How to run MorphOS on unsupported G5 PCIe
  • jPV
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    jPV
    Posts: 2042 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Quote:

    piku wrote:
    But I know very little about AmigaOS and even less about MorphOS. If I get one of these cards is this the right card to get? And if so will the network device just appear or do I have install one of the .device drivers? I don't see any of those anywhere on the installation disk.

    It should just appear in the network preferences, no manual installation needed. The drivers are there in MorphOS/Devs/Networks directory, so you just didn't look deep enough ;) But as said, they are already in use and no need to touch anything. Files in the MorphOS directory aren't meant for users to mess around, so keep your hands out of it.

    As you're a new user (welcome!), I'd suggest you'd read articles in the MorphOS Library. Getting Started could be useful, for instance.


    Quote:

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/PCIe-10-100-1000M-GLAN-realtek-RTL8168E/274047265184

    I'm not a hardware expert, but would look good for me. I just bought the one Zukow recommended, but as this also seems to have the supported chipset, I can't see why it wouldn't work.
  • »06.11.19 - 15:15
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 3 from 2019/11/6
    Thanks I see now that the card he has pictured is an RTL8111 but I can't tell what the letter is after it. I looked for a specific model to be posted and I didn't find it. The RTL8111E on ebay does indeed seem cheaper. I'd like to just not waste my time and get something that I know someone else has working.
  • »06.11.19 - 18:46
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    CraigE
    Posts: 23 from 2017/5/28
    Quote:

    piku wrote:
    Thanks I see now that the card he has pictured is an RTL8111 but I can't tell what the letter is after it. I looked for a specific model to be posted and I didn't find it. The RTL8111E on ebay does indeed seem cheaper. I'd like to just not waste my time and get something that I know someone else has working.


    I recently managed to install MorphOS on my Quad G5 using a X1900XT and this exact network card, from this exact listing, so I can confirm this one 100% works: amazon link
  • »09.11.19 - 15:17
    Profile
  • ASiegel
    Posts: 1373 from 2003/2/15
    From: Central Europe
    @ CraigE

    Thanks for sharing.
  • »09.11.19 - 15:33
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 3 from 2019/11/6
    RTL8111E from ebay for $9USD works great!
  • »11.11.19 - 01:17
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    zukow
    Posts: 644 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    IMPORTANT!!! (or in fact VERY IMPORTANT :) )

    Please register your morphos G5 PCIe machine. We need to know how many users can use G5 machines to add more support for that (for very low registration numbers. adding network drivers will have low priority). Paying is not necessary, just use RegTool and send info about your devices.
  • »11.11.19 - 10:30
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 552 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Anyone tried running Linux on a PCIe G5 with a flashed ATI Radeon 1900 XT? I am curious if you actually get to the desktop with such a card. Be it with or without HW acceleration..
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.18 / Gentoo Linux] | Vampire V4 SA [ApolloOS / Amiga OS 3.2.2]
  • »12.11.19 - 15:45
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    zukow
    Posts: 644 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    I have two PCIe G5s for internal testing and in the 2nd one i have flashed X1950XT and it works without serious problems (although a bit different than X1950XT with PC Bios). I used older version of AtiFlash and some rom for Mac Radeon X1900GT. Flashing from PowerMacG5 PCIe itself isnt supported.
  • »13.11.19 - 08:56
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 552 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    @zukow:

    Thanks for the hint! I guess if I am able to flash a X1900 GT/XT running the G5 11,2 with MorphOS/Linux/MacOS is less cumbersome than with 2 cards.

    I only found this X1900 GT Mac-BIOS on MacElite (klick). Did you use this one? As far as I've seen the Mac X1900 GT has 256 MiB RAM. Would be interesting to know if you can flash this BIOS to a 512 MiB card and it does still work? If so, there would be quite a range of X1900 cards suitable!

