MorphOS on Apple G4 Cube?
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Simon
    Posts: 809 from 2008/7/6
    From: Antwerp, Belgium
    I guess you can get online with an USBadapter .. not sure USBsound is supported ?
    Proud member of the Belgian Amiga Club since 2003

  • »12.08.11 - 22:38
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11444 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > USBsound is supported ?

    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=7951&forum=11&start=15
  • »13.08.11 - 01:44
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    cyfm
    Posts: 447 from 2003/4/11
    From: Germany
    Quote:


    with the exception of the network card of course



    Actually, the network can be made working with some additional tweaks, it's just the USB audio that requires way more efforts.
  • »13.08.11 - 10:43
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    stephen_robinson
    Posts: 745 from 2007/4/22
    pega-1,

    Any clues as to how?

    Also MorphOS is working pretty well, the 16MB graphics card holds it back a bit, half the blankers don't work (greyed out in the selection, which is good), and only a 2 colour mouse pointer, but other than that, certainly usable.

    Which was a real nice suprise, thanks to the MorphOS team for allowing it boot on an 'unsupported' machine.
  • »13.08.11 - 10:55
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    stephen_robinson
    Posts: 745 from 2007/4/22
    Managed to get the MorphOS/MacOSX dual boot to work, bit fiddly, and got the onboard (wired) network to work on my 450Mhz Apple Cube.

    It's what I'm using to write this...

    :-)
  • »13.08.11 - 23:14
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Simon
    Posts: 809 from 2008/7/6
    From: Antwerp, Belgium
    Does the CUBE work with MorphOS per coincedence because it has very similar hardware compared to supported hardware or did one of the devs actually had one ?
    Proud member of the Belgian Amiga Club since 2003

  • »14.08.11 - 11:20
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Simon
    Posts: 809 from 2008/7/6
    From: Antwerp, Belgium
    Something for your cube ? http://cgi.benl.ebay.be/SONNET-ENCORE-ST-G4-1G-CUBE-UPGRADE-CPU-TOOL-FAN-SCREW-/200521315531?pt=CPUs&hash=item2eb00074cb

    I bought my Sonnet 1.8ghz from them and their price isn't bad in my opinion.
    Proud member of the Belgian Amiga Club since 2003

  • »15.08.11 - 20:57
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1121 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    stephen_robinson,
    Quote:

    got the onboard (wired) network to work on my 450Mhz Apple Cube


    Cool, I thought it was impossible. This means one could actually register MorphOS on a Cube, wow.
  • »16.08.11 - 07:55
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Divinity
    Posts: 494 from 2009/9/8
    stephen_robinson,
    Quote:

    Managed to get the MorphOS/MacOSX dual boot to work, bit fiddly, and got the onboard (wired) network to work on my 450Mhz Apple Cube.

    It's what I'm using to write this...


    in MorphOS 2.7 ?
  • »16.08.11 - 20:01
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    stephen_robinson
    Posts: 745 from 2007/4/22
    Yes.
  • »16.08.11 - 22:30
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    robinson
    Posts: 5 from 2011/9/4
    Hello,

    i have just installed morphos 2.7 on my cube, but i didn't succeed in networking.
    Can someone explain what to do, please ?
  • »04.09.11 - 10:11
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    stephen_robinson
    Posts: 745 from 2007/4/22
    I was wondering if it would be worth adding the 'G4 Cube, WITH NO SOUND' to the list of the supported models when 2.8 is released?
  • »04.09.11 - 19:33
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2513 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Quote:

    i have just installed morphos 2.7 on my cube, but i didn't succeed in networking.
    Can someone explain what to do, please ?


    There isn't much you can do. We basically didn't do autonegotiation fixes for Cube, so it might work for some, it might fail for some. After all, this isn't an officially supported machine.
  • »06.09.11 - 11:28
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    amigadave
    Posts: 2789 from 2006/3/21
    From: Northern Calif...
    I've seen many accelerated Cube's for sale over the past few years. 1.6GHz to 1.8GHz seems to be the fastest speeds and often advertised.

