Voyager + AmIRC
  • Targhan
    Posts: 2833 from 2003/2/8
    From: USA
    I was tinkering around at lunch today, and decided that I was tired of using copy-n-paste from the URL bar of Voyager to paste into AmIRC. So.... I added a button to do it for me. Here is what I did:

    Open VPrefs.
    Select ToolBar.
    Create Button (select an image, I used Devo/A.img)
    From the Chooser Gadget, I selected "ARexx".

    In the text field, I added the following line (including the quotes and double-quotes):
    "address AMIRC.1 'say %w'"

    Then, I saved the changes.

    Blam! Now, when I find an interesting URL, I just hit the button on the toolbar, and the url is sent to AmIRC! (I love one-liners!)
    :idea:Targhan

    MorphOS portal? www.MorphZone.org
  • »04.11.03 - 17:41
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Posts: 157 from 2003/3/3
    Whoa.. That's clever one. :-)
    http://somequicknotes.blogspot.com/index.html
  • »04.11.03 - 18:10
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Jupp3
    Posts: 1193 from 2003/2/24
    From: Helsinki, Finland
    Just pointing out, the URL will always go to *first* opened AmIrc, if you want to get it to second one, replace AMIRC.1 with AMIRC.2 etc.
  • »05.11.03 - 09:09
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Wishmaster
    Posts: 342 from 2003/6/29
    Can this work with IProwser too?
    Pegasos PPC
  • »05.11.03 - 16:21
    Profile
  • Targhan
    Posts: 2833 from 2003/2/8
    From: USA
    I've gotten it close to working with IBrowse. I was trying to set it up under a "fastlink" button, but it keeps sending the literal %u to amirc instead of the url.
    :idea:Targhan

    MorphOS portal? www.MorphZone.org
  • »05.11.03 - 16:27
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Jupp3
    Posts: 1193 from 2003/2/24
    From: Helsinki, Finland
    Same for A-Web:

    Create script, that contains following lines:
    /* It's nice thing to comment code, really... */
    OPTIONS RESULTS
    PARSE ARG url

    ADDRESS AMIRC.1
    'say 'url



    Then select GUI settings, and create entry for key, popup menu, menu or button:

    Enter following line:
    Run <your script> %u

    (And don't forget enter after changing)

    Works at least for me :-)
  • »05.11.03 - 18:14
    Profile Visit Website
  • Targhan
    Posts: 2833 from 2003/2/8
    From: USA
    Very nice. This script should also work for IBrowse. This could be added to check the port-number of amirc that is running...

    /**/
    getirc:
    ports = SHOW('P')
    PARSE VAR ports dummy 'AMIRC.' portnr .
    ADDRESS VALUE 'AMIRC.' || portnr
    options results
    'info base'
    foundhost=result
    /*say PORTNR
    amirchost='AMIRC.' || PORTNR*/

    return(foundhost)

    Note1: if this code is expanded a bit, it can be used to show multiple instances of AMIRC if they are running. Then, a requester could be used to duplicate the message across several copies of AmIRC, or a choice thereof! 8-)

    Note2: it isn't perfect, as it was originally designed for aweb (can't remember the original author.. erm, Don Cox maybe?) Anyway, it will return foundhost being AMIRC.1 or AMIRC.2 or whatever it finds first in the list of ports :-)
    :idea:Targhan

    MorphOS portal? www.MorphZone.org
  • »05.11.03 - 18:40
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    kolla
    Posts: 105 from 2003/4/22
    I always prefered doing such stuff from within the irc client.

    /purl aweb.1
    prints out to public the url that is open in aweb.1

    /url
    takes last url in the url log and pops it up in browser

    /urls
    list out last 10 urls that has been mentioned

    /url <n>
    pop up url number <n> in previous list in browser

    /curl <n>
    downloads the url number <n> to ram:

    etc etc...
    -- kolla
  • »06.11.03 - 13:27
    Profile