How to run MorphOS on unsupported iMAC G5
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Zylesea
    Posts: 2053 from 2003/6/4
    Quote:

    Kwiatki75 schrieb:
    Good Price;-)
    and welcom another happy iser of iMac A1145
    The fans working not so good - so if you overload system, iMac probably freeze.
    But :-) more registered iMac = faster developing new MOS3.13 ? or 3.14



    Haven't put long lasting cpu stress to the system yet, but a few 720p videos stress the system at about 70% and the cpu meter says it comes up to 60°C.. Not too hot yet. The fan is about as loud as the fan of the mini, but the main tone seems to be a lower hz rate (the sound of the mini is a bit headache inducing)

    I am also positively surprised by the energy uptake. Idling around the system takes about 50W (incl. Display) on a bit load this comes up to 60-65W on mid/high load 80-90W.
    Taken the display into the calculation this is pretty on par with the mac mini + its display(LG 24").
    Not so nice though is the 11W stand by consumption. But a mechanical switch between plug and the power outlet will solve this issue.

    Also I read that changing the hdd is not a too simple tast. Then again I guess it would not be more difficult than replacing the hdd on Powerbook (which was a bit fiddly, but okay). Anyone already swapped the hdd? Unfortunately I am a bit short on time next days/weeks, dunno when I will do the hdd replacement and actual system migration.

    But first impression of the iMac is a nice one. I can imagine this will become may main MorphOS machine and will nicely bridge the time until MorphOS x64 eventually arrives. This is my 5th ppc computer (plus PowerUp) and I guess and kind of hope it will be my last ppc computer!
    --
    http://via.bckrs.de

    Whenever you're sad just remember the world is 4.543 billion years old and you somehow managed to exist at the same time as David Bowie.
    ...and Matthias , my friend - RIP
  • »19.01.20 - 19:47
    Profile Visit Website
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 2236 from 2003/2/24
    I do have a SSD in mine and while it wasn‘t easy it was for sure no as bad as an iBook.

    If you‘d asked keeping a 15 year old PSU plugged in 24/7 is nogo no matter the standby power.
  • »19.01.20 - 19:55
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12073 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > 11W stand by consumption

    Reminds me of this discussion.
  • »19.01.20 - 22:31
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    sailor
    Posts: 358 from 2019/5/9
    From: Central Bohemi...
    Quote:

    Zylesea wrote:
    Also I read that changing the hdd is not a too simple tast. Then again I guess it would not be more difficult than replacing the hdd on Powerbook (which was a bit fiddly, but okay). Anyone already swapped the hdd? Unfortunately I am a bit short on time next days/weeks, dunno when I will do the hdd replacement and actual system migration.



    I used this guide iMAC-ifixit
    AmigaOS3: Amiga 1200
    AmigaOS4: Micro A1-C, AmigaOne XE, Pegasos II, Sam440ep, Sam440ep-flex, AmigaOneX1000
    MorphOS: Efika 5200b, Pegasos I, Pegasos II, Powerbook G4, Mac Mini, iMac G5, Powermac G5 Quad
  • »20.01.20 - 07:50
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    sailor
    Posts: 358 from 2019/5/9
    From: Central Bohemi...
    Quote:

    Kwiatki75 wrote:
    The fans working not so good - so if you overload system, iMac probably freeze.


    my iMac now operate fans correctly ( boot made by open firmware env) see here

    fan is silent after boot, with high CPU usage fan runs with high rpm, with cool cpu fans again stops
    AmigaOS3: Amiga 1200
    AmigaOS4: Micro A1-C, AmigaOne XE, Pegasos II, Sam440ep, Sam440ep-flex, AmigaOneX1000
    MorphOS: Efika 5200b, Pegasos I, Pegasos II, Powerbook G4, Mac Mini, iMac G5, Powermac G5 Quad
  • »20.01.20 - 07:54
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 19 from 2019/12/31
    Quote:

    sailor wrote:


    fan is silent after boot, with high CPU usage fan runs with high rpm, with cool cpu fans again stops



    that's not working in my iMac. I have also modified OF but i only "silent" mode
    Do you have only morphos on iMac?

    [ Edited by Kwiatki75 21.01.2020 - 05:47 ]
  • »21.01.20 - 06:41
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    sailor
    Posts: 358 from 2019/5/9
    From: Central Bohemi...
    Quote:

    Kwiatki75 wrote:
    that's not working in my iMac. I have also modified OF but i only "silent" mode
    Do you have only morphos on iMac?

    no, I have MacOSX , Debian 8 and MorphOS 3.12
    AmigaOS3: Amiga 1200
    AmigaOS4: Micro A1-C, AmigaOne XE, Pegasos II, Sam440ep, Sam440ep-flex, AmigaOneX1000
    MorphOS: Efika 5200b, Pegasos I, Pegasos II, Powerbook G4, Mac Mini, iMac G5, Powermac G5 Quad
  • »21.01.20 - 07:10
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Fogg_80
    Posts: 45 from 2007/11/12
    From: Foggia, south ...
    Quote:

    sailor wrote:
    FAN ISSUE SOLVED!!!

