Important Notice regarding X5000 Firmware Updates
  • MorphOS Developer
    bigfoot
    Posts: 508 from 2003/4/11
    Quote:

    KennyR wrote:
    So probably best to avoid these updates if you plan running MorphOS, unless they do something useful like power down the unused cores.


    Unfortunately not even that would be a good excuse. MorphOS already does power down the unused cores, and doing so doesn't actually require booting them and taking them over. You can do it entirely - and easily - from the boot core.
    I rarely log in to MorphZone which means that I often miss private messages sent on here. If you wish to contact me, please email me at [username]@asgaard.morphos-team.net, where [username] is my username here on MorphZone.
  • »30.10.22 - 06:57
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12085 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > MorphOS already does power down the unused cores

    Very nice :-) Has this been the case since MorphOS 3.10 or been added later? I don't remember I already read this, at least looking through the release notes since 3.10 I cannot find anything with respect to this.
    Btw, has this feature also been added for PowerMac11 (PPC970MP) meanwhile? (I know that generation isn't officially supported, and that MorphOS supports this on PowerMac7 (PPC970/PPC970FX) since MorphOS 3.10).
  • »30.10.22 - 10:50
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    bigfoot
    Posts: 508 from 2003/4/11
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > MorphOS already does power down the unused cores

    Very nice :-) Has this been the case since MorphOS 3.10 or been added later? I don't remember I already read this, at least looking through the release notes since 3.10 I cannot find anything with respect to this.


    It's been this way since MorphOS 3.10

    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    Btw, has this feature also been added for PowerMac11 (PPC970MP) meanwhile? (I know that generation isn't officially support, and that MorphOS supports this on PowerMac7 (PPC970/PPC970FX)).


    I don't know, sorry :)
    I rarely log in to MorphZone which means that I often miss private messages sent on here. If you wish to contact me, please email me at [username]@asgaard.morphos-team.net, where [username] is my username here on MorphZone.
  • »30.10.22 - 11:27
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1246 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    Btw, has this feature also been added for PowerMac11 (PPC970MP) meanwhile? (I know that generation isn't officially supported, and that MorphOS supports this on PowerMac7 (PPC970/PPC970FX) since MorphOS 3.10).


    I can only hope the answer is 'no' as my QUAD consumes approximately 280W when idle.
    If that would be on just one CPU core that would be insane.
  • »12.01.23 - 11:54
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    cyfm
    Posts: 537 from 2003/4/11
    From: Germany
    Quote:

    koszer schrieb:
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    Btw, has this feature also been added for PowerMac11 (PPC970MP) meanwhile? (I know that generation isn't officially supported, and that MorphOS supports this on PowerMac7 (PPC970/PPC970FX) since MorphOS 3.10).


    I can only hope the answer is 'no' as my QUAD consumes approximately 280W when idle.
    If that would be on just one CPU core that would be insane.



    Are you planning to win the morph.zone thread off-topic price of the day and did you check that without gfxcard ? :)
  • »12.01.23 - 12:01
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12085 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >> has this feature also been added for PowerMac11 (PPC970MP) meanwhile?
    >> (I know that generation isn't officially supported, and that MorphOS
    >> supports this on PowerMac7 (PPC970/PPC970FX) since MorphOS 3.10).

    > I can only hope the answer is 'no' as my QUAD consumes approximately
    > 280W when idle. If that would be on just one CPU core that would be insane.

    Btw, regarding PowerMac7, there've been findings reported in another thread based on temperature sensor signal suggesting that the 2nd CPU is not completely disabled. So far, I've not seen any explanation what "Disabled the second CPU on PowerMac7 machines" really means technically.
  • »12.01.23 - 15:00
    Profile