Is e-UAE really that bad or is it my Hardware that suxx?
  • Just looking around
    engine
    Greetings,

at first i want to introduce myself a bit:
    i'm pretty new to morphos. Stumbled on it 2 weeks ago and was so curious about it that i directly bought a macmini g4 1.5G and a morphos license.
    I copyed some almost forgotten files from my old A4000 and i'm pretty happy about that so far.

Especially the Trance JIT compiler is great and really quick!
    (some emulated 68k apps (Aweb, ibrowse) actually feel faster then some linux-ported-ppc-native applications (owb) cause of that ixemul overhead.)
    I know that this comparison isnt fair cause OWB obviously is much more complex then the old AWeb, but anyway... in direct comparison OWB just is painfully slow... Even safari on MacOS 10.5 on the very same machine feels faster after its loaded.
    Anyway, i got a bit carried away.

After some playing around with MorphOS i wanted test E-UAE.
    Its already integrated in the Ultimate Pack (Thanks Papiosaur!! Great work!!!) so i had a quick start.
    But.. then.. O M G.
    Is it just me or does E-UAE really suck that much?!
    Is it maybe only this WIP-Version in the Ultimate Pack that has too much bugs?! Is an older release maybe better

It has no JIT Compiler so its slow.... ok.
    Only the sdl release has P96 support.. but the sdl release is even slower... ok
    The Mousecurser goes mad in the Window mode
    I can't move or resize or close or do anything with the open windows (neither the active UAE-Window, nor the Log-Shell) because the title bar is unaccessable.. the mouse curser changes to "resize" when i'm near the windows.
    When i want to insert a ADF, i have to hammer on ctrl+alt+f1 some times until it finally recognised it....
    when that file-windows is finally open, i doubleclick a folder and it moves to the background!!!! ???? WTF? I guess the OS recognized a doubleclick on the underlying window and moved that to front.