    - if I set enviromental variable boot-command + path to morphos boot, then it starts directly to MorphOS, and fans remains quiet.

    Easy.



    can you explain step by step how to do it? Even on my iMac I have fans at full speed! Thanks in advance
    Stile Ubuntu
    Sorry for my bad english.
  • »31.03.20 - 10:36
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 19 from 2019/12/31
    first step is to install Morphos on HDD/SSD
    If you run Morphos from LiveCD the fans runs on highspeed
    second - go to the open firmware and put this line
    setenv boot-device hd:,\\:tbxi

    third - you can use tool
    https://www.morphos-storage.net/?page=System%2FMonitoring&file=iMacFanCtrl_0.2.lha
  • »01.04.20 - 05:25
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Zylesea
    Posts: 2053 from 2003/6/4
    Finally I swept my hdd today. Compared to the Powerbook that process was rather stright forward. The 2.5" ssd looks a bit lost in the 3.5" bay, but it is fixed with two screws. it should safely stay in position there.
    Now the system get's customized, then registered and then the mini evemtualyly may get retired as main machine.
    --
    http://via.bckrs.de

    Whenever you're sad just remember the world is 4.543 billion years old and you somehow managed to exist at the same time as David Bowie.
    ...and Matthias , my friend - RIP
  • »02.04.20 - 19:28
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    DrZarkov
    Posts: 142 from 2004/3/21
    From: Germany
    I've got last week an iMac G5 12.1, too, and it works very good with Morphos 3.13, except of course the missing boot-picture. But a much bigger issue is the not working Wifi. If the Wifi is turned on during installation, the computer will freeze after short time, if I open a window I will get the message "Application is meditating". With Wifi switched off during installation and Internet through good old LAN there is no problem at all.
  • »17.04.20 - 07:47
    Profile Visit Website
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 2236 from 2003/2/24
    Wifi just works here and AFAIR it has done so "forever" (not 100% sure bout the 3.8alpha I had on it years ago), so it might be an HW issue.
  • »17.04.20 - 09:46
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    cyfm
    Posts: 537 from 2003/4/11
    From: Germany
    Quote:

    DrZarkov schrieb:
    I've got last week an iMac G5 12.1, too, and it works very good with Morphos 3.13, except of course the missing boot-picture. But a much bigger issue is the not working Wifi. If the Wifi is turned on during installation, the computer will freeze after short time, if I open a window I will get the message "Application is meditating". With Wifi switched off during installation and Internet through good old LAN there is no problem at all.


    We got reports that the WiFi driver freezes with specific AP/WiFi setups, especially cable modem routers supporting 802.11AC. They seem to send something hostile to the 802.11B/G driver but we weren't able to identify the issue yet.
    Which type/brand/model of AP/Router H/W do you connect your wireless equipment to ?
  • »17.04.20 - 12:46
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Norbi
    Posts: 99 from 2004/6/19
    Quote:

    sailor wrote:
    Quote:

    Kwiatki75 wrote:
    @sailor - you put information on your article that iMac has 4,5GB RAM ? is that true ?


    yes, it is true.
    here is specified only 2.5GB (0.5GB on motherboard + 2GB in slot).
    Probably there were no 4GB memory sticks in 2005.
    But if you use compatible PC2-4200 DDR2 SDRAM 4GB memory, it works (tested on OSX and linux).
    I will send you exact type which I use.


    Can you show the screen with OSX SYSTEM PROFILER and ACTIVE PROFILER with 4GB memory information?
    For me, Morphos shows over 1.8GB, but OSX somehow does not see it. Neither 10.4 nor 10.5.
    Maybe 10.6 will see?
    It has been possible recently.
  • »27.06.20 - 20:35
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    sailor
    Posts: 358 from 2019/5/9
    From: Central Bohemi...
    Quote:

    Norbi wrote:
    Can you show the screen with OSX SYSTEM PROFILER and ACTIVE PROFILER with 4GB memory information?
    For me, Morphos shows over 1.8GB, but OSX somehow does not see it. Neither 10.4 nor 10.5.
    Maybe 10.6 will see?
    It has been possible recently.

