO: [cgx_overlay] Window mode.
    VO: [cgx_overlay] : window size: 1280x720.
    VO: Disabling blanker
    VO: [cgx_overlay] : cgxvideo.library >= 43.6 detected, using doublebuffer
    VO: [cgx_overlay] : using draw_slice_420p (PLANAR) primitive


    BENCHMARKs: VC: 131.194s VO: 35.682s A: 4.416s Sys: 0.401s = 171.693s
    BENCHMARK%: VC: 76.4117% VO: 20.7823% A: 2.5721% Sys: 0.2338% = 100.0000%
    VO: Enabling blanker

    The -framedrop option makes it useable and sync'ed, but then there are really nasty framedrops (of up to more than 0.5s) during playback.
    --
    http://www.via-altera.de

    Whenever you're sad just remember the world is 4.543 billion years old and you somehow managed to exist at the same time as David Bowie.
    ...and Matthias , my friend - RIP
  • »26.11.10 - 01:45
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    bash64
    Posts: 898 from 2010/10/29
    From: USA
    Try:
    >mplayer {filename} -lavdopts skiploopfilter=nonkey -nodouble
    Powerbook G4 1.67ghz 2GB, ATI 9700M Pro 128mb
    1TB hd, DL-DVD Burner, Netgear pcmcia wireless card.
    Powermac G5 2.3ghz 2GB, ATI 9600 Pro
    ImageFX 4.5, PageStream 3.3, PhotoGenics 5.0
  • »26.11.10 - 01:49
    Profile Visit Website
  • Fab
  • MorphOS Developer
    Fab
    Posts: 1331 from 2003/6/16
    @Zylesea

    What's the original duration of this clip?

    @bash64

    I don't remember having an issue with youtube hd clips. They have generally even a quite lower bitrate, making them a bit faster to decode.
    Any actual sample?
  • »26.11.10 - 08:42
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Zylesea
    Posts: 2028 from 2003/6/4
    Quote:


    Fab schrieb:
    @Zylesea

    What's the original duration of this clip?




    152s
    --
    http://www.via-altera.de

    Whenever you're sad just remember the world is 4.543 billion years old and you somehow managed to exist at the same time as David Bowie.
    ...and Matthias , my friend - RIP
  • »26.11.10 - 09:59
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jcmarcos
    Posts: 1178 from 2003/3/13
    From: Pinto, Madrid ...
    Quote:

    Zylesea wrote:

    With some codecs even 720p is too demanding on my 1.5 GHz mini. The h264 files my el cheapo camcorder recordes are too heavy.


    Sorry for the break, by I want to point that something that hopefully you all knew:: For those videos that your powerful computer can't play, they can be both played and encoded (!) by that tiny computer inside the cheapo videocamera... ¡on batteries!

    Specialized hardware does marvels...
  • »26.11.10 - 10:42
    Profile
  • Fab
  • MorphOS Developer
    Fab
    Posts: 1331 from 2003/6/16
    @Zylesea

    Ok, so if it was running at 25fps, it would run correctly.

    That being said, you might also want to use latest MPlayer version. I remember h264 was optimized at some point, but i don't remember when.
  • »26.11.10 - 11:11
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11572 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > they can be both played and encoded (!) by that tiny computer inside
    > the cheapo videocamera.

    Is it running MorphOS? *SCNR* ;-)
  • »26.11.10 - 11:27
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Zylesea
    Posts: 2028 from 2003/6/4
    Missed the last MPlayer update. Guess I was on vaccation in France (and Spain - Catalunya to be precise) at that time. Am downloading it now.

    The high fps rates are annoing a bit. In 480p mode the camcorder recordes at 60 fps. So even a 480p video is stressing the Mac mini maximally. But still it works on the mini w/ MorphOS and your MPlayer port better than on many other solutions.

    edit:
    same video yields this result now:
    BENCHMARKs: VC: 119.713s VO: 34.569s A: 5.638s Sys: 0.436s = 160.356s
    BENCHMARK%: VC: 74.6542% VO: 21.5575% A: 3.5162% Sys: 0.2721% = 100.0000%

    Framedrop otion leads to some console output:
    Too many buffered pts
    Too many buffered pts
    Too many buffered pts
    Too many buffered pts
    Too many buffered pts
    Too many buffered pts
    Too many buffered pts
    ...