    Flashing on a PC is not a big problem with PCIe cards. Probably flashrom (on Linux) works too and you don't even need Windows/ATIflash.
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.18 / Gentoo Linux] | Vampire V4 SA [ApolloOS / Amiga OS 3.2.2]
  • »13.11.19 - 11:52
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    zukow
    Posts: 644 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    I had mac OF rom from somethere (probably from here:http://themacelite.wikidot.com/wikidownloads2), i don't have any original Mac PCIe Radeon. Windows version of Atiflash didn't work but Dos version worked from USB.
  • »13.11.19 - 12:01
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Doffo
    Posts: 507 from 2010/10/14
    From: Nevada
    Thanks Piku from trying out if a Realtek 8111E card works.
    -=-=-=-
    YUUUP!
  • »19.11.19 - 23:54
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 552 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Quote:

    zukow schrieb:
    I had mac OF rom from somethere (probably from here:http://themacelite.wikidot.com/wikidownloads2), i don't have any original Mac PCIe Radeon. Windows version of Atiflash didn't work but Dos version worked from USB.

    Thanks! Now got my Radeon X1900 XT which looks like one of the cards of the compatibility list pictures. Then I realized I still need to get this special LogicBoard->PCIe power cable. Which isn't a standard PCIe power cable, isn't it? What a surprise. ;-)
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.18 / Gentoo Linux] | Vampire V4 SA [ApolloOS / Amiga OS 3.2.2]
  • »21.11.19 - 17:17
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Doffo
    Posts: 507 from 2010/10/14
    From: Nevada
    Quote:

    ernsteiswuerfel wrote:
    Quote:

    zukow schrieb:
    I had mac OF rom from somethere (probably from here:http://themacelite.wikidot.com/wikidownloads2), i don't have any original Mac PCIe Radeon. Windows version of Atiflash didn't work but Dos version worked from USB.

    Thanks! Now got my Radeon X1900 XT which looks like one of the cards of the compatibility list pictures. Then I realized I still need to get this special LogicBoard->PCIe power cable. Which isn't a standard PCIe power cable, isn't it? What a surprise. ;-)


    Bought me an x1900 xt which I noticed in the picture had the aux power cable for the video card all for $14 shipped. :) Came in today. Will get to try MorphOS this evening. No ethernet, but I will grab a handful of files and put them on a USB memory stick for now.
    -=-=-=-
    YUUUP!
  • »21.11.19 - 19:20
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Posts: 132 from 2017/8/7
    I tested the mentioned card this morning; it is unsupported yet, it seems.
    it is right between
    X1900GT
    ~> X1900XT <~
    X1950XT.

    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?forum=11&topic_id=12146&post_id=143678&viewmode=flat&sortorder=0&showonepost=1


    [ Edited by amifrog 21.11.2019 - 20:08 ]
  • »21.11.19 - 20:06
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Doffo
    Posts: 507 from 2010/10/14
    From: Nevada
    Quote:

    amifrog wrote:
    I tested the mentioned card this morning; it is unsupported yet, it seems.
    it is right between
    X1900GT
    ~> X1900XT <~
    X1950XT.

    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?forum=11&topic_id=12146&post_id=143678&viewmode=flat&sortorder=0&showonepost=1



    Oh no! :( Which version is your x1900xt? Mine is a Sapphire x1900 XT 512MB. PC one of course... Just to be sure, did you try the 2nd DVI port on the card?
    -=-=-=-
    YUUUP!
  • »21.11.19 - 20:42
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Posts: 132 from 2017/8/7
    Mine is the Mac G5 version with 256MB. I get a white screen on boot.
  • »21.11.19 - 20:46
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Doffo
    Posts: 507 from 2010/10/14
    From: Nevada
    Quote:

    amifrog wrote:
    Mine is the Mac G5 version with 256MB. I get a white screen on boot.


    Ahhh, gotcha... When you boot from a CD, does it ever get passed that white screen?? I used to have an issue where the CD drive itself would hang the system and stay at the white screen when booting from the CD. I changed the CD drive and it finally got passed it. Though, unsure if that would be the case for the G5. The Mirror Drive G4 that I have did that to me.
    -=-=-=-
    YUUUP!
  • »21.11.19 - 21:04
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Posts: 132 from 2017/8/7
    Dunno. The CD reads fine from Mac OSX and it seems it is load files. If i could get it to verbose mode and booting from CD at the same time would be nice.