    If I remember, the system profiler doesn't recognized memory details, but OSX recognized total size of 4.5GB - see post#29. I will check and post picture with profiler. I have OSX 10.5 installed - latest for PPC, 10.6 is for Intel Macs only.
    And ~1.7GB is today's maximum with MorphOS.
    AmigaOS3: Amiga 1200
    AmigaOS4: Micro A1-C, AmigaOne XE, Pegasos II, Sam440ep, Sam440ep-flex, AmigaOneX1000
    MorphOS: Efika 5200b, Pegasos I, Pegasos II, Powerbook G4, Mac Mini, iMac G5, Powermac G5 Quad
  • »29.06.20 - 08:10
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Norbi
    Posts: 99 from 2004/6/19
    Yes,. I read the post. ACTIVE PROFILER shows that OSX uses only 512MB and the rest on virtual memory. No information about these 4GB DDR2. How can you check and confirm that OSX, however, uses 4.5GB of memory.
    OSX 10.6 now works on PPC
  • »29.06.20 - 08:49
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    sailor
    Posts: 358 from 2019/5/9
    From: Central Bohemi...
    OSX 10.5:
    iMac-MEM.jpg

    DebianSid:
    iMac-MEM-lnx.jpg
    AmigaOS3: Amiga 1200
    AmigaOS4: Micro A1-C, AmigaOne XE, Pegasos II, Sam440ep, Sam440ep-flex, AmigaOneX1000
    MorphOS: Efika 5200b, Pegasos I, Pegasos II, Powerbook G4, Mac Mini, iMac G5, Powermac G5 Quad
  • »29.06.20 - 20:39
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    MoerBoer
    Posts: 210 from 2019/10/15
    Quote:

    sailor wrote:
    OSX 10.5:
    iMac-MEM.jpg

    DebianSid:
    iMac-MEM-lnx.jpg


    That is very cool! Time to go Ram hunting for my iMac too!

    p.s. Does MorphOS pick up all 4.5gb too?
  • »30.06.20 - 08:32
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    sailor
    Posts: 358 from 2019/5/9
    From: Central Bohemi...
    Quote:

    Did anybody test it in real?
    Are there any advantages over 10.5? Drivers for better GPU, boot from raid, etc... ?
    And what about new applications for 10.6 ? Aren't they distributed as intel-exe only and not universal binary?
    AmigaOS3: Amiga 1200
    AmigaOS4: Micro A1-C, AmigaOne XE, Pegasos II, Sam440ep, Sam440ep-flex, AmigaOneX1000
    MorphOS: Efika 5200b, Pegasos I, Pegasos II, Powerbook G4, Mac Mini, iMac G5, Powermac G5 Quad
  • »30.06.20 - 08:34
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12073 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Does MorphOS pick up all 4.5gb too?

    The iMac doesn't magically change the 31-bit addressing of MorphOS, which means 2 GiB RAM maximum. Minus address space for I/O etc. that's about 1.7 GiB usable RAM remaining. This is valid in general for current MorphOS, no matter the hardware platform.
  • »30.06.20 - 08:48
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12073 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >> OSX 10.6 now works on PPC

    > Did anybody test it in real? Are there any advantages over 10.5? Drivers
    > for better GPU, boot from raid, etc... ? And what about new applications
    > for 10.6 ? Aren't they distributed as intel-exe only and not universal binary?

    I recommend skimming over the linked thread. It's all discussed in there :-)
  • »30.06.20 - 08:53
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    MoerBoer
    Posts: 210 from 2019/10/15
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > Does MorphOS pick up all 4.5gb too?

    The iMac doesn't magically change the 31-bit addressing of MorphOS, which means 2 GiB RAM maximum. Minus address space for I/O etc. that's about 1.7 GiB usable RAM remaining. This is valid in general for current MorphOS, no matter the hardware platform.


    Makes sense, didn't even think of that. Saves me some money then :)
  • »30.06.20 - 09:01
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Norbi
    Posts: 99 from 2004/6/19
    Thanks for the screenshots.
    Now everything is clear.
    My memory (not samsung) behaves the same as yours.
    I was surprised by the large use of virtual memory at 4GB. Apparently that's how OSX does.
  • »30.06.20 - 10:39
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 18 from 2017/10/7
    Hello! I'm wondering if the fans issue is still here after the new updates. I've wanted to buy an imac since 3.12, but the temperature/fans problem is holding me back :)

    Thank you.
  • »12.10.20 - 01:05
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    AKiLL
    Posts: 89 from 2006/3/6
    From: Naples, Italy
    Quote:

    CMTX wrote:
    Hello! I'm wondering if the fans issue is still here after the new updates. I've wanted to buy an imac since 3.12, but the temperature/fans problem is holding me back :)

    Thank you.

    On my iMac G5 20" iSight running MorphOS 3.14, I solved the overheating problem using Frank Mariak iMacFanCtrl 0.3 tool (version 0.2 works with MorphOS 3.13 but not with the latest MorphOS update).
    This tool allows to manually control fan /temperature avoiding issues and hardware failures with too high
    temperatures when the system reaches too high CPU load.

    As for the fan issue, I think in this thread it was well explained by sailor (post # 14) how to fix it ...

    It is actually a bit uncomfortable to have to increase the revs of the three fans after each boot.
    Surely, it would be more convenient to be able to automate this process during boot and live peacefully without the fear of forgetting to adjust the fans with the risk of frying GPU or other hardware, but unfortunately I don't know how to do it.
  • »12.10.20 - 08:43
    Profile