    [ Editiert durch Zylesea an 2010/11/26 13:44 ]

    [ Editiert durch Zylesea an 2010/11/26 13:55 ]
    --
    http://www.via-altera.de

    Whenever you're sad just remember the world is 4.543 billion years old and you somehow managed to exist at the same time as David Bowie.
    ...and Matthias , my friend - RIP
  • »26.11.10 - 12:27
    Profile Visit Website
  • Fab
  • MorphOS Developer
    Fab
    Posts: 1331 from 2003/6/16
    160s to play this 152s clip. That's quite close, at least. A real AGP transfer might be enough to make it fast enough, i guess.:)

    And yes, framedrop option doesn't deal very well with H264 decoder.
  • »26.11.10 - 13:20
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    koan
    Posts: 303 from 2005/11/21
    From: UK
    When I use mplayer to play DVDs that have high bit rate scenes I find that one of two things can happen:

    a. Sound starts to be clipped and sounds "electronic".

    or

    b. Frame rate slows down to stop while sound continues to play, when the decoder reaches lower bit rate video the decoded frames are pushed out of the buffer at faster than normal speed until sound and video are synced again.

    This only happens with a few of my DVDs and only once per DVD. I set an 8MB cache in the options. I tried pausing the movie in the hope that this will let the decoder catch up, but it doesn't work. I shall have to investigate -framedrop.
  • »26.11.10 - 14:48
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4957 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:


    bash64 wrote:
    Try:
    >mplayer {filename} -lavdopts skiploopfilter=nonkey -nodouble



    Interesting use of options for a relative new comer. I tried these on yhe 1080p file I previously mentioned and there was a definate improvement.
    Still not fast enough with a 933Mhz processor, but much better.
    I'll have to try again once I get the 1.8 Ghz processor I've ordered is installed.
    This might just be fast enough.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »26.11.10 - 14:49
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4957 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Damn, the Sonnett upgrade arrived and and I don't have a copy of OSX to install the patch!
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »26.11.10 - 15:43
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    bash64
    Posts: 898 from 2010/10/29
    From: USA
    @zylesea
    What update did you miss? Perhaps I am missing it. I am using 7-20.

    @jim
    I might be a newcomer to Morph but not computers. Had my first business making Commodore 64 software. I only program in BASH, PERL, PHP nowadays. I work as an HP-UX administrator. I have the entire list of options for MPlayer in a text file and have tried most of them. I actually get much better performance playing DVDs by launching a script rather than the MPlayer GUI. I get to use a 64mb cache that way.

    @fab
    Youtube HD video clips that will not sync...search for Britney Spears HD. Yes...I listen to Britney Spears. So shoot me.
    :-)
    Powerbook G4 1.67ghz 2GB, ATI 9700M Pro 128mb
    1TB hd, DL-DVD Burner, Netgear pcmcia wireless card.
    Powermac G5 2.3ghz 2GB, ATI 9600 Pro
    ImageFX 4.5, PageStream 3.3, PhotoGenics 5.0
  • »26.11.10 - 18:39
    Profile Visit Website
  • Fab
  • MorphOS Developer
    Fab
    Posts: 1331 from 2003/6/16
    @bash64

    The GUI has absolutely no impact at all on the performance. And you can use 64MB in GUI mode too (but such a big amount is not needed).

    About Youtube, wouldn't you have a precise link (and if possible not with Britney Spears, because an unsynch'ed video clip with her sounds perfectly normal, she's probably just bad at playback ;))

    [ Edited by Fab on 2010/11/26 19:12 ]
  • »26.11.10 - 19:01
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    bash64
    Posts: 898 from 2010/10/29
    From: USA
    @fab

    Change the cache settings using the GUI to 65536.
    Save and exit.
    Go back in.
    The cache is set back to 8192.
    I'd call that a bug.
    I'd also fix it with a script, which I have.
    Also, using a 64mb buffer does make a difference when playing back DVDs on my system. Much smoother.

    Britney: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZFHflKvJrMQ

    Not sure what you mean about an unsynced video sounding good. Yeah, the audio is perfect, but the video is always out of sync. Seems to be that not all HD videos are made the same.

    If you can get this video to work I'll be shocked.



    [ Edited by bash64 on 2010/11/26 14:30 ]
    Powerbook G4 1.67ghz 2GB, ATI 9700M Pro 128mb
    1TB hd, DL-DVD Burner, Netgear pcmcia wireless card.
    Powermac G5 2.3ghz 2GB, ATI 9600 Pro
    ImageFX 4.5, PageStream 3.3, PhotoGenics 5.0
  • »26.11.10 - 19:23
    Profile Visit Website
  • Fab
  • MorphOS Developer
    Fab
    Posts: 1331 from 2003/6/16
    The cache value is set back to default because 65536 is out of range. It's limited to 65535, actually.

    Now, about the HD video, i was trying to make a joke about badly synch'ed lipdubbing during her concerts).

    I'll try this video again when youtube gives me more than 15kB/s. It's a bit painful to play a video at that speed.

    [EDIT]: Ok, i tried. This video isn't even synchronous in 360p (where CPU is obviously not an issue), so it's either a poorly encoded video or a bug in mplayer decoder/sync code.
    In 720p (with skiploopfilter=all), the CPU usage doesn't reach 100% continuously either.