    Edit
    i tried again, i can definitely hear the files being loaded from CD.

    [ Edited by amifrog 21.11.2019 - 21:57 ]
  • »21.11.19 - 21:19
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Doffo
    Posts: 507 from 2010/10/14
    From: Nevada
    Quote:

    amifrog wrote:
    Dunno. The CD reads fine from Mac OSX and it seems it is load files. If i could get it to verbose mode and booting from CD at the same time would be nice.

    Edit
    i tried again, i can definitely hear the files being loaded from CD.


    Crazy. I am about to put in the PC version of the x1900 xt in the Quad 2.5 and see if it will go. I will report later. I don't have an ethernet PCIe card yet, but I can still put some files on a USB stick and copy over to try out a few things.
    -=-=-=-
    YUUUP!
  • »21.11.19 - 23:31
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12113 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Mine is the Mac G5 version with 256MB.

    As far as I know, there never was a Mac G5 version of the X1900XT, just of the X1900GT. So what you might have is either an X1900GT or an X1900XT re-flashed with the X1900GT PPC ROM.
  • »21.11.19 - 23:46
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Doffo
    Posts: 507 from 2010/10/14
    From: Nevada
    I got the G5 Quad to boot up and it works great with the Sapphire 512 MB x1900 XT.

    I had to temporarily use the Nvidia card on another PCI-E port so that I could hold down ALT and choose the CD rom drive to boot MorphOS, then I turned off the monitor, then carefully removed the DVI cable from the Nvidia to the ATi. Worked great.

    For whatever reason, my G5 tower refused to boot from the CD drive, even when I was holding down the C key at startup...

    Everything came to a halt though. LCS is bad... No visible sign of it gone bad, but I will take out the LCS another day. Temps got too hot and when I went to reboot, the mac itself threw 2 red lights on and fans went on full speed.

    May change it out for some heatsinks from a 2.0 GHz.
    -=-=-=-
    YUUUP!
  • »22.11.19 - 02:51
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Doffo
    Posts: 507 from 2010/10/14
    From: Nevada
    ***Correcting my mistake***

    After comparing the differences on pictures, it might not even be possible to use heatsinks from an older G5 to the newer model G5. Differences and stuff would get in the way and not line up correctly.
    -=-=-=-
    YUUUP!
  • »22.11.19 - 07:57
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Posts: 132 from 2017/8/7
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > Mine is the Mac G5 version with 256MB.

    As far as I know, there never was a Mac G5 version of the X1900XT, just of the X1900GT. So what you might have is either an X1900GT or an X1900XT re-flashed with the X1900GT PPC ROM.


    Maybe. At least it is running, to bad, it is not one of the compatibles.
    System Profiler says Radeon X1900 XT (vendor 0x1002, id 0x7240, ROM 113-A52070-109), and the card works with 10.4 and 10.5.

    Vendor database says it's a R580.

    Too bad, if it is not going to run MorphOS. At least it is faster than my Nvidia7800GT.:)

    [ Edited by amifrog 22.11.2019 - 09:47 ]
  • »22.11.19 - 09:47
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12113 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > System Profiler says Radeon X1900 XT (vendor 0x1002, id 0x7240,
    > ROM 113-A52070-109) [...]. Vendor database says it's a R580.

    Yes, both X1900 GT and X1900 XT have the R580 GPU. I still think your card is not a genuine PPC ROM card but a re-flashed one.

    > Too bad, if it is not going to run MorphOS.

    MorphOS might work if you re-flash the original x86 ROM to the card.
  • »22.11.19 - 10:45
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Posts: 132 from 2017/8/7
    Hm, but then i need to put one of the NVidia cards back into the machine to keep OSX working. And i only have one fast slot, obviously.
  • »22.11.19 - 11:58
    Profile