    If the MorphOS Dev. Team finishes other more important work first, they might want to eventually support such models if it is not too difficult to do so, as they should run MorphOS quite nicely. But, I am sure there are features that are higher on their priority list of things to do (like finishing support for the G4 PowerBook). ;-)
    MorphOS - The best Next Gen Amiga choice.
  • »06.09.11 - 13:59
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    robinson
    Posts: 5 from 2011/9/4
    Thanks to stephen_robinson and pega-1,

    Owings to their help i succeed in networking on my cube, what a good surprise it's very responsive.
    Hope that there will be an issue for sound in the future.

    Regards.
  • »13.09.11 - 19:43
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    robinson
    Posts: 5 from 2011/9/4
    Hello all,

    Any news about the port of morphos 3 ?

    Any chance to have sound supported for the cube ? autherwise i probably sell it.

    Thanks for answer.

    Regards.
  • »08.02.12 - 19:05
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    stephen_robinson
    Posts: 745 from 2007/4/22
    I'm not a developer, but I doubt they'll write USB sound card drivers to be honest, after Mac Minis are 4 times as small, 3 times more powerful, and the onboard sound works..
  • »08.02.12 - 22:09
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    robinson
    Posts: 5 from 2011/9/4
    Ho, i understand... but what a shame morphos runs so well on the cube better than my mac OS X.
    only the sound is missing, i'm not a coder too but is it so difficult to port it ? and to make alive the cube...
  • »09.02.12 - 05:49
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 2045 from 2003/2/24
    http://www.morphos.de/hardware.html

    Does list

    Quote:


    USB Audio Streaming USB soundcards, headphones, etc. usbaudio.class (included)



    No I haven't tested it, and I'm not even sure it would make sense with USB1.1 (which is AFAIK all you will get with a Cube).
    --------------------- May the 4th be with you ------------------
    Mother Russia dance of the Zar, don't you know how lucky you are
  • »09.02.12 - 20:33
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Ruud
    Posts: 335 from 2009/2/2
    From: Hampshire, UK
    AFAIK the lack of isosynchronous transfer support in pciusb.device scuppers any chance of USB sound cards working on the Cube (or any other MorphOS supported mac for that matter).
    "We live, we die, we laugh, we cry"
  • »09.02.12 - 20:46
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    CountRaven
    Posts: 563 from 2007/12/11
    From: Greece
    Quote:

    Hello all,

    Any news about the port of morphos 3 ?

    Any chance to have sound supported for the cube ? autherwise i probably sell it.

    Thanks for answer.

    Regards.


    Is it sound support the only problem? Cause I think MorphOS does not even run in Cube. Or have I missed something?
  • »10.02.12 - 04:19
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    robinson
    Posts: 5 from 2011/9/4
    Morphos runs on the cube even networking and watching youtube video are possible only sound is missing.
    unfortunately sound will never works, i asked frank Mariak and he answered me : " Cube (and it's USB audio) won't get official support with 3.0,
    unfortunately. First of all, I don't have one and on a second thought, the
    USB driver doesn't support the special transfer mode that is required for
    USB audio.
    Maybe at some later point but definitely not around the corner ...."

    Regards.
  • »10.02.12 - 06:43
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11444 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I think MorphOS does not even run in Cube. Or have I missed something?

    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?forum=11&topic_id=6835&start=21
  • »10.02.12 - 06:54
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    cyfm
    Posts: 447 from 2003/4/11
    From: Germany
    Quote:

    CountRaven schrieb:
    Quote:

    Hello all,

    Any news about the port of morphos 3 ?

    Any chance to have sound supported for the cube ? autherwise i probably sell it.

    Thanks for answer.

    Regards.


    Is it sound support the only problem? Cause I think MorphOS does not even run in Cube. Or have I missed something?


    Just to revive some old thread in context of the recent MorphOS3.4 update, PowerMac 5,1 Cube is supported even though it is not officially mentioned anywhere and there was even some fix in the latest update related to some networking setup issue. With MorphOS 3.4, it should basically work OOTB.
    There is indeed the remaining issue of missing usb audio support, though.
  • »25.12.13 - 06:40
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    stephen_robinson
    Posts: 745 from 2007/4/22
    Well it was mentioned in the changelog, does that mean it's officially supported now?

    Devs/Networks/SunGEM

    Autonegotiation fixes
    Fixed to update link speeds when manually configured
    Fixed network setup on PowerMac5,1 (Cube)
  • »25.12.13 - 08:03
    Profile