    [ Edited by Fab on 2010/11/26 19:50 ]
  • »26.11.10 - 19:44
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    bash64
    Posts: 898 from 2010/10/29
    From: USA
    @fab
    I did catch the joke. She does do a lot of lip syncing so it is hard to say that something is out of sync, but not at the aweful rates the I am getting with MPlayer.
    Question: How do you play the videos?
    a) Stream using Tubexx to MPlayer.
    b) Download using Tubexx and then play using MPlayer.
    c) Use whatever method you do use to get OWB to play YouTube.

    I have not taken the time to setup option C so I am downloading to a ramdisk or streaming using Tubexx.

    Thanks for taking time to talk to the peons.
    :-)
    Powerbook G4 1.67ghz 2GB, ATI 9700M Pro 128mb
    1TB hd, DL-DVD Burner, Netgear pcmcia wireless card.
    Powermac G5 2.3ghz 2GB, ATI 9600 Pro
    ImageFX 4.5, PageStream 3.3, PhotoGenics 5.0
  • »26.11.10 - 19:50
    Profile Visit Website
  • Fab
  • MorphOS Developer
    Fab
    Posts: 1331 from 2003/6/16
    Quote:


    Question: How do you play the videos?



    Either directly from OWB (using HTML5), or with getvideo + MPlayer streaming the video.
    MPlayer has a bit less overhead than OWB in overlay mode, but not a lot.
  • »26.11.10 - 21:23
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    bash64
    Posts: 898 from 2010/10/29
    From: USA
    @fab
    OK, so the video is buggy at any resolution.
    Thanks
    I have a black-eyed peas video that plays perfect and never misses a beat with no adjustments to loop filters so no telling what will work and what won't.



    @fab
    I just played this video using a PC, it has the same sync issue. There was nothing wrong with MPlayer.
    I have NEVER in my entire life come across a YouTube music video that was out of sync. There was no reason to expect one to be that way. I discovered the video using Tubexx so I assumed the problem to be MPlayer. Gotta test on the PC side first from now on. Good grief. I thought HD videos were uploaded by the original artist, not amateurs.

    [ Edited by bash64 on 2010/11/26 17:15 ]
    Powerbook G4 1.67ghz 2GB, ATI 9700M Pro 128mb
    1TB hd, DL-DVD Burner, Netgear pcmcia wireless card.
    Powermac G5 2.3ghz 2GB, ATI 9600 Pro
    ImageFX 4.5, PageStream 3.3, PhotoGenics 5.0
  • »26.11.10 - 22:10
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11572 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I thought HD videos were uploaded by the original artist

    Don't be naive ;-)
  • »26.11.10 - 22:54
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4957 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Whether or not 1080p can be displayed by a G4 (which is still in question), doesn't anyone else besides me think that UDF compatibility would be useful.
    Right now, in order to do anything with a bluray (ripping, conversion, etc) I have to use my PC. I rather not have to resort to that.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »27.11.10 - 04:58
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    cyfm
    Posts: 483 from 2003/4/11
    From: Germany
    Quote:


    Jim schrieb:
    Whether or not 1080p can be displayed by a G4 (which is still in question), doesn't anyone else besides me think that UDF compatibility would be useful.
    Right now, in order to do anything with a bluray (ripping, conversion, etc) I have to use my PC. I rather not have to resort to that.


    Just "UDF compatibility" won't work here. I guess you are using some SlySoft tools to "do anything with a Blu-ray" and they obviously found a way to break the encryption to allow things like ripping....
    As we don't plan to move our headquarters to Antigua and we for sure don't want to mess with all the legal implications, it's unlikely you will ever see support for that in MorphOS.
  • »27.11.10 - 10:06
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    bash64
    Posts: 898 from 2010/10/29
    From: USA
    Hold on a minute.
    You don't need encryption to read a data disc do you?
    Not talking about movies right now.
    Just data.
    Powerbook G4 1.67ghz 2GB, ATI 9700M Pro 128mb
    1TB hd, DL-DVD Burner, Netgear pcmcia wireless card.
    Powermac G5 2.3ghz 2GB, ATI 9600 Pro
    ImageFX 4.5, PageStream 3.3, PhotoGenics 5.0
  • »27.11.10 - 14:08
    Profile Visit Website
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4957 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    As bash has mentioned, there are other uses. Frank, you're writing off the legal uses (as well as the questionable ones).

    And it stinks having to use a PC to access a bluray and then transfer files to my MorphOS system.

    Then there's writable blurays, a nice upgrade from DVD-R. I don't know if they require UDF or not.

    "it's unlikely you will ever see support for that in MorphOS" ouch! hopefully you mean defeat of DRM, because being able to read UDF format doesn't necessarily imply that
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »27.11.10 - 16:28
